If petrol hits $4/litre, what will you do?

Lemonteh

If petrol hits $4/litre, what will you do?  

271 members have voted

1. 1.

• Give up driving and join the squeeze in public transport
    • Downgrade to smaller car or motorcycle
    • Switch to alternative energy eg. CNG, Hybrid, Diesel etc.
    • Cannot live without my car...pay lor
    • Others (pl. specify)

[gossip]

I will start first....If petrol hits $4/l in the near future (that will mean paying about $800 monthly), I will carry on driving as I need my MPV to ferry 3 kids, parents and maid. I will probably be more selective where I travel and avoid driving unnecessary like to 7-11 which is wihtin walking distance [:p] . Maybe will consider conversion to CNG or changing to smaller cc MPV.

Your say....

i nw drive my father car.. i still gt some money i earned while waitin for enlistment.. currently i onli drive on wkends..go out slack supper wif frens ard sg.. if $4/litre.. i think i wun even drive liao lol.. b loner =X ppl say mus b niao to b rich.. im desperate to b rich >.<

mus help father save money.. =)

Edited by Devilution

If hits $4/litre, then it'll convince me to switch back to driving a diesel van. Most probably Jap or Korean van, so can make use of commercial diesel which is cheaper but higher in sulfur content. Eurovan would be out for me cos if anything goes wrong from using the cheaper fuel, repairs would be too costly. Height clearance wise, LL lor. As long as my own HDB MSCP can go in can liao. Go out shopping, just park wherever can squeeze into. [:p]

Use the Motorcycle for daily travel as work place Public transport is bad...

If even worst, then get a bicycle... [jawdrop]

Maybe still keep the car for family outings... Since by then selling it away will probably mean huge loss as nobody will be buying cars... [sweatdrop]

When it hit $4 per liter, it hv one advantage for those who can AFFORD.

1. Less car on the road, less traffic jam and it only for THOSE WHO CAN AFFORD.

Even more effective than shot up the COE to $100k or more. Cause COE u can add into your

car loan and repay in 10 years. Petrol, the most u pay through credit card but need to

clear within a month unless u are willing to pay the loan shark interest rate [laugh]

My case, I still drive but will cut those unnecessary trip as much as possible.

"Oil is expecting to hit US$150-$200 / barrel within the next 2 years." This is what I read in investment newspaper last month.

Now, Oil already hit US$139.

I choose others as I plan to invest in oil company stocks instead, if petrol hit $4/litre, to neutralize my higher petrol expenses [laugh]

Will still drive but most probably will look for cheaper alternatives and make adjustments:

e.g.

1. Get low FC car like Picanto and Getz 1.1M

2. Get diesel van like Liteace, Doblo.

3. Buy a CNG car.

4. Drive only when necessary. e.g to and from work every day. Unnecessary trips (e.g. lunch-out trips may be cut down).

I need the freedom. If need to, I will use my vehicle to generate some money to help subsidize my fuel cost. E.g, car-pool, people who need to use my car need to help to chip in for the petrol etc. That's the worst case condition.

Are you driving a Kelisa now?

It's the most fuel-efficient car so far.

Among the car-owners, FC-wise, you might be the last few to be grossly-affected by the rising petrol price. [;)]

When it hit $4 per liter, it hv one advantage for those who can AFFORD.

1. Less car on the road, less traffic jam and it only for THOSE WHO CAN AFFORD.

Lesser cars on the road but more motorbikes on the road . I'm seeing alot of [gorgeous] riding motorbike now.

ya bearbear... ur kelisa should give u 18-20km/litre

shiok man

u'll be least affected.

imagine if u turn off aircon, remove spare tyre etc

and use rechargeable battery powered fan