FUELLING GOOD ABOUT PETROL

Ccssgm

They always Like to do this type of thing Only

What they Can DO ? U Say ?? [whip]

clean longkang lor..... make ppl cannot smoke in pubs, disco, kopi tiam lor....

inconveniece ppls' life...... wat else.

Suddenly, the hike in petrol allows us to see who are those who can really afford big luxuries car vs those who marginally afford one vs those who wears a hat much bigger than their head can take....

There are some driving a beemer 7 or 5 series who still burns rubber like nobody biz;

There are some who drives with aircon off and crawls like a snail in an attempt to save some gas;

There are some who decides to give them up totally......

Quite like Darwin's theory....

As oil prices soar, for-hire bikes make US debut

With oil prices sky-high, bikes for hire have finally rolled into the United States looking for riders in the US capital, as they have with success in Paris, Lyon and Barcelona.

In the next few months, the US federal capital, Washington DC, will be the first city in the United States to have a two-wheeled transport solution unveiled under its nose.

A rival of Jean-Claude Decaux, whose Velib are popular on Paris streets, Clear Channel Outdoor is bringing the biking scheme stateside. The US company also hopes to branch out into other US cities soon such as Minneapolis, Albuquerque and Portland, Oregon.

The city government here gave the green light for Smartbike, starting on a small scale: with about 100 bikes and 10 parking locations where the red loaner bicycles can be picked up and dropped off.

It works like this: for an annual fee of 40 dollars paid for online the bike can be taken out for no additional cost for up to three hours.

There is no deposit necessary but the biker-to-be leaves a credit card number on file and gives his date of birth. Those under 18 cannot ride. Smartbikes should be on DC streets later this month, the company said.

With Americans aghast at the high cost of gasoline, many are trying to rethink their heavy use of cars and Smartbikes could be arriving at an ideal time.

"We don't have any numbers for the final scope, but we believe it's going to be very successful," said German-born Martina Schmidt, who leads Clear Channel Outdoor's Smartbike division.

Many cities around Europe have embraced the concept of the loaner bike but it is new to the United States.

"I think (historically), people in the US are more linked with their car," said Schmidt.

Bicycles as an everyday transport solution are very under-used in the United States. According to the Earth Policy Institute bike trips now represent just 0.9 percent of all trips and commutes Americans make.

The US Census Bureau notes that about 623,000 people in a country of more than 300 million use their bike to commute to work. But it is a third more than in 2002 when 465,000 people commuted by bike.

In Europe, Clear Channel started out in Rennes in 1998 with 250 bikes and also has loaner systems running in Perpignan, Dijon and Caen.

The company has more than tripled its fleet of bikes in Barcelona, which in one year's time soared from 1,500 to 6,000. It also just signed a deal with Milan to put in place 1,200 loaner bikes there.

City cycling really caught on in Paris with the introduction in 2007 of the highly successful bicycle rental scheme Velib.

In 2005, the French capital reported that 63 percent more people using bicycles than in 1997, but the numbers have soared since then.

Getting only around 12km/l if driving the same style as my Rio which gives me 13+.

If acclerate like ah pek (at the speed whereby a SBS double-decker bus can out accelerate you slightly sweatdrop.gif) and strictly maintain around 80km/hr on highways. Can hit 14km/L.

Thinking of joining u to become property agent now also gotta think twice and thrice liao shakehead.gif Who ask me to get a very small car that drinks like a 1.8L MPV bounce1.gifbounce1.gifbounce1.gif

bro, dun anyhow join me leh.... i hardly stay afloat...sweatdrop.gif

must compare full condition.. their petrol less sulphuric, they travel highways and at cooling condition, maintain pedal 70kmh engine not stressing, FC sure good one.

petrol less sulphur or more sulphur, what difference does it make to our rides, besides emissions, could u explain?

i hearsay that petrol in this region (including SG) is generally not of a very high quality. but that doesn't tell me a lot [:p]

Getting only around 12km/l if driving the same style as my Rio which gives me 13+.

If acclerate like ah pek (at the speed whereby a SBS double-decker bus can out accelerate you slightly [sweatdrop]) and strictly maintain around 80km/hr on highways. Can hit 14km/L.

Thinking of joining u to become property agent now also gotta think twice and thrice liao [shakehead] Who ask me to get a very small car that drinks like a 1.8L MPV [bounce1][bounce1][bounce1]

U have not seen 1.8L which drinks like sports car [sweatdrop]

yar...tok about the FC of the Mz2 i'm furious again [furious][furious][furious]

Thats the problem when have a new car coz during the time of purchase, not many pple actually have this car to tell u about the real world FC.

well my 2yr++ vios still gives me 15-16km/l of spirited driving...

I just passed by the "Smart bikes" booth in West Mall (Bt Batok) and you know what? - Their tires are all deflated and nobody uses them anymore!!!????

Guess Sg is not really bike friendly - in many places I've been to, the place where employees lived is built around the factories. In SG, most of our workplace is far away from where we stayed and it will be doing a daily bike-marathon to cycle to work, provided we are not crushed by the cars/ lorries/ buses first..... [laugh]

I concur with the report. Jap car brochures always have fantastic FC stated hur.gif

JDM 10-15cycle test result... u need to deduct 30% from the tested result, its pretty accurate.....n very close to local driving cond.

bro, relax lah, anyone would have told you to shun mazda cars if you are concern with fc.

anyway, i think one of the bros here gave a very good tip that is give the km/l stated in the brochures a 30%. That's what the sales person at MM said.

30% for normal user and 50% for heavy right footers.

btw i'm driving the m2 too and i'm getting between 13.5 - 14.5km/l on ron 95.

30% off the 10.15 mode doesn't sound enough, if you ask me. For example the Honda Jazz (old model) was rated at around 23km/l on paper, but I think most 'normal' users are getting around 14-15km/l. That's a shortfall of nearly 40%.

Sorry this might be a little off topic. Wanted to start a new discussion initially, but as I am more a reader than poster (not enough posts) I am unable to do so.

Anyway, my question is, has anyone felt that they are not getting as much bang for their buck with petrol nowadays?

Since about a fortnight or three weeks ago, I've found that my petrol consumption has been increasing (ie: less distance for same amount of fuel). It seems that my car, which is less than a year old (FL Altis) has "deteriorated" in terms of fuel consumption. Basically, when I pump full tank, it decreases quite a bit earlier than usual. Usually, i get about 100-110km before the fuel gauge falls to the first mark from above it. Nowadays, its been only about 75-80km.

I mentioned it to a few of my friends, and lo and behold, they've all had the same observations themselves. One drives an Impreza, one a Mazda 3 and the other a Hybrid! Even the guy with the Hybrid felt the effect.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is our fuel being diluted???

Also must depend on the Driver Right FOOT [idea]

yalor... whatever numbers also just for reference.... some will tell me how good latio FC is, in average, mine is nowhere near.... my previous vios is that bad, my current latio also bad but surprisingly, better than my ex-vios.. [confused] .... the bad guy actually is my right leg ....[laugh]

some of my recent record....... [sweatdrop]

Brand Km Travelled KM/L

Mobil 95 299.4 11.34

Mobil 95 374 10.68

Mobil 95 366.6 10.94

Esso 95 355 10.44

esso 95 328.4 10.06

Caltex 95 292.1 9.55

Caltex 95 109.7 9.14

Petronas 320.6 10.26

Petronas 153.2 12.26

Petronas 215.2 9.25

Petronas 393.8 10.98

Caltex 95 344.8 9.95

Esso 95 316.8 9.18

Esso 95 351.2 9.55

Esso 95 191.7 10.24

Esso 95 362 10.46

Esso 95 284.1 9.74

Esso 95 381.6 10.75

Esso 95 322.5 10.13

Esso 95 369 9.78

Esso 95 332.8 9.98

Esso 95 358 10.12

Esso 95 366 10.16

Esso 95 247.6 8.82

Esso 95 325.8 10.08

Esso 95 338.7 9.62

Esso 95 341 9.80

Esso 95 198.2 9.34

Esso 95 825.5 10.98

Petronas 393.8 10.80

Esso 95 313.4 10.01

Esso 95 330.9 9.84

Esso 95 318.5 10.06

Esso 95 230.5 9.75

Esso 95 323 9.92

Petronas 389.4 10.83

Esso 95 368 9.73

Caltex95 320.8 10.44

Caltex95 340.1 9.33

Caltex95 358 9.77

SPC 95 359.9 10.45

SPC 95 339.5 9.40

SPC 95 NA

total average , ~10.09km/l only.... [laugh]

My stock Optra Estate auto gets about 12km/lit which I think is quite acceptable. [nod]

But then again my car is quite heavy. [drivingcar]