Kelpie 2nd Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Hi all, 1. It seems that we all have our own definition of a "walking distance". 2. So when shop for a house that you want the MRT that is within walking distance, do you think it should be less than 400m or anything below 1km is walking distance to you? Please poll. Thank you very much. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Walking Distance shortens as we grow older. Now, I would consider 800m ok. maybe 10 yrs later. 400m. 20 yrs later. 200m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 also the weather. on a hot day, i will melt before reaching 800m. but seriously, some places have up and down, some is flat. and worse is sometimes you cannot cut through, have to zigzag longer distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 To me within walking distance = 400m or less. To my mother term = 1 or 2 bus stop away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 If one were to walk fast, it will take ~10mins to cover 1km. So I think 1km is my defination of walking distance. I always stress, in Singapore, its not that we don't want to walk, its the hot weather that makes us feel lethargic to walk. When I was in Europe/NZ/China for a few years, I always walked 10-20mins to supermarkest to buy stuff. The cool weather is nice to take a walk in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 My personal opinion based on own experiences. Walking Distance shd be within 400m if walking path got no distraction. If got distractions, like walking through aircon shopping mall, lots of chiobu to see, etc, then 600m is max. Now.. if got tons of obstructions like traffic lights, overhead bridge, river crossing, 200m also not considered walking distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 If its for wanting a house to be near mrt, I would think any distance from 500m or below is within walking distance. If its my general definition of within walking distance, it shld not be anything further than 1km away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopi_peng Neutral Newbie June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Not sure how far that is but I wld say it's anout 7-8 mins of normal walking pace...probably under 800m. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 i wonder if you are prompted to ask this because of property agent's advertisements. i myself are always quite amused how "within walking distance" as loosely used by property agents. in my opinion, within walking distance in Singapore context is not more than 800m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 1km??? My place is exactly 1km from MRT station. Walking to n fro in business attire is really My example is from Victory Family Centre at Sembawang Drive to Sembawang MRT. Exactly 1km on my car odo and bicycle odo. U try and let me know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Walking in business suit in Singapore hot weather for 1km is indeed a killer. But walking in the same suit in New York city/London is such a pleasure! I think gov should air-con the entire Singapore......only then will I give up my car and take public transport!!! Haa Haa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Here is the map of the place. For those voted for 1km, please try walking tis route and let me know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 if u ask housing salesman, their reply is ard 1 bus stop but actually is closer to 4 bus stops. if u ask kids... it is to their daddy's car. if u ask maid, it's either the distance needed to walk the dog (if can sh1t at void deck better) if not, the distance to bangala's lair for a quickie, but in betw will tell u she lost her way. if u ask gamblers, will b the nearest toto booth if u ask students, will b the nearest arcade. if u ask smokers, it will be 3 steps away fr where they sit n just outside the makan zone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Hi For me, walking distance = under 10mins to complete from A to B. Depending on one's age, the distance that one can cover under 10mins will vary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 How to measure ???????? In NS time, road march is 50KM........ from morning 6.00am till night 2130hrs............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 400 - 800m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Ha...ha... ha.... once I visited a relative in China..... they say visit another town is only a walking distance away....... knn..... , walk half a day accros a hills and they say a short distance....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 (edited) Quote Here is the map of the place. For those voted for 1km, please try walking tis route and let me know. Yeah, agree with you. I can't believe people vote 1km as walking distance... Even running 1km takes 4mins, and that's in PT kit when i was young and fit during NSF days. Walking with bags, long pants and all... 10mins at least. To me walking distance means less than 5 mins of walking. Anything more than that should be described as "nearby" even though one can still reach the place on foot. Edited June 2, 2008 by Ultramega ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...