Hishercar Clutched June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 how come when the going so bad for many of us, they have to increase price now increasing the burden of everyone is there a good reason ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 I don't even remember why the ERP was implemented in the first place. Is it to 1) collect money, 2) suck money or 3) rob money from us?? -------------------------- bro if i'm not wrong, it's 4) all of the above!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 the truth is this ERP is plan for many years and very elaborate. gahmen won't approve a plan for just a few gantry and spend so much money. here is how the civil servant sckolar tinks: 1. ROI of the plan over 5, 10, 15, 20 years 2. how to control traffic according to what they tink traffic should be. 3. pap masters will take care of the political fallout for such an unpopular plan, which means after election they will introduce each stage. this is not the end of the ERP program. there is more to come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starsaaa Neutral Newbie June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 It is ok la bro, cause the fuel price going up also..., at the rate the price is adjusting, think we will just park our ride and just cycle... imagine $500 per barrel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 ... i hope oil runs out soon ... then all cannot drive, fair and square no ERP required ... no need to worry abt traffic jam ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 I think they will make all of us to carry a portable ERP or GPS device. Everywhere we walk, we will hear the sound of credit being reduce. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Everything seems to be going according to the master plan. To be one of the most advanced & intelligent nations in the world. By increasing the cost of everything in sight, makes it harder for the non-elites to survive. So they can either pack their bags & go elsewhere, or eventually opt to die off. Eventually, only the elites survive & populate the island. Whether these elites are local by birth or FT, who gives a sh*t, so long as the inferior beings are eliminated from here. Given the policies implemented thus far (as well as lack thereof), you'll forgive me for coming up with such a seemingly far-fetched conspiracy theory. However, the top cogs of this unrelenting corporate machine should take note that in the animal kingdom, when the prey is cornered, the animal in jeopardy may make some surprising moves in a bid for survival. It is pure animal instinct. Besides, if everyone & his brother are all elites, who else can be milked & exploited without fear of repercussions? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin53 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Quote Think ppl more or less resigned to fate liao la. Last time was ERP to divert you to take another route to your destination. Now its become clear cut that ERP will try to "catch" you whichever detour you try to make. Go here kena, go there kena also, no escape. Its like cat and mouse game you know? Only thing Cat is winning and mouse got nowhere to hide anymore. Really agree with wat you said, tot the LTA said the erp is to make the motorist to take the alternative route as to ease down the traffic? Either petrol price down and the erp up, or the petrol up erp down. but i dun think they will do dat lahz . blood suckers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Remember this, we as Singaporeans are being treated as second class citizens Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 with the increase in ERP fees (100%), you'll see lesser taxis in CBD. then taxis will say they cannot cope but to raise higher fares..and the cycle goes again..back to square one. the elites will survive of course...the middle class the hardest hit..and the middle class is the largest boh-chee group that keeps on whinning (me included) any which way, car or public transport..all the money goes to gahment..and that's not the people's money in actual fact Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 [laugh] As far as money is the issue here, -ve or +ve they have to balance the reduction in road tax by increasing the rates on ERP. Even if u list down One million and One reasons also no use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 I'm sure we all know what happened to Atlantis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 If only we have election every year.. haha... I really pity the courier companies where their business very much revolves around the city area. I think that we shouldnt be charged for each passing through the gantry, but for the system to recognize that THAT car came in, and is staying within the zone. The car will only be recharged IF it was registered to have gone out of the zone and in again by the very smart LTA systems. If i need to move around within the zone, i will be charged to my knees based on what they are having now. This spells doom for many of the companies out there. With the increasing fuel prices, that means in order to survive, much of these costs will be transferred to the end users... and transfer and transfer.. who win? who lose? I guess everybody knoes. It has come to a point where im almost becoming numb to the whole situation. Things are really helpless and WE as the people has no say at all. Singapore a 1st world nation? I am not so sure about that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 Ever wonder how the so-called "2nd world nations" around us (not going to name them specifically) seem to get the job done even though their own govt dosen't run them as efficiently as our so-called 1st world system; yet the residents of that countries' are quite satisfied (not all of them but majority) and the residents at least have the right to express their concerns and discontentment when someone at the top screws up or just craps political bullsh!t all over them. Whereas we sit at the base of the toilet bowl curled up in a foetal position getting drenched and soaked with so much political bullcrap that we just can't even shelter ourselves from; no use shouting for help.... no use fighting... we just lie there... wave after wave of sh!t pouring over us... is there no one who can help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 This will deepen the recession. Maybe 10% by year end? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 We need V, V for Vendetta. (where can i buy that mask?) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jermy Clutched June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 totally agree with your thoughts. Somehow i think they are trying to squeeze as much $$ now as possible so that they can return it (of course much less than wat was squeezed from us) to the citizens as 'goodies' juz before the elections. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 19, 2008 Share June 19, 2008 very well, bro. they plan, they implement etc the following is not replying to u exactly --------------------------------------------------------- there was a time when some smart alec at the gahmen, perhaps calling themselves SCHOLARs, came up with a BRILLIANT idea name COE. remember COE? what's its use? simply to regulate the car population in singapore. so that the road will NOT be freaking congested. remember? remember how much it cost u and me and our dads to get a COE? and have we actually saw this Certifcate ever before? NO! did the freaking COE help in controlling the car population? NO! not only did the bl00dy idea did not work due to either some brain dead SCHOLARs somewhere in the offices at Sin Ming or the BRILLIANT idea is not so brilliant after all. we, the people, are now paying for their mistake! ================ so bro, i wonder if all this also elaborate and Deliberate. so that, u know, u can pay and pay, for some people to have More Good Years? i dunno. some one perhaps knows cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...