Malaysia New Petrol Effective 5th June 2008

inlinesix

Fuel subsidy scheme

- 30 sen subsidy for petrol and diesel

- Automatic monthly adjustment in petrol and diesel prices, in line with global prices

- Annual cash rebate of RM625 for owners of private vehicles with an engine capacity of up to 2,000cc, and pick-up trucks and jeeps up to 2,500cc

- Annual cash rebate of RM150 for owners of motorcycles with a 250cc engine or less

- Road tax discount of RM200 for owners of private vehicles with engine capacities above 2,000cc

- RM50 road tax discount for motorcycles with engines above 250cc

- Fishermen, boat owners and transport operators will get diesel at RM1.43 per litre

- Each Malaysian fishing vessel owner will receive RM200 monthly

- Fishing vessel owners will get incentive of 10 sen for every kilogramme of catch landed

Just check out the 2nd statement....the price of petrol can either increase or decrease depending on market rate... [thumbsup]

Edited by Zakkwylde

Keeping in mind that, Transports system in Msia (not including City area)

are not that efficient.. And also a typical m'sians work and live far away.

thus the need of petrol is alot more.

RM625 per annual is only abt RM50 per month.

That extra RM50 can only allow (est) 18.5L of petrol...

thats why long term wise is [shakehead]

ya of cos...

But generally for m'sians the need of car is higher,

as what i explained the distance and inefficient

transport system...

a sudden surge of (est) 70 cents per L,

is no joke to a normal working m'sians...

That is true...in SG, the average mileage of cars per yr is around 30,000km. In cotrast, if you have a car that only does 30,000km/yr in MY, its considered very low mileage. So an increase of 40% in petrol price can easily cost them a few thousand ringgit/yr and that is indeed no joke [sweatdrop]

Come Sep'08 when it rises to RM4/L also still pple queue up to pump in JB de la...

RM$4 = S$1.70/L...still more than S$0.40 cheaper than us... [:p]

If you factor in all the station + credit card + reward points discount...we are actually only paying $1.80+/L. In MY, there is no such thing as credit card/station discount. Only recently, OCBC got a 2% discount. [sweatdrop]

MY raise fuel increase is reasonable as fuel price increase is unavoidable because this is global issue. As you know, all politicians are sama sama... they need to cool down the ppl, so must give some rebate or use S'pore & Thai as one of the scapegoat for the increase. When election coming, SG gov also give us a lot of peanuts... [laugh]

As for the normal working class ppl fighting against inflation, this is a different issue. It is the responsibility for the MY gov to boost the economic so as to increase the income of the ppl to cope.

Edited by Ncss

No word at the moment on how much Shell V-Power will cost. The new price of RM2.70 includes a 30 sen government subsidy, so it is reduced from what the Prime Minister says is a market price of RM3.00 per liter.

market price is RM3/L? wow... we pay S$2+ for ours [:|]

That is because our petrol is taxed. [furious]

wah live news from Gad sia....thx for the update...I can only hope the jam will subside soon then i'll go in...

no problem.. so happen that my buddy from JB called me just now and told me..

Precisely!

[nod]

My conclusion is: M'sia Government made a VERY bad move...

This decision they have made, will effect the country's economy

and shoo away those foreign investors.

I rather they sell unsubsidised petrol to SG cars instead

and maintain the nomral subsidised rate for m'sians..

(no offence)...

Thats the problem. If a country's economy is good, then all inflation will be solved liao, but thats also more often than not, the main challenge a govt gotta face.

You are saying government like malysia want to boost the economy?

My colleagues told me 'the $$ which they had removed from the petrol

subsidy, we (people) will not know for the fact where the $$ is actually going

to. The government can said it will subsidise other food stuffs etc, that

will have take a very long to judge whether its true or not'

Yes, fuel price increase is unavoidable. But look at it this way,

IF one day SG increase petrol by 70 CTS at one go, and news is that

it will increase to RM4 in 3 months time, Can any normal working

class ppl handle that?

Edited by Melissa

I guess MY PM "Ahdula" probably wants to increase since last year but hor... election coming ma [:p] , cannot anyhow increase... After election, his legs not stable [:p]... loss a few states... so delay again... Delay and delay, global fuel price already shoot up 90% since last year [laugh].

SG gov different... they increase bit by bit every month.... [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Ncss

balls must be big enuff lor...haha i kena all 3 times liao...max. $500 also donate to them liao..so nw hum ji alrdy... [:p]

hehe...

Thats the diff between a Smart & far-sighted government and

a 'short cut' government...

no offence with my earlier post, but im kind of [mad]

with their current move. Affect me quite fair bit...

Hope, they will 'wake' up to their senses...

balls must be big enuff lor...haha i kena all 3 times liao...max. $500 also donate to them liao..so nw hum ji alrdy...

wahhhh...u kena so many times ? So its 100 then 200, and 3rd time $500 ? Yr car is 1.6ltr right ? The 4th time kena what ?

I think for higher cc cars, the rate is different. 1st time kena $500. [dizzy]

Anyway, whatever it is....still better than kena caught with magic needle. That one straight gun-tong the car + heavy fine + do not pass Go. [dead][dead][dead]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

i think Gary sibei hiong....even the petrol rebates in north need some time to recuperate...hahaha [sweatdrop]