Clicking/clogging sound when I move off

Andrewkb

Just this few days, I start hearing sound clicking/clogging sound when I move off.

It sounds like something is loose ... but I can't trace it.

It appeared to be from the passenger side, maybe undercarriage ...

My analysis so far:

- Wheel/Undercarriage hooked something and it's dangling (crawled below and can't see anything loose)

- Some loose objects in my glovebox/chubby holes (too many stuffs to dig thru, most probably case)

Anyone has any other experience/suggestions to share ?

Loose exhaust mount .. not likely, seems to be from the left passenger area.

Suspect: sticky brakepad that refuse to release from the rotor disc ?

Possible ?

if its pad on the disc, shouldn't you feel a pull back while accelerating?

i once had this problem before but on the driver side, it took me 2 years to find the problem. just a bolt loose on my clutch. i only realise it when i step on the clutch and the sound disappeared. so look there, saw a bolt loose, tighten it and settled......maybe you have to slowly troublesshoot

No pull back feeling when accelerating leh.

However, in gear one, when I tap the accelerator to go, I hear the sound ...

Next suspect: Some loose items in the car ?

or gearbox sound ?

In neutral, rev rev .. no click/clack sound ...

I hope it's just some nuts I kept in those chubby holes making noise ...

lets start from the beginning, remove all this from glove compartment and any compartment you have.......then try to hear if its coming from the dash board.....maybe something loose.....but best is get someone to drive and you try to listen

Wow .. U very the eng .. I keep getting new mail notification :-P

Working .. but tempted to read ...so .. [shakehead]

Anyway ... too shiong to remove everything ...

I even have 1 box of toys in the car !!!

I jacked up my car yesterday and set gearbox to neutral and spin the tyre.

My thought that it's due to sticky brake is not true.

However, the first twist of each spin, I can hear click clack sound ... all joint cover looks ok ... spray WD40 along the whole axle also no use.

Same applies to both front tyres.

Is the above normal ?

OK, here's the latest analysis.

I open the bonnet and have a hard look.

Realised that the gearbox mount is broken !!!

The rubber mount is flatten and there's a crack.

I guess that's the cause of the problem.

There's a rubber that seperates 2 metal pieces that's out of place. I shifted it back and the noise is very much reduced.

Problem is, is engine/gearbox mount under warranty ?

If not, how difficult is it required to change it ? Gotta lift the gearbox out ?

this is part of the engine mounting. if it cracked, it should be under warranty. normally our car has 4 mounts.....

some is 2 for eengine, 2 for gearbox

some is 3 for engine 1 is gear box

Item number 1 is spoilt. Can't see the rest if they're ok.

Can that piece be change easily ?

Coz I dun want my car to be down for a few days lah.

post-8-1056373312_thumb.jpg