Singaporean jailed for nothing while entering the States

Cthulhu

I've totally lost the dialect due to lack of usage...

Only my old man spoke to me in Hakka; after he went sell "salted duck egg", nobody spoke to me in this lingo anymore (it has been more than a decade now). Now I'm more conversant in Hokkien, teo chew and cantonese (all but my own mother-tongue) [shakehead]

Edited by Chickenfarm

May I ask if you have ever travel to US? If you dun, I would suggest you better keep quiet. I been to US many times and certainly I do have the phobia. Why? Cos their system is humiliating, they are like king and they treat you like dirt. Have you ever got your wallet ransack inform of every pair of eyes? Has Singapore or Malaysia or European customs ever ransack your stuff in a barbarian manner? I do not expect anything from them but at least treat us as humans.

dun bother by him, it's start of school june holidays, will expected lots post from him.

hilarious you bro! haha laugh until pengsan..... the pic of the handcuffs ankle cuffs and muzzle. Buay dahan.

keep blessed my fren

+

Wait till you hear my HAKKA version. sly.gifsly.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Wah piang! Hakka also you know!

Ngai he Hak nyin! [laugh]

This is getting good! [thumbsup]

Ngai ar heh... [laugh]

Sad to say, the same with me, mydad passed away when I was 8yrs old, and after that, I stopped speaking hakka, well, not completely, until I had a hakka girlfriend who used to live in Tekong island, you know, hakka por ki liang ha wo!! gorgeous.gif Spoke with her hakka and her family, broke up, did maintain some scraps of hakka, well, not that bad la, I still can curse in hakka very well, and also, my mechanic is hakka also, so we both speak the same dialect.

Seems to me, hakka is coming back again, my kids know fark off, besides saying, "Ig hai hakka in" anything after that is a blur to them. laugh.giflaugh.gif

But I guess it's inthe genes, cos when I scold them in hakka, with a smile and change of tone, they know it's not something nice. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Only my old man spoke to me in Hakka; after he went sell "salted duck egg", nobody spoke to me in this lingo anymore (it has been more than a decade now). Now I'm more conversant in Hokkien, teo chew and cantonese (all but my own mother-tongue) shakehead.gif

Dun noe wat hak am I but definitely not Tai Pu hak cos pronunciation different. For us, Rice is pronounced as "fun" and not "fon" and chicken is pronounced as "kai" as opposed to "kei".

Heard from my paternal granny that we came from a place known as "ka lat chiew" which is near to Mei Xian if I'm not mistaken [flowerface]

Yeah, if not where the term "Nay bey" come from? laugh.giflaugh.gif

bro, out for head shot issit? knife.gif give chance! give chance! people also got mother give birth one![/reply]

[laugh] yeah ho...

Only my old man spoke to me in Hakka; after he went sell "salted duck egg", nobody spoke to me in this lingo anymore (it has been more than a decade now). Now I'm more conversant in Hokkien, teo chew and cantonese (all but my own mother-tongue) [shakehead]

that reminds me of my grandma... [bigcry]

Since we are OT, I join in;

My pa is hainanese, ma is cantonese. We were staying with our maternal gm who is also cantonese, so naturally we all spoke cantonese. I always tell people I am cantonese, even my ic stated cantonese.

After many a gf(win3.1, win95, wim98, winME, win98SE), I finally decided to settle with winXP. Guess what? She is a pure hainanese. I believed in retribution thus - my long passed-away father must have punished me for ignoring my roots.

Wah! Chickenfarm also Hak nyin ah!

Teow ngia sea-food!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

[flowerface]

ngia sea-food lah...

hahaha! i have not heard that in ages!!!!

sigh... seriously, all these hakka phrases bring back memories of my beloved grandma who spoke the dialect to me... [bigcry] ...now i laugh & cry at the same time... sigh... [:)]

Edited by Cthulhu