KapitanE 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 I had to go into Vietnam last week for some work. Had to connect to a domestic flight at HCMC, which invloved a six hours layover in HCMC airport. Decided then to rent a car and get into the city for some sightseeing. Here is a pictorial report of the visit,... HCMC airport into city centre is only about 15 kilometers... car and driver for four hours cost me US$25.00. I had already check in my luggage and therefore only had a handcarry. The last time I was in HCM was in 1996, and boy have the city changed. More building, more traffic and more tourists...... Talk about Singapore traffic and motor bikes, well in HCM if you have a weak heart, would suggest you close your eyes when riding in a car.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Author Share June 16, 2008 These pictures were taken while riding in the car from airport towards the city, don't ask me what the building are, I just found them interesting... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Author Share June 16, 2008 Finally, after about an hour, I arrive right in the heart of HCMC, stop at the People's Commitee Building and took a walk around the square.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Author Share June 16, 2008 After walking around, okay babes, non to report, asked the driver to bring me to the War Crimes Museum to see the atrocities committed by the Yanks during the war... it was a sombre sight..... of course, this is one side of the story.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Author Share June 16, 2008 Feeling hungry after so much walking, asked the driver to bring me to a local place for some lunch, wanted to try the noodles... All of the below cost me 33,000 dongs,.... which is about US$1.50.... yes, it is that cheap... After filling the stomach, it was time to go back to the hotel, along the way i saw an Indian (Hindu) Temple,... kekeke ... Then guess what was stopped next to my car, a Singapore School school bus.... Again as for the ladies, I actually have not seen a good looking one, guess all the pretty Vietnamese gals have been exported to Singapore..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 was in HCMC a few last dec too... good food n cheap too! when i read u rented a car, i though wah u so brave dare to drive there, then realised got driver... traffic there is crazy man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 (edited) I went Vietnam 1 year back for some biz trip. Din have time for sight seeing. Managed to squeeze sometime for shots from hotel and night walk along the street. Missed Ha Long Bay too. Heard is a very pretty place... Edited June 16, 2008 by Thug Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 (edited) The SIngapore school bus is a well known international school in Vietnam. Kinderworld is very popular to the ang mohs in Vietnam. Many schools in Vietnam... Vietnam mangosteen is very good...had like 2 big plastic bag of it when i was there. Edited June 16, 2008 by Thug Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maersk1 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 HCMC....am coming !!!!!! am planning for a Vietnam trip by of this year....getting nos of feedback that Vietnam is worth to visit... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 How about the beach of Vietnam? They have nice beach that stretch very far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Author Share June 16, 2008 The beach will be at Nha Trang (pronounced as Nair Chiang).... which will be hosting the Miss Universe on the 20th July... Nha Trang is a 50 minutes plane ride from HCMC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomcat Neutral Newbie June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 i was there many many years back...took a domestic 6 seaters plane from HCMC to Nha Trung...recalled while on flight, one of the air steward tabbed on my shoulder requesting me to past the food up to the passengers in front before i could get mine...cos I was sitting on the last seat don't know about now...the place was quite tranquil...there were some sea food makan stalls along the beach...probably things may have changed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomcat Neutral Newbie June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 the girls only come out in the evening on their bf motorbikes lah...they will only be out in the nite to serve as hostress in nite clubs and discos... that's why you don't see any nice ones in the day... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 I haven't get to visit Vietnam yet. Would like to visit their beach someday. I dun like visiting cities. Maybe one or two days stay in the city still ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 你为什麽 知道那麽清楚? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 sorry ar.. last fri never go movida.. not feeling well... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomcat Neutral Newbie June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 i am planning a short trip too with wife... any advice if i shd go DIY or shd i plan it out with a tour agency? I am concerned abt safety since wife is ard, so as such currently inclined towards tour agency..but donoe how much would it roughly cost... would 3 days 2 nites suffice in HCM? Actually best if i can go both HCM and Hanoi... btw where to change viet dong in Singapore to get good forex rates? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...