Notsogoodman 4th Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 hi hi, anyone know the operational procedure of issuing traffic offence? Here's the story, I've been served a fine of $120 and 3 demerit points for "(LV) Park Within a Demerit Points No Parking Zone Under Rule 24A Road Traffic Rules". This was at 4am at Lorong Liput. I was standing next to my car when the there was this police car who turned in to open the gates at Holland Village (you know those driveway that they close for pedestrain at night). And I kept looking at the policeman who alighted from the car to see if I need to shift my car. He didin't even look at me, and the next thing I know, I get this a week later. My point is, can't he have given me a warning, or issue me a fine on the spot? Why so sneaky? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sohfei Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 hi i also kana the same thing as u but for me is the police jas drive pass the there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 (edited) like tat is suay la... since u cannot deny that u did indeed park there, it is not wrong that u kenna summoned. out of goodwill, the police may ask u to move along whereby it's only him doing his job to summon u. normal police car dun fine on the spot, they will need to bring it back to 'process' anyway i kenna twice along river valley rd before also. wat to do, LL lor say sorry and pay. Edited June 17, 2008 by Jonbummer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 hmm... my friend, they dun need to warn u. so long u park at the location u are not suppose to park, they can fine u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 i agree with you this is sneaky, ur car was not unattended, he could have tell u to move along. crime fighting is abt deterrence, only when deterrence fails than its enforcement y so sneaky? write in to complain ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyguy63 Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Point here is you are clearly violating the rule and breaking the law.If he had given you a warning it would have been out of goodwill.Sneaky?Sorry bro but i don't think so because there were entrapment involved.You knew you were breaking the law and he knew you were breaking the law.......so he is just doing his job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 (edited) If I'm not wrong...that road should be marked with single zig-zag yellow line? If it is so, then the fact that you got out of your car is already an offense (only allow immediate pick-up or drop-off), they don't have to tell you to go away or give you a warning. It would be a difference is it's double yellow lines, cos that, you are allow to wait. I guess the policemen were from the NPP? If so, I think they are not authorize to issue ticket, but are tasked to record the offenses and submit it to TP. Edited June 17, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 case of dog KPO, catching rats for e cat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Dude, seriously if you alight from car there as a driver then you kenna fine is not wrong. I think its a zig zag line area, this is clear cut case la. He does not need to issue warning for this, you are not unlucky neither is he being sneaky. However, you would be considered lucky or the policeman is being very nice if he walks up to you to warn you to move along. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrysalis_guy Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 You may appeal if you wish..i guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Kudos to you dude, you can say police doing their job even though u kenna 2 times before. Can I check the 2 times u kenna along river valley, issit the area where boon tong kee, 7-11 and some nice eateries are? If it is so.... Then please dun park there leh, cause seriously very hazardous. I travel there a few times a week and the illegal parking there is bad and when drivers try to slot in from the other lane always very dangerous... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrysalis_guy Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 same here..i also kena before near the pie...but warning letter nia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 i kena too along shenton way... double zigzag line.. was stopping to check the street directory, and i look up at my rear view mirror, this malay guy in a white scooter jz took a pic and scoot pass me. I kena 140 and 3 pts later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hahim Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 the npp/npc can't depend on TP to attend to any illegal parking cases.thus npp/npc are helping out the TP to do the enforcement.they have to do it mostly because of residents/drivers who complained or cars that are causing obstruction and call the hotline to tell about the illegal parking.yeah npp/npc officers can't give u tickets on the spot,they will write it down and submit it to TP if they want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 yes Sir, it was there where i kenna. having some makan after pubbing in the middle of the nite. so the traffic wasn't not too bad. but i must agreed with u that the traffic there is always hindered by the left lane becomes car park lots! aiya.. those police normally also will not be bothered too much until some NICE people call to complain. so we can blame them also. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear June 17, 2008 Author Share June 17, 2008 (edited) thx for the advice, guess i have been lucky to meet nice enforcement officers all these years... Edited June 17, 2008 by Notsogoodman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Well, if you are not a habitual traffic offender, can always write in to appeal..i think if their records show 1st time, they can waive off... For me, I'm hoping the summon i get is a heavy one before writing in, else waste the chance... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...