Kena Conned?

Dennisk

Just wanna share with you guys that my colleague experience buying 2nd hand car.

Recently about 2 months back, he bought a 2nd hand Camry from a 2nd hand dealer. It was SGB plate, the mileage was about 40K. Dealer claim accident free.

My colleague actually went to Borneo motors last week to check whether when was the last servicing done and realised that his car went back to Borneo the last time is for a windscreen replacement and the mileage clocked was then over 70K. shocked.gifshocked.gifshocked.gif

I noticed that the bonnet of the car was also resprayed, the paint work finishing wasn't the same as the rest of the car body.

Even now they can adjust the Odometer? unimpressed.gif

Edited by Dennisk

Average S'pore driving is 20K/year SFB plate would fork out ard 80K - 100k.

40K is too good to be true [hur]

Odometer is being tempered

Edited by Route88

me dad SGL and 80k liao [laugh]

odometer quite easy to temper leh, seems like it can be done for a small fee.

2nd hand dealer probably have the means to do that [sly]

IMO your friend should have checked with BM b4 signing the dotted line.

Now all he can do is comprain to CASE or file a suit against the dishonest dealer for fraud.

friend's boss trade in his altis with mileage of 80k

saw on sgcarmart odo is 30k few weeks later

wad do u think ?

my ex-colleage's almost 10yr old car recently went for its 80K servicing.

His car is seriously under-utilised [sweatdrop]

I actually heard that it can be done and is practice frequently by companies exporting cars out of singapore. of course lower mileage can get better price...

IMO your friend should have checked with BM b4 signing the dotted line.

Now all he can do is comprain to CASE or file a suit against the dishonest dealer for fraud.

from his case, i really don't trust 2nd hand dealer anymore....

when i bought my previous 323, it was also about 33000km for 3.5 years car. i guess i was conned too....

Looks like it is still fairly common.

Your friend could actually have done more background work and spend extra $$$ to have it evaluate before buying.

One of my friend did just that. Call up AD to check it's service history and have STA check the car (@ a fee, around $300) and have it graded. Not fool-proof, but better than not have it checked at all.

Edited by Silver_blade

aiyah, this is so common ..... old tricks ... your fren is a first time buyer ?

I've always advised frens to have the car checked @ AA or STA if they intend to buy a resale car.

anyway they can claim that when they receive the car, the odo is really 40K. hard to pin them down on this.

in SG, buy second hand car -> caveat emptor

Accident spotting tips -

1. visually inspect car in broad daylight

2. check the door panels. the paint work should be even.

3. open and close all the doors with same strength. if one door refuse to close properly, high prob of repair work done before.

4. check bonnet/boot against the side panels. They should be flushed ( same height). Otherwise, confirm accident before.

ironically, these tips were passed on to me by a used car dealer laugh.gif