Gabriel 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 bro..hard to be like him lah .. the way he drives ...most of us here would fall aslp and he doesnt go beyond 80km/h so yeah...hard to be as discipline as he is ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 My friends have been doing that for years now. They're the ones who got me hooked on vans in the first place. Slow nevermind, got space & cheaper to run. Also can make some diesel money on the side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Hmmm... both have their pros. The Corona has creature comforts & is a great ride. The Kelisa is definitely more raw around the edges with only basic comforts, but handles quite well & is very economical to run & maintain. But if I had a choice & can vote with my wallet, I'd still keep the Corona. Lots of room, big boot, good equipment level, plush ride & surprisingly sure-footed handling (albeit soft). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 (edited) Ok lah, sometimes I also drive at around 70km/h on the highway. Follow behind those commercial vehicles. Arterial roads if little traffic, sometimes as slow as 50km/h. I believe that one can choose to go however slowly he wishes, but he has to be constantly aware of his surroundings. If traffic comes up from behind & he's in the way, speeding up a little won't hurt the FC. We normally curse & swear at the idiot who insists on driving at 30km/h with a long line of cars trailing behind him, many of whom are waiting to turn into a side road. Edited June 8, 2008 by Bearbear1494 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 (edited) Quote I will start first....If petrol hits $4/l in the near future (that will mean paying about $800 monthly), I will carry on driving as I need my MPV to ferry 3 kids, parents and maid. I will probably be more selective where I travel and avoid driving unnecessary like to 7-11 which is wihtin walking distance . Maybe will consider conversion to CNG or changing to smaller cc MPV. Your say.... I believe people will adjust their driving pattern drastically if that happen. But before the fuel hit $4/l...the recession will probably come 1st. So the question would be "will you still drive to work, if s'pore goes into a recession?". S'pore and other asia countries will probably go into a recession later this year or early next year...and that's almost certainly sure. Many may get a pay cut or lose their job....depending on how serious and long is the recession. Edited June 8, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Quote I will start first....If petrol hits $4/l in the near future (that will mean paying about $800 monthly), I will carry on driving as I need my MPV to ferry 3 kids, parents and maid. I will probably be more selective where I travel and avoid driving unnecessary like to 7-11 which is wihtin walking distance . Maybe will consider conversion to CNG or changing to smaller cc MPV. Your say.... Join Mobil, Shell, Caltax or SPC... [:p]salah liao.... join army, got free lorry to drive with fuel card.... who care what the px of diesel/ petrol will be?? if u dun belif, ask cheerios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Quote I bet we will not have any riots also, even after the old Lee RIP.We are too afraid and disciplined to do such thing. such thing wun happen in SG, remember he said before, if anything happen to sg, he will raise from the coffin or something like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Quote my gf pays for my petrol now. i think this is the best way to address the problem.why she pay? u small white face ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 ..true true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 ..70 is too slow for me le ... touching bout speeding up a little.. reminds me of a mercs cabby me encountered that day.. was going into filter lane 2 lanes to be precise.. so when me turned in..me took the right most lane ... as the next turn me had intended to turn rite but this cabby..came out from nowhere ... then proceeded to my right and stared at me was almost touching my left front bumper no big deal if that were a mercs cab.. coz um..end of the day..the cab is not his.. and the money he earns.. most will go into paying for the rent.. sore loser... not as if he realli owned that mercs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 ha ha....good idea , there are already alot of people using commercial diesel van to run around, I got overtaken by quite a few of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 Quote Pour vegetable oil into my tank Ha ha....UK got people use used cooking oil for his merc car Maybe can also consider that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 Pictures paint a thousand words....hopefully our cars will not become redundant! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 need some sort of a kit or something to enable the car drink the cooking oil.. saw in a news article one guy in australia going around getting used fish & chip oil (foc) for his merc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 Quote "Oil is expecting to hit US$150-$200 / barrel within the next 2 years." This is what I read in investment newspaper last month. Now, Oil already hit US$139. I choose others as I plan to invest in oil company stocks instead, if petrol hit $4/litre, to neutralize my higher petrol expenses Thanks for the investment tip....please keep the lobang coming so that we can support our expensive hobby... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 Quote Electric bicycle and MRT. Thit electric bicycle is banned on the road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Quote machiam going back to the old days... where every one will be on a bicycle... or trishaw.. everything use human power.. so much so for being 'advanced' hor Frankly, the thought of paying $3 or $4 /litre quite scary sia. Very soon the amount we paying for petrol will be about the same amount we paying for car instalment. Tough. I am intending to get another ride in Oct or Nov this year, now i am thinking twice, looking at the rate of oil price rising. I think not everyone will be on bicycle. If not car sellers can close shop liao. Oil price cant rise indefinitely. It is going to affect the economies. I believe we will finally reach a equilibrium point. Just that dunno when. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 Quote Will still drive but most probably will look for cheaper alternatives and make adjustments: e.g. 1. Get low FC car like Picanto and Getz 1.1M 2. Get diesel van like Liteace, Doblo. 3. Buy a CNG car. 4. Drive only when necessary. e.g to and from work every day. Unnecessary trips (e.g. lunch-out trips may be cut down). I need the freedom. If need to, I will use my vehicle to generate some money to help subsidize my fuel cost. E.g, car-pool, people who need to use my car need to help to chip in for the petrol etc. That's the worst case condition. Thanks for the options esp. to try to earn some money using the car to defray cost ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...