Where can i get my car disc skim on a Sat afternoon?

Jupitery

Sorrie to flood the forum with a new thread. Refer to my earlier thread on "Steering wheel vibrate when brake at high speed'.

I want to send my car's disc/rotor for skim now. Need to know urgently, where can i do it on a Sat afternoon.

If u have isolated the source of problem to be the rotors, I would suggest u change it once and for all rather den skimming now and having to worry abt it again a couple of mths down the road.

I just checked the disc, it's still quite 'thick'. Personnally, i think it would be a waste to change it.

Can recommend me a workshop and roughly wat price to skim the disc?

skimming cost nearly 40% of the price of new disc...I think U better change a new 1...and even if u skim...the disc will warp again in no time...i don't know why...maybe the disc material property change liao...

I think which ever car workshop u bring to, they'll dismantle it to a machining workshop to do skimming cos u need a lathe machine to do the skimming.

Pls dun ask them to drill or slot the rotors cos it might create cracks and eventually break into a few pieces. My mechanic told me happened to some siao kia b4. I was like... [laugh]

Skimming cost $35 per rotor... you can try the Tampines industrial area behind Tampines SAFRA... can ask any of the workshops there and they should be able to point u to the right shop.

My mechanic ever recommend me. But I say no no.... [shakehead]

I was thinking that it had come at one piece if I do anything to it, it might affect the entire structure and sooner or later break into pieces....If it break into pieces while driving, I dunno what will happen.... [dizzy]

i itchy hand and skimmed my rotor, then it starts to vibrate..

seriously get a new one better.

$80 for a pair for mazda 323

Vtim - For Brembo OEM, try Automart, boss is Boon Hua, 64815290, it's in AMK autopoint

can go to kian teong auto on level 1

sin ming auto centre (the tall circular building in the sin ming area)

Dear pal, txs for all your advise, i have got the rotor/disc skim yesterday at Kian Teong. Cost me $70 and whole process took less than 1 hr. Steering wheel no more vibrate liao.

According to the person at Kian Teong, 2 possibility that could cause the Disc 'wrap'

1) As i have recently change brake pads, the new pads may not 'sit in well' onto disc as the disc may have acustom to the old pads. Thus, it's advisable to skim disc whenever you change pads.

2) Never never wash the wheel when the disc is in hot condition. When water quickly cold down the disc, the contraction on the disc may cause wrap. Thus, allow the car to cool down before washing wheel. If you alway send car to wash at petrol kiosk, advisable to allow car to cool down before sending it for a wash.