When I change lane, I..

Chrispie

When I change lane, I..  

130 members have voted

1. 1.

• I ALWAYS Signal 1st, THEN check blind spots
    • I ALWAYS Signal 1st, hardly check blind spots
    • I Don't Signal, but I make sure I check blind spots
    • Who cares?! Just Change lah! People will dodge me!

Who in the right frame of mind would choose the last Option 4 and risk getting flamed as I'd dare say most of us if not all have encountered such drivers who did Option 4 and nearly got them into accidents.

Yes, I think this poll is kinda flawed. Because I check blind spot first, then signal, there are clowns out there who dont switch lane when the lane is empty, then when other vehicle comes up, they signal then want to change lane.. probably signal first, then check blind spot. I dont agree with the waste petrol one though. the light runs on battery, not on petrol. battery is charged by alternator.

ok,.. let say option 1 is for those that does BOTH regardless of order..

hmm.. seems like MCF ppl are all good drivers hor...

The poll does not reflect the actual road manners of local drivers. Out of 10 drivers, 4 don't know what signal lights are (sometimes, I have the urge to destroy the signal lamps of these cars since these drivers would not use at all), another 3 will only signal when they could not cut to another lane. The other 3 will signal to let others to know their intention to anticpiate, sad to say I am very stupid to be 1 of them... [dizzy][blush]

Its a long way to go but I think the situation already improved from say 5 or 8 years ago. Just do the correct thing, and hopefully people will follow.

Hi All, this is my 1st time posting here as i just registered to this forum after following and reading around for almost a year. [wave] I have to say that this is one side i always read on. I love the subjects/topics taken to talk abt. Very detail talks.

Well, i feel that there are people who check blind spot, ppl who doesn't, ppl who signal and ppl who don't. but there a such a big group of ppl who loves to start speeding and racing with you when the moment you start to signal. Like example: I see a car on the next lane much behind me, i signal to change lane as i'll need to do right turn later. then that fellow starts to speed up, when i slow down he also slow down just try to make sure i don't change lane. so what is this called? [hur]

Edited by Rudra

> ok,.. let say option 1 is for those that does BOTH regardless of order..

Correct method from driving school is always check

1. rear mirror

2. side mirror

3. blind spot

4. signal

by time you finish all these, miss the exit already.. haha..

Or can do like taxi, car halfway into your lane already then signal..

agreed [thumbsup] !but another type is signal means have the right of way [thumbsdown] .and one more is after cutting dun know how to swtch it off [furious] .(dun even know how many lanes he/she want to change.

for me, i choose option 3.

But it actually depends,

If no near car behind me, why bother signal? Just change lah. but sure to check blindspot.

otherwise, will signal and check and change.

depends on situations.

if i know there are no vehicles,i change lane without signal but still check blind spot.

if iam not very sure,i will signal then check blind spot.

I always signal and my rationale is that there may be times that I have made a mistake and did not notice a small motorbike near me. By signalling even if I THINK there are no vehicles around, at least I am giving vehicles I may have missed a chance to anticipate and react...

Hi All, this is my 1st time posting here as i just registered to this forum after following and reading around for almost a year. wave.gif I have to say that this is one side i always read on. I love the subjects/topics taken to talk abt. Very detail talks.

Well, i feel that there are people who check blind spot, ppl who doesn't, ppl who signal and ppl who don't. but there a such a big group of ppl who loves to start speeding and racing with you when the moment you start to signal. Like example: I see a car on the next lane much behind me, i signal to change lane as i'll need to do right turn later. then that fellow starts to speed up, when i slow down he also slow down just try to make sure i don't change lane. so what is this called? hur.gif

normally what i do is to step the brake harder and filter behind him.

but if the gap is really big enough to filter,just filter in even though they speed up.

then they still need to brake for you.

its just waste of petrol for them.laugh.gif