Melissa 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 (edited) Yup true.. singaporeans tend to calculate prices with exchange rate.. and conclude MY stuffs are cheap (esp petrol). but infact, those msians are not that high paid when compare with same job 'status' singaporeans in SG. Now with the increase in Petrol, i wonder how some can tahan. and not to forget their public transports system (in general) is not that efficient and good. With this petrol price increase in singapore, ppl can opt to sell their cars or not to buy cars and take public transports. But for m'sians, they dun have much choices... Edited: with the current decision made by the Msia government, it will affect the economy, and the business in msia. Edited June 4, 2008 by Melissa ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darrenlee Neutral Newbie June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Wonder whats the price gonna be for Malaysian V-power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 HEHE I had the RM1.92/L petrol just now ard 5pm that time no long queue at the petrol kiosk yet.. My wife saw the massive jam outside her office in Johor, about 40 km from Custom and called me ask if petrol price gota increase. I still told her NO at 6pm cos the last news i got from KL was petrol price gota increase to RM 2.70 but never said when. After a short nap, woke up at 730pm to find the hard truth. Its gota be RM 4 per litre in September for sure. The ban of foreign cars may still be on. 50-50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 v-power could be RM 3 per litre. Estimated. I am used to RM 2.15 / litre petrol. RM 2.70 is not very big difference. Anyway, am gota sell away all petrol cars and go CNG. Just one or two vehicles enough for my business. Times really bad. Just hope Malaysia still allow Singaporean to pump in JB. A bit expensive I dont mind. Still surely cheaper than this stupid dot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 they can increase another 20% in July followed by another 20% in Aug ..... that will make it close to RM4/L in Aug ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 oh. Great to hear that Singaporeans can still pump petrol. Phew. Even if the petrol increase to RM 5 per litre, I wouldnt care less. I am installing the LARGEST CNG tank in Singapore to be placed inside my vehicle. Sourcing around for a vehicle with good decent space to put in tanks which allow me to run up to 300km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 still have until tonight midnight to pump b4 kena the new rate ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Still about 1/2 of Singapore petrol price, I think will not reduce traffic much ...IMO petrol price still very attractive leh. not really, if u include the 3/4 tank rules, its not worth to go all the way to JB to pump petrol... even if u are staying in woodlands.. each L of petrol is around 92 cents cheaper, if u can pump 20L of petrol(ave 1.6L car I believe). . that means, ur savings is around $18.40. Toll charges from both SG & Mal is around $4.50, plus traveling around 15km of traveling distance from Woodlands to JB, thats around 2 L of petrol (heavy jam factor) or $2.30 (Malaysian Petrol Price)... so, the actual savings is: 18.40- 4.50 - 2.30 = $11.60. If spend 1 hour to go thru and back.... ask yourself, is it worth to do so? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Malaysia government really CARE for its citizens. The petrol price increase is not what they really wanted because Malaysia is ALREADY the 2nd cheapest country for petrol in South-east asia next to Brunei. And look at the rebates they are offering. EVERY year RM 600+ rebate for 2000cc and below car owners.. EVERY year is the keyword. Remember what the Singapore government did all the time? They raise the bloody GST FOREVER but give you ONE year GST "credit" and thats it! Subsequent years they ask u go F spider. What a joke. Richest country in South-east asia?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 haa not going in to pump. I just pumped FULL FULL for my car a few days ago before coming out. Main concern now is Singapoer diesel at S$1.70 per litre. Stupid. Been looking around for CNG vans. Was told everywhere is CHAOS around petrol stations. Qs as long as 2km for petrol stations in Johor. Other parts I am not sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 I hope this is true because I have close relations up in KL too ..... now I wonder how this is going to affect them ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 You must ask yourself. Your 1-hour is worth how much. I dont have the time to go JB just to pump petrol. Its a waste of time for me but at least i go into Malaysia 200+ times a day so pumping petrol while returning is a natural move. But sometimes when its too late ( say 2-3 am ) and I see some suspicious looking characters hanging around the petrol stations, I wont drive in but speed up back to Custom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 " ..... i go into Malaysia 200+ times a day ...." What you do for a living, bro ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 (edited) Feeling the pocket 'pain' for my JB colleagues...They had to tahan the petrol price... Edited: Just bocs their government wants to prevent singaporeans from using their petrol subsidy which is meant for m'sians... For me, i wont purposely go to JB n pump petrol and get to stuck in that terrible jam... i felt its not worthwhile. u really think thats the reason?? there are many political issue behind... the eastern states gov are presurring the Federal Gov to leave more $$$ for the natural resources (petroleum) harvested from their states... currently, more than 90% of the profit from the natural resources goes to the federal gov and the eastern state gov are left with skins and bones, not even enough to maintain the current basic infrasturcture, not to mention to develop cos the eastern states economy is mainly depends on natural resources like timber and petroleum... Now, with the major political changes, the want to take the opportunity to threathen Pak Lah, else, they will support Anwar. If the happened, Anwar will have enough vote to becum Mal PM liao... so, in terms to give the eastern gov some benefits, Pak Lah have to do something.... but the federal gov needs money as well, so???? guess what he will do?? well, obviously, he try to cut down the expenses of the federal gov... so, where can he save multi billion dollars of money?? of cos, he will look at the biggest part of the expenses that the current gov is spending on... thats the fuel subsidy loh... Anyway, I do agree with u that the Malaysian pocket really hurts by this moves.... Malaysian salary is basically same as singaporean, however, Singaporen is earning S$, and Malaysian is earning RM. For instance, a typical executive earn RM2000 to $3500 in Mal, SG also same, but S$2000 to S$3500. So?? when the petrol price increase to RM2.70, it is same as SG petrol price increase to S$2.70.... Edited June 4, 2008 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Chaos in Malaysia.. as at 845pm.. my wife told me the entire JB petrol stations and roads clogged with cars as if tomorrow got no petrol. She had to detour using highway to return but still highway petrol stations jam till outside. Some as long as 3-4 km... Massive panic buying. Gota feeling tomorrow Malaysia will declare no more petrol to sell to Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 that could be ONE possibility ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 huh??? u go Malaysia 200+ time a day??? typo izzit??? should be per year bah??? but even it is per year, thats is almost the same as my Malaysian friend who travel in/ out every day to work liao... 5 days week x 52 weeks = 260, minus off PH & A/L around 230days per year... byw, i do agree with u, for me, I wont go in Malaysia just to pump petrol also, unless I;m going in for smthng else... its not even $50 saving per trip and i have to take all sort of diff risk... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 So for now, they still gg to ban singaporeans from 9th onwards right? Plus they going to increase to 2.7rm for malaysians. So in the end, they dont just let singaporeans 'suffer' even malaysians kena too. I am wondering if this is a plot to: 1) increase petrol prices 2) Use singaporeans and thais as the excuse plus scapegoat. 3) Make malaysians hates singaporeans even more as if not for us, they probably will still be enjoying the low rate. Next time go in.. better speak with malaysian accent already.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...