Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 Hey Bros.. i am going into ntu this coming aug. I am thinking of getting a laptop.Any suggestions? brand wise? heard acer not good? fujistu better? coz i think i will be using it for some gaming like dota and stuff.. any model or brand to suggest? should i get it from the IT show this few days or from NTU IT fair? i am just scared that NTU IT fair will have limited model and of lower spec due to student price. all suggestions welcome thanx in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 If you are going for gaming, go for acer and get the best graphics card available. Acer usually have the wides range of laptops when it comes to gaming Just make sure u buy the longest possible warranty upgrades available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eggy Neutral Newbie June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 I believe DOTA do not require high end PC/laptop to play with, so with just any laptop you can get at the current market should be alright... NTU's laptop got slightly different (not necessary lower) specs.. you gotta check them out with the vendor. But if i were you, i would get mine from NTU because they usually bundle lots of software together with the purchase. I personally got the Adobe Web Premium Suite and MS Office when I got my ThinkPad from them last year... very wu hua Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 Wat's yer budget. Have a look at the Asus FS8 series. Decent GFx card for gaming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Author Share June 12, 2008 hmmm maybe 2k plus... thought fujistu not bad??? i gg IT show now to see see.. if got good deal maybe just get them.. hope not much ppl today! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 so far when i look ard, acer has the best setup for gaming. but MCF reports a lot of bad feedback so i will not be getting acer. however, based on my own circle of friends, the acers number quite a few, and they fare the best. the IBM, fujitsu, all quite c0ck but anyway, i'm considering mac.. or if i get new windows laptop, must buy XP and uninstall vista Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 fujitsu u pay for the "chassis". it is lighter. however, u will get less in terms of specs as compared to dell/acer. at my sch, the guys prefer acer, the gals prefer fujitsu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 Fujitsu is good, price also good. Got my son a Compaq, and I'm personally using a Compaq as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Author Share June 12, 2008 hey... i just came back from IT show.. wat u guys think of ASUS F8Sn? $2098.. core 2 Duo Processor Penryn T8300(2.4GHz,800MHz,3MB L2) Geforce 9500M GS with 512MB dedicated VRAM . is it worth??? is ASUS a good brand? as in reliable??? or should i get the F8Sg which is 200 less but 2.1GHz and GeForce 9300 with 256MB??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Author Share June 12, 2008 comment anyone??? is ASUS good? i dun wanna use for 2 to 3 yr then spoil.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 Hey Bros.. i am going into ntu this coming aug. I am thinking of getting a laptop.Any suggestions? brand wise? heard acer not good? fujistu better? coz i think i will be using it for some gaming like dota and stuff.. any model or brand to suggest? should i get it from the IT show this few days or from NTU IT fair? i am just scared that NTU IT fair will have limited model and of lower spec due to student price.all suggestions welcome thanx in advance. What do you want? Portable? or Big screen? For surfing only or games also? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 I am using Fujitsu, the cheapest one. You can check out the Straits Time today, they have an ad. Besides the requirement, do take note of the warranty given too. A few brands are giving only 1 year warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Author Share June 12, 2008 hey bro... maybe play some game..and surf some net.. it will be my "hall computer" as i think it will be place at my hall permantely.. but i might bring it around too.. weight not much of a problem.. coz i drive but oso not too heavy tat kind la... hope to have smth that is not that ex, but reliable and good spec.. i know its quite imposible.. acer looks cheap.. but heard from quite a few frens tat acer spoils easily.. i really dun like to go back to the shop to repair every few months... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 NTU, stay in hall and drive.... okay, your father can afford it, get the most expensive one...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Author Share June 12, 2008 hey... haha... thats wat all my fren say.. but i really dun feel like using so much of his $$$. he get a car for me for convient sake.. me and my mum share the car.. when i dun drive she drive.. and i live in hougang.. all the way there and back is more than 60km.. thats about $15 of petrol everyday at least... and the jam and stuff.. 8 lesson i need to wake up at 6 tats y i choose to stay at hall.. can sleep later and dun need to use tat much petrol.. in the end still alot cheaper than to drive there.. just dun feel like keep spending their $ . thats y laptop i oso think for v long liao.. must get smth good and cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 For me .... unless I really need to carry the notebook around .. if not .. I will get the 17" widescreen LCD notebook ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dead Neutral Newbie June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 Hey Bros.. i am going into ntu this coming aug. I am thinking of getting a laptop.Any suggestions? brand wise? heard acer not good? fujistu better? coz i think i will be using it for some gaming like dota and stuff.. any model or brand to suggest? should i get it from the IT show this few days or from NTU IT fair? i am just scared that NTU IT fair will have limited model and of lower spec due to student price.all suggestions welcome thanx in advance. I think you can try Acer. Im been using 1 for 2 yrs ++ so far so gd. My wife recently just bought 1 acer labtop too. Price of $820 . Brand new Set. Aspire 4620z series. Its dirt cheap. its good for daily work etc IMO if want play games dun use labtop coz no all games keep upgrading from direct X8 to 9 to now 10. If u buy a labtop its very hard to change your GPU therefore always use desktop for games coz if comes out direct x 11/12 u still can upgrade your GPU easily for desktop. :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear June 12, 2008 Author Share June 12, 2008 yea bro... was looking at acer... great spec and quite good price...quite alot free gift thrown in too.. but had mixed feeling.. quite a few of my frens saying acer not good.. have prob.. spoil.. but some say is cheap and good... lol.. dunno if i should take the risk or not.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...