One mountain cannot hide two tigers ... but ...

Hungee

... can one car install two HUs ?

pardon me of the irrelevant subject ... got questions for fellow gurus here ...

Original Intention:

- new car comes with a Pioneer 2DIN touch screen DVD HU (AVHP4050DVD), and a dunno-what-brand roof mount monitor

- new car comes with 4 spkrs

- intend to install Pioneer 12 Disc changer (from previous car) to the DVD HU

- intend to install Audison LRX4.3 amp (from previous car) to drive 4 spkrs

- intend to install the Pioneer active sub (from previous car) that hides under car seat

- intend to change new front spkrs to 2-way component

Poison:

- Friend's ride installed P80 running active setup

- SQ improvement was superb IMO

- Adore the active setup

Question:

- Can install Pioneer P8650 (from previous car) in new car to co-exist with the DVD HU ?

- Hope to achieve active setup with P8650, while not losing the DVD HU.

- Initial thoughts is to let DVD HU audio output goes into P8650 Aux-In. So that when I want audio, I can just use P8650. Workable or not huh ?

Funny option hor [hur] But all the stuff are existing stuff, thus if can re-use them to get better SQ, yet can enjoy the DVD, then would be ideal ... No intention to buy additional sound processor or whatsoever .. Greatly appreciate any advice ...

Many Thanks in advance ..

I was contemplating having 2 HU too, 1 stock, 1 aftermarket.

My installer said with pre-amp, you can do so. Of cos, only 1 HU can be used at one time.

The rest of the setting remains the same, with amplifiers, woofers, component speakers etc ...

Hi Ronn,

Long time no meet liao. Call me for kopi when you are near my area.

I think you didn't notice my cheapo China made DVD player. It's a 1-din on top of my P80 that I seldom use except when my kids want to play their DVD or when someone wants to see how this cheapo DVD player plays. Here it is when not in use.

12.jpg

Here it is when its in use, it blocks the aircon outlet when the screen rolls out. Can tilt front or back (both ways):

1dinChinaDVDLitOpen_FrontStereoOuta.jpg

Hi Bro,

You can do what you said provided your new car has an additional 1-din slot in your dash console for you to put in your P8650 Aux-In for your DVD HU audio output to go to.

For my case, my slot is 2-din. So I can put 2 HUs of 1-din each with my DVD output to P80 aux-in. However, yours is 2-din DVD plus one more 1-din.

Uncle, pertaining to the TS question, is it possible to have 2 HUs, but using back the same components such as amplifiers, woofers,etc, without sacrificing the original function of the stock HU ?

You see, my stock HU has trip/fuel computation.

Thanks for the reply.

Seem like I need to forgo the stock HU to have optimal sound effect.

Edited by Ronnchee

When you play your DVD, you get all the functions of your DVD capability right?..

With your aftermarket HU to have your front speakers out to go to the Aux-In of your DVD player (this you got to check out to confirm), then your aftermarket HU (secondary player) plays thru your DVD system right without losing the functionality of your DVD as this is your primary player with your existing amps/speaker setup right? Is this what you want?

thanks for the advice ... sharks ... I have plenty of space, but dun think got one extra 1-din slot [blush] ... need to see how to install the P8650 somewhere :(

Separate question - can I maintain two HU, each with separate spkrs ? ie P8650 runs active with front 2-way component spkrs + the active sub; DVD HU runs the stock rear spkrs ...

Very chim.

Will come to you one day for coffee, and tell you what I want.

I would like to have a DVD, but my wife strongly opposed it.

Now I just want to have a better HU, stock sucks.

DVD mainly to keep the kids occupied and for reverse cam viewing. So SQ is secondary [laugh]

But also thinking abit wasted to have a Pioneer DVD HU but "ill-treating" it [smallcry]

Also where to secure my P8650 is another big challenge [sweatdrop]

Super confused ... [dizzy]

Most installations that uses pre-amps do generate noise or humming or worst still aeroplane noise.

If installed properly ; Noise, yes. Humming or interference, thankfully no. The higher-end preamps do a much better job at filtering out the white noise, while cheapo ones like mine tend to amplify the noise. Turning down the gain on the amps slightly helps to minimize the problem. [:p]

Saw BearBear1494 signoff "Cheaper Is Not Necessarily The Worst Way To Go. Trust Your Ears, Hear To Believe... ;) " ...

Wonder if there is any cheaper spkrs that is about similar to Focal's characteristics ? I don't mean to be on par or exceed, but close ?

Yes u can do it !

I'm running 2 HU in my car now .

1 for DVDs,ipod,gps,changer and TV mobile and another 1 strictly for SQ .

dwdvlf.jpg

Another pics of the 2 HU when its close .

o55m3m.jpg

I switch to Aux-in on my F#1 when i wan to hear whatever source i play on the Alpine DVD player, the sound will go through the F#1 processor than come out from the speaker .

I only need 1 set of amps and speaker to run 3 ways active , i adjust the volume from my steering control which is link to the F#1 ,but if i need to forward the DVDs , either i use the remote control or press the touchscreen on the Dvd player .

2hpkknn.jpg

But too bad , i couldn't have 5.1 channel in my car , as i've use up all the channel on my F#1 processor running 3 ways active .

Now thinking of changing to passive so that i have extra channels to play 5.1 in my car . [thumbsup]