Tohdj Neutral Newbie June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 yup....real monks should be asking for alms which is usually a small pack of rice. too many fakes around....remember the new paper reported about some fake thai monks and nuns staying in geylang hotel and going all over singapore to ask for $$$? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbluewater 2nd Gear June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 From the look of the pic, the "monk" in question seems to belongs to theravada tradition, which in according to one of their vow, they are not suppose to handle $$. In this sense, this is obviously a fake monk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 Dun be like that lahz.. Times are bad.. Not to mention for the monks.. Even monks have dreams mahz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 so u still driving vios ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 ya la, what to do? poor student wor... and some more its still serving me very well since 2006... still getting 15-16km/l see no point to upgrade.. since its full paid up and paid for Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 what are u doing now? seems like u are a PI also? doing well ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 (edited) whether is fake or not did he advertise or go about telling anyone that he is a monk some people like to dress like a school kid but that does not mean they are pretending to be a kid in thailand many males become monk for a short period of time of their lives to be monk and then return to the secular world to put the story short, in any organization there is a black sheep even in heaven, at least there was one black sheep that turned away from god so before we go about passing value judgement on anyone let us be slow to accuse but quick to praise if someone goes to "geylang", does it always meant that someone is looking for chicken we should not stereotype anyone by the way I am learning everyday trying to do what I am trying to share here I use to remember going to the DUnhill store many many years ago, I was in my usual office attire with a tie, the salegirls were giving the vip treatment but couldnt be bother with the guy in shorts carrying a ntuc plastic bag. it turned out the guy bought a set of matching ties with several suit and ALL paid with solid cash from his Ntuc plastic bag. here i am thinking bloody hell, he must have more money in his plastic bag then in my saving accounts. The guy i understand was from China. so from that day on, I vow to be not quick to judge because most people turn out to be nice when you get to know them better Edited June 14, 2008 by Hishercar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 his robes are of the thervada tradition... and your analogy does not apply here.. its basically comparing apples with oranges. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbluewater 2nd Gear June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 yeah, you are right. in fact, no monks should gamble at all, no matter what tradition. In fact, I firmly believe that nobody in this world should gamble, but just my pure wishful thinking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 These people must be taught a lesson. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 hmm..doesnt sound poor to me leh ... and um..me not PI lah the other gabriel is PI not me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 actually you brought upan interesting point actually smokers are not fair to non smokers non smokers get second hand smoke smoking is a known cause of lung cancer lung cancer is a long terminal disease that drains resources including finances you can be cruel and say these people deserve it because proof that smoking cause cancer eg in the subsidize ward, these people occur beds that others may need that did not have disease that they created imaging the amount of money the government spend to subsidize their treatment these money are our tax money the government also know that smoking cause cancer BUT yet they can ban chewing gum because it cause a few million to remove them from MRT unilaterally but not willing to ban smoking that cause the country hundreds of million dollars can't understand the logic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 14, 2008 Share June 14, 2008 Maybe his mother too sick to go and buy, so ask her monk son to buy for her leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 15, 2008 Author Share June 15, 2008 Wat is yr Idea To give them a Lesson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 15, 2008 Author Share June 15, 2008 Dun be like that lahz.. Times are bad.. Not to mention for the monks.. Even monks have dreams mahz. Dreams to become Millionaire like other Monks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 15, 2008 Author Share June 15, 2008 His mother Must be a Gambler Loose all Money call his son to Buy Maybe will GOOD LUCK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear June 16, 2008 Share June 16, 2008 Boh lang donate to charity liao so try his luck lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 16, 2008 Author Share June 16, 2008 No Worry Garmen take Care them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...