Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 (edited) List down the negative impacts of the proposed ERP scheme -- more gantries, higher charges. 1. Lesser pocket $$$, higher cost of living 2. Less work life balance, all have to wait until 8pm before going home to avoid evening ERP 3. Ugly city icon ... Fullerton Hotel + ERP grantry = mismatch 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. Edited June 18, 2008 by Cheekg98 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Positive impacts of the proposed ERP scheme - more gantries, higher charges. 1. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 2. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 3. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 4. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 5. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 6. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 7. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 8. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 9. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 10. Gahment can increased own salary to 10 billion, get more bonus 11. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 ... our sorrows, their benefits ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 more good years ahead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 my jaws dropped when I read the papers today that ERP price increase and number of ERP gantry also increase motorist here ask for a reduction of fuel tax ..... NO inflation all time high cost of living increased cost of doing business also increased instead of keep the prices status quo, siao siao ERP prices increased before election, increase quota for COE after election, increase cost of owning a car (some needed it for business) what is happening? I ask myself are they suppose to take care of the citizens or are doing business with the citizens I am thoroughly confused by these policy makers I guess they must have very good reasons but they are not telling us just yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 Motorists feel pinch from new ERP increases By Asha Popatlal, Hiroshi Limmell & Hasnita A Majid, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 18 June 2008 2031 hrs Photos 1 of 1 SINGAPORE: The full impact of the extensive ERP changes announced on Tuesday is beginning to sink in for many motorists and businessmen in the Central Business District (CBD). Many feel they do not have much option but to prepare to pay more. Come July 7, many motorists who travel frequently into the CBD will have to pay at least double of what they are paying now in ERP charges - from S$2 a day to an expected S$4 or S$5. Multiply that by at least 20 days of work and workers are definitely going to feel the pinch. Medical Sales Representative Muhammad Shamir said: "If I want to avoid Esplanade Drive, I can head north and use the CTE but if I'm not mistaken, there's also another gantry there and it might be more expensive. The road to exit the PIE may be more congested, so that's the difficulty I face." Going home is another problem. "Maybe I can go home later in the evening (to avoid the ERP), that's one option because there's not much that I can do since there's no other way from my office to Tampines," he said. Other motorists have mixed concerns. "Every day, I have to travel out to go to Tuas and back to my office, and every time I have to pass through one of the gantries," one said. "For those of us who travel, we'll of course find the shortest way to go. If we go the long way, we will incur more petrol costs. So in the end, drivers are losing out," another added. In an email response to Channel NewsAsia, the Automobile Association of Singapore reiterated its view that the introduction of more ERP gantries and increasing ERP charges may not help to alleviate traffic congestion and slow-moving traffic. The association maintains that the authorities should allow more time for the proposed changes to the public transport system and the effects of its recent enhancements to kick in and stabilise, before reassessing the whole situation. Taxi drivers make up a big group of those who will be affected by the new ERP landscape. Some taxi associations have announced different measures to help their drivers, but there is still some concern on the ground. One taxi driver said: "The intention is good, but if we are going back into the area and my cab is empty, I'll have to pay for the charges myself, so that's quite a burden." Meanwhile, public transport operators SMRT and Comfort DelGro are doing their bit to make it easier for commuters to get to the city. From June 30, SMRT will add two new premium bus services to take passengers from residential areas like Woodlands and Bishan to the city. On the same day, SBS Transit will roll out six new premium services. The company will also enhance eight other bus services along the ERP corridor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Think ppl more or less resigned to fate liao la. Last time was ERP to divert you to take another route to your destination. Now its become clear cut that ERP will try to "catch" you whichever detour you try to make. Go here kena, go there kena also, no escape. Its like cat and mouse game you know? Only thing Cat is winning and mouse got nowhere to hide anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 they are civil servants ... just follow orders from the top ... bad timing to increase ERP now ... more economic slowdown to come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmazda6 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Bollocks... more ERP is good ... higher salaries and bonus for the P@P dog runners. I will tell my children to study hard and get government scholarships and become one of them Quote List down the negative impacts of the proposed ERP scheme -- more gantries, higher charges. 1. Lesser pocket $$$, higher cost of living 2. Less work life balance, all have to wait until 8pm before going home to avoid evening ERP 3. Ugly city icon ... Fullerton Hotel + ERP grantry = mismatch 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 tell your childen to get PSC scholarships, especially overseas one... those are the top notches.. next time annual income at least 6 figure digit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Quote ...... more economic slowdown to come... Maybe it is exactly this reason why they are increasing the ERP and allow other prices to go up...so that they will have a greater margin to lower the price of some essential goods and give some economy restructuring rebates when the recession comes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 agreed. like central banks hike the costs like interest rates with the intention of cooling down an overheated economy, such as australia. but look, is ours overheating? how come our gahmen keeps increasing the cost of living/doing biz like nobody biz? perhaps those on top feels that we are overheating leow.. should slow down the economy, or else someone will be worried! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 (edited) phew! keep more cash for rainy days so fellow drivers, in order not to give LTA to register slower city traffic ... pls practise the following : [1] no road hogging [2] drive faster [3] reduce distance between yr ride and vehicle in front, when you stop at traffic junction Edited June 18, 2008 by Cheekg98 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 we need a singaporean Anwar to voice up for the people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Very difficult lah..they can adjust the traffic light timing leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Quote ... our sorrows, their benefits ??? I don't even remember why the ERP was implemented in the first place. Is it to 1) collect money, 2) suck money or 3) rob money from us?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 And then come up with ERP V2.0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 ya ... their timing didnt take account of any construction work along the way ... this always slow down traffic ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...