Focal Speakers

Hungee

Hi Fellow Gurus ...

A colleague chance upon one of the shop in SLT where they quoted Focal 165V1 for $330, SRX4 is $630, and they claimed they have agent warranty.

I am not too sure of the market price though, but thought 165V1 is at least $400-$500 ? Or is it 165A1 (is it a lower range than v1?).

Any comments ? pricing seems good leh/

HUNGEE

i wonder how true is the agent warranty....focal too many fake ones running around...even saw a website that compared real and fake ones side by side.

exactly my concern, but dunno how to tell fake from real :( does trying to check on price gap. if too good to be true, then likely it's fishy [sweatdrop]

Hi, IIRC ,

Focal products are only sold by the appointed AD (Audioedge),

And they dun have a branch in SLT .

The price also too gd to be true , most likely its another 1 of those fake focal product flooding the market .

My advise is to buy form AD . Next time wanna sell also can fetch a better price .

FYI focal stuff can fetch quite gd price in the 2nd hand market .

huh ? only Audioedge is the appointed AD ? have a friend who installed it in a shop in Serangoon Gardens (not Ch*** S**) leh ... his is fake or export set ? I better not tell him, else he will cry [blush]

Me & another colleague also interested in installing from there, but saw the box of the 165V1 rather old, thus suspect it could be "old" stock. That's why we decided to scout around.

Confrim + chop Audioedge is the 1 AND ONLY AD for Focal products in singapore .

Most of the shop outside selling the older model of the focal lineup , or are PI by the installer .

Maybe like what uncle bob say , they get it across the causeway . But from what i know alot of malaysian including thais and indon came over to audioedge to buy their product cash and carry back to their country . They claim that their country is selling the same product at a higher price .

I manage to chat up with 1 of the overseas custormer who buy a full range of Focal amps and speakers all top of the range model , when i was doing up my car at AE a few mths back and he told me this .

I suspect it's old stock, like I mentioned earlier, the box is OLD [:/]

So I guess we gotta visit AE liao ... long time no go liao, din know they shifted until lately [blush]

I think u better pay AE a visit . They have the full range of Focal speakers there , can also demo [thumbsup] .

BTW focal speakers is very natural and clean . Gd choice ! [thumbsup]

Apologies on hijacking this thread. As my post count is real low, I am unable to post a new thread.

I am driving a Honda Jazz (GE6, 2009) and am still on stock Head Unit. I don't intend to change it. I asked a couple of audio shop for suggestions and quotations and have decided on doing the following:

- a pair of Focal PS165 component speakers with tweeters

- 2 layer Soundproofing front 2 doors

My question is whether the stock head unit be sufficient to power the speakers so as to maximize their potential or should I get an ampliflier? If I don't intend to get an ampliflier, should I just get a lower grade speakers instead?

I am looking at a budget of around $600+ (getting the speakers and doing the soundproof is around there). I usually just listen to radio or else some pop music on my iphone.

Many thanks!!

Edited by Kobey

since you dont want to change your stock headunit, i assume you're not going so hardcore as of yet.

stock headunit shouldnt really be able to power the speakers. do note! the sound quality comes not only from speakers, but also from the amplifiers that power it.

If you want something simple. get yourself a set of speakers and amplifier for roughly $600 ($300 each). dont bother with the soundproofing as it will only add weight for a simple setup.

Yup

Amp is impt

My bil dun listen to me n jus change spk to his fit

Never gain sound or power diff without the amps

Btw if u wan I got 2 pcs used 2ch amp for cheap sale

9369 5773

Tks

Since your main listening music are radio and mp3, I suggest u dont spend too much on the speakers. A budget set component speaker ard $200 should improve the sound and raise the sound stage. Consider used speakers if you don mind and those that is easy to drive by your stock HU. Do 1 layer of soundproofing to replace the plastic sheet behind the door panel. Fade off your rear door speakers accordingly using the HU so i wont mess up the sound.

Thanks for the replies so far. Perhaps I can bring the suggestions to the installer and see how it goes. :)

By the way, is your HU a Apline 2 Din from Kah Motor? If it is, then it should be able to drive those entry level component speakers. If you don mind, PM me and i can show u my basic setup if location and time allows. Installer will usually sell you something that you might not need or of any significant difference since your intention is to keep it simple. Dont fall into traps thinking that they will do wonders to your sound system. There are so much you can do in ICE but the end result may not worth the effort and money spent especially the type of music and its source do not bring out the potential of the system.