Malaysia New Petrol Effective 5th June 2008

inlinesix

Talk about singaporean being kiasu.. i guess everyone in the world are the same.. rolleyes.gif

ha ha...thot thailand side bad enough a day before the ban...it is the same sight over the southern end! Human are all alike! [grouphug] Well, hopefully no Q with the new increased petrol price.

HEHE [laugh]

I had the RM1.92/L petrol just now ard 5pm [sly]

that time no long queue at the petrol kiosk yet..

You are another lucky chap! wow...everyone gin kar gin chiu. i just came back from sembawang....oh no..i think i am late to cheong in [bigcry]

After watching the 10pm news at Ch 8, quickly change, move off reach SG custom at 10:30pm, saw quite a number of cars but cars are moving. Reach Caltex JB, though also saw quite a number of cars, still consider fast as all pumps are opened. Chooose a pump with only 2 cars ahead in the queue. See some guys queueing for the outside pump with a slight slope, I was thinking just grab any pump available. Clear SG custom at 11:30pm, reach home 11:35pm. Altogether takes only an hour

Edited by Sportster

just went in and out to do last minute topup before price increase.luckily no jams both directions coz sg side open the lorry lanes for my exit to msia and no cars when i return to sg customs.

but petrol stations were crowded sia.luckily managed to squeeze thru for fast topup. [nod]

I always like to Top-up at JB. Even though with the recent hike i will still make my way there to refuel. Unless the price are par with us then i will consider.

From the way the MY government sound..

The petrol price will not stop at RM2.70

Edited by Melissa

more protest will be coming...... [sweatdrop]

The new price of premium leaded petrol (ULG 97) is RM2.70 per litre beginning midnight tonight, it was announced a moment ago. The price for ULG 92 petrol per litre went up by 74 sen to RM2.62. Diesel will go up by RM1 per litre to RM2.58. The 78 sen hike or 40 per cent increase for the ULG 97 petrol is still below the antiticpated RM4 per litre price projected earlier and among the cheapest in Asia. The announcement was made by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi at a news conference.

I guess that this rate will not stay for long. It should be sooner rather than later that they will revise the price again.... [sweatdrop]

Feel tat malaysia govt all along got this idea of wanna do away with subsidise petrol but they will further furious the malaysian esp after the miserable election. Now they see a gd chance in this moment to use us and thai as an excuse to justify the action. malaysian will hate us not the govt. From today onward, they can say gd bye to their cheap petrol and they muz be hating us to the core as we r the one tat causing them all these trouble.

Edited by Curahee

Bro not refering to u, juz wanna know really how much can we save now? Now the price is not as cheap as before, juz for the 1/4 tank of oil, go in and out of custom, jam here and there, lots of times, fuel and other non monetary cost r wasted despite able to save a bit. If oil tank look less den 3/4, need to go and pump at spore to make it look 'presentable' and go in and pump again...

those thai smugglers are the ones who steal more!not us sporeans!

BANGKOK: The smuggling of fuel from Malaysia into Thailand has increased along the border following Malaysia's move to ban sale of subsidised fuel to foreign-registered vehicles.

The Manager Online news portal reported yesterday that fuel was being sold in black bags in border towns such as Tak Bai and Sungai Golok.

Some fishing boats were also smuggling diesel and selling it to Thai fishing boats waiting at designated areas.

The ban was enforced in an area up to 50km inside Malaysia from the border yesterday while a similar ban 50km inside Malaysia from the border with Singapore would take effect on Monday. Motorcycles are exempted from the ban.

With the world oil price skyrocketing, the price of petrol in Thailand is almost touching 40 baht (about RM4) per litre.

For many years, Thai vehicles have been filling their tanks in Malaysia while many smuggled petrol and diesel in large quantities.

In Rantau Panjang, Kelantan Anti-Smuggling Unit deputy commander Zulkifli Ahmad said smugglers might try new tactics to smuggle out fuel following the ban on sale of subsidised fuel to foreign-registered vehicles. - Bernama

when malaysia raise petrol price to market price RM 4

tink malaysian will cross into thai to pump cheaper petrol [smash][smash][smash]

Edited by Xbro88

confirmation of lifting 50 km ban...

No More Ban On Sale Of Fuel To Foreign-registered Vehicles At Borders

PUTRAJAYA, June 4 (Bernama) -- The government has decided to do away with the ban on the sale of fuel to foreign-registered vehicles up to 50 km inside the country from its borders with Thailand and Singapore.

The ban, which came into effect on Monday at the border with Thailand, is to be lifted Thursday and the ban to be imposed at the border with Singapore on June 9 will not come into force.

This was disclosed by Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad after Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi announced an increase in fuel prices nationwide effective midnight tonight.

After midnight, the price of petrol will be RM2.70 per litre, up by 78 sen, and the price of diesel will be RM2.58, up by RM1.

As part of several incentives announced along with the price increases under the restructured subsidy scheme, owners of private cars and of engine capacity of up to 2,000 cc and pick-up trucks and jeeps of up to 2,500 cc will get a cash rebate of RM625 per year when they renew their road tax. Owners of private motorcycles of engine capacity of up to 250 cc will get a cash rebate of RM150 per year.

Shahrir said that with the restructured fuel subsidy scheme and higher fuel prices, the ban on sale of fuel to foreign-registered vehicles along the border with Thailand and Singapore was no longer deemed necessary.

"When I proposed the ban, foreign vehicles were enjoying government subsidies meant for Malaysians," he told reporters package at his office here.

-- BERNAMA