VPOST

Davidklt

VPost shipping charges are shockingly ex, they go by actual weight or volumetric weight whichever is the higher. [knife]

Have been ordering apparel from the US from different service providers to assess the quality of service. When I went through Borderlinx, they charged me $28 for shipping charges (USA to SG) in a standard box delivered by DHL. For standard box thru VPost, they charged me $46, which I felt was absurd. And if you happened to miss a delivery and want to arrange for re-delivery with VPost, have to wait 1 - 2 more business days. With FedEx, they can redeliver again the same night.

So now sticking to Borderlinx and the new ShopOnLine (Comgateway) for OCBC cards for my US purchases.

No more VPost for me, they really priced themselves out of the market. [thumbsdown]

Edited by Blueray

Yeah. I got my books. And the delivery charges..i didnt find the savings to be substantial. Dont think I would use them again.

Done some online shopping few days ago, waiting for another item to arrive before it can be shipped to Singapore.

As per recommendation of another bro, shipping it via Borderlinx this time as there are more items and it is indeed cheaper than VPostUSA. [nod][nod]

The difference in charges is pretty negligible for small items but quite substantial for larger ones.

Having currently only experienced their online customer service, I can say its service is better than VPostUSA as well. [nod][nod]

Why do you guys use these fancy shipping services?

USPS has global priority express and ships within 5 business days. Cheap and good as well [confused]

How to actually calculate the shipping charges?? i find it confusing to calculate the package using their tables heh maybe cos my maths fail.

Can anyone shed some light on this?? thanks.

i know calculated based on the box dimension and divide by 9000. Not sure why 9000.

Eg. dimension of box is 50X50X50 / 9000 = $13.80

hmmm, i will try borderlinx too for my next purchase.

From Vpost website, they claim they are cheap by certain percentage versus other shippers [dizzy]

Shipped my last online purchase via Borderlinx, took them 3 days to deliver the items to Singapore. [thumbsup]

The POD service is great for consolidating items, shipped 15lbs of items from 4 different merchants without any extra charges.

Did a comparison and their prices are indeed cheaper than VPostUSA, online support, response time and web interface are excellent.

Having tried both VPostUSA and Borderlinx, I will stick with the latter from now on. [thumbsup][nod]

Edited by Garlic

Gentleman, any of u have any idea if there is a way to shop from certain sites that do not accept non-US credit card?

Shops like Nike, Oakley and Ralph Lauren does not accept Sg credit cards. [thumbsdown]

One more option, is to order thru VConcierge but their prices can be Exhorbitant. [sweatdrop]

There are also certain shops that VConcierge Cannot order from..... Sian!

Just Wondering if anyone here has alternatives?

Thank Youuu [:)]

I used Vpost for quite some time.. Most orders are from amazon.. Just send Vpost a email invoice of whatever you order with the tracking number and prices.. Very easy..thumbsup.gif

Vpost alway deliver within one week or 5 working days for me.. no complaint on waiting time, thumbsup.gif but the shipping charge is very very expensive.. thumbsdown.gif

As for US side, sometime your item may get lost during transit.. Mine kenna 2 time.. Email them and they check and replace FOC for me.. thumbsup.gif

This is unlike some very 'service orientated' online SG shops which will reply you with sarcastic email.. thumbsdown.gif

I don't think you need VPost to order from amazon. my friend regularly orders bluerays and books from amazon.com and amazon.co.uk directly without using VPost

There are some tricks to use.

Firstly, there is Access USA. They will use their own credit card to buy the items for you when you use your SG credit card on Access USA.

Secondly, check if the store has an Amazon storefront. View the item on the retailer's website. There is a product number. Use this product number to search on Amazon. If it comes out, VIOLA! They are using Amazon to reach a bigger audience. The only thing is that to qualify for free shipping, the amount is bigger. If the retailer's website says $50, it might be $75.

Yes. But do take note of wad u r ordering, some items they specifically said they would not bring in. I spent 70 bucks to find out they dun bring batteries in... It was for my hp.

Darn!!

May i ask what did the online retailer indicate under item description? Is it listed as batteries or gift? I just ordered 2 batteries for my notebook and they had shipped out to vpost liao. And what was the resolution in the end for your case?