Damienic 5th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 (edited) You said it yourself..not motivated...you think the likes of CR and co can be 100% motivated to qualify for another final yr after yr? and Fergie is alr well known to be a good motivator and even then he could not really do so.. RM on the otherhand is diff..their players shld be very hungry for success after being in the doldrums of european soccer for so long.. Edited June 12, 2008 by Damienic ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 controversial still win.... that it the beauty of football... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 except for CR think the rest of the squad is... tat y me wish CR go to RM to rot lor.... RM sunny many nice girl... player go there to relax ah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 the beauty of football is tat it still doesn't mask the fact that you need lots of luck and right conditions (天时地利人和) to triumph in CL..motivation, talent and good coach may still not guarantee you this. in league, it is different..if players remain motivated, the talents and coach are good, you can still win back to back title cos the league is won over 38 matches..in CL, even with all these right ingredients doesn't necessarily mean you can win it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 I dun think so..winning CL is more than just having a good squad and a good coach..look at the galaticos RM have at one stage..Figo and ZZ and a host of other stars..still, they could only win it once under Del Bosque. You can win the league 2-3 yrs in a row but no team ever won the CL two in a row.. There has been teams which has won the CL two or more in a row...like RM from 1956 to 1959....Bayern Munich, Nottingham Forest and Liverpool in the 1970s and AC Milan in 1989 and 1990. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 (edited) Most of it was long long time ago when there were much fewer teams that are good enough to challenge for CL..those were the days only the champs of a country plays in champs league..now?? 3-4 clubs from each league can play..and previously only 16 teams play in champs league..with the expansion to 24 teams, it is becoming tougher to win it.. The 89-90 milan team still rank one of the all time best...I think after tat era, no team ever came close to tat in terms of quality.. Current era 3rd and 4th team in league can play in champs league and becos some of these teams are out of title race, they can put their full concentration on CL..tat's why Pool (2005) and Milan (2006) can win it after being miles behind in their respective leagues.. Edited June 12, 2008 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 hmm...IMO to me, luck is only 1 of many factors...not the main factors... sore loser will find ways to blame many things but themselves.... did u see/hear J Terry cursing his luck... anyway...Scolari might not light up EPL next season... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 now CL is CL oso for the "almost" champion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 I did not say luck is main factor wor..but is 1 of the factor out of a list of 'right ingredients' to clinch the CL trophy.. As for league, luck is not a factor becos it is played over 38 matches..no team can keep being lucky through the season or keep being unlucky throughout the season.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 hee hee..but u did say needs lots of luck wor... first thing first...in order to be in the CL... u need to be consistent in the league to be at least in the top 3 or 4... so...u dun need luck first hee hee... hello... majiam chicken or egg first liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 13, 2008 Author Share June 13, 2008 Confirmation of Scolari joining Chelsea from 1st July 2008 from Portuguese Football Federation themself. ESPN Report : The Portuguese Football Federation later confirmed Scolari's departure on their official website. A statement read: 'The Portugal Football Federation confirm that it has not renewed the contract of the national coach, given that Luiz Felipe Scolari has accepted an offer from Chelsea FC with effect from July 1, 2008', the statement said. 'FPF, particularly its president (Gilberto Madail), are thankful for the work and dedication of Luiz Felipe Scolari throughout his term, in which Portuguese football continually improved on the international stage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear June 13, 2008 Share June 13, 2008 oh i get it, its a short form u all use for sir alex. I tot saf last time wanna sign this player as FT but in the end miss it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 13, 2008 Share June 13, 2008 (edited) I dunno is you dun get wat Iam saying or Iam actually expressing myself very poorly.. I did say these teams need luck to win CL..but am not saying luck is the most crucial in them winning CL..what Iam saying is, you need to have the 'correct ingredients' all together (good coach, good talents and etc) plus some form of luck going your way in order to win it..this form of luck can come in various forms..untimely and surprise injuries to your rivals but your own squad is intact, refs making some wrong decisions (harsh sending off, wrong penalty calls and etc) and etc..this was pointed out in Liverpool's controversial goal against chelsea and chelsea's spate of injuries during this games and also my earlier example of Ars being denied a clear penalty in favour of Liverpool..even Chelsea have been lucky before in the bizzarre own goal which Riise scores and which proves to make a huge difference in their qualification to the finals..they are other examples..all tis things if happened not in favour of you, the best coach can have all the right ingredientsand plan all he wants but might still not win it if things fustratingly happened out of your control..on the otherhand, if a team has huge doses of luck, but the coach is below avg, luck might only carry them to certain stage of the competition but they still won't win..I hope I explained myself very clearly this time... You need sheer consistency to finish in top 2 of EPL every season...but not sheer consistency to finish 4th every season..we can all see how some not very consistent teams can finish 4th and qualify for champs league.. Edited June 13, 2008 by Damienic ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...