Rickster 5th Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 Most probably he is someone whose job has been affected/lost because of china FTs and still sore about it. So happened that he heard this china guy blabbering loudly and thus, went bersek ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 though his actions was wrong but who can tell one will not react in the same manner if the person has been told to tone it down yet they persist or worse case, tell you off?? do u think with so many eyes staring at them will make them stop?? i can tell u that they will persist. cos fm my experience, i told 2 china lady off for eating on train platform. all i got was a telling off and the smrt staff at the platform also didn't do anything with them. now i understand why their Gong An behave like a hooligan. cos it takes a hooligan to take down another one. Wait till u see how our plainclothes police deal with gangsters and people who sell pirated stuffs...u'll mistake it for a gangfight! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 Imo Its not abt culture, its abt their habit of doing things in their homeland. If sporean wanna talk abt culture to china pls we need to stand aside and think for awhile, they 5000 yrs history we only 40 plus, what culture can we talk to them. Culture as in the way we lead our lives here in singapore. Similar to the term "Company working culture". It has absolutely nothing to do with tradition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 Imo Its not abt culture, its abt their habit of doing things in their homeland. If sporean wanna talk abt culture to china pls we need to stand aside and think for awhile, they 5000 yrs history we only 40 plus, what culture can we talk to them. 5000 yrs and they still behave like that??? what kind of lampar culture huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 (edited) disagree!! we don't usually talk loudly in public, like in toilets, lifts, queues, MRT, Buses. Those FT can really talk like nobody business in those specific areas. We are brainwashed not to talk loudly aka SPEAK UP, in public, when we are in K1, K2, primary school, secondary sch, SAF, Uni. That's why S'porea all kiasi, dare not to talk loudly when something happens in front of own naked eyes...the bochap mentality. Edited May 30, 2008 by Julio369 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerryl Clutched May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 (edited) Imo Its not abt culture, its abt their habit of doing things in their homeland. If sporean wanna talk abt culture to china pls we need to stand aside and think for awhile, they 5000 yrs history we only 40 plus, what culture can we talk to them. they look high brxght now , after they reading ur quote lagi high Edited May 30, 2008 by Jerryl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 5000 yrs and they still behave like that??? what kind of lampar culture huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerryl Clutched May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 I think it is their culture to talk loud. indeed bro, 5000 yrs culture lah... white one also far far behide Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 actually hor, ang mor FT also like to talk loud in public, MRT and restaurants. so not just PRC leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 I'm sure most on the bus would have wanted to put their thoughts into action against this loud talking FT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 The chinese culture is - big matter become small, then small matter become no more, but this is referring to how we could approach problem. We do have a right to tell somebody - in this case to keep the volume down. The matter got worse when the passenger not happy and went up to neat that Chinese man. As I said both were wrong but the passenger who beat others up got more wrong. For the China man who spoke too loudly, the most he get is 'next time try to keep the voice down'. For the passenger who beat him, he will have to face the court and probably a jail term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 Yes, you are right on the culture thingy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyreboy Neutral Newbie May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 what i mean is those dialect groups that i mentioned, when their own clan talk be it anywhere, wah piang machiam want to scream....talk so loud until really i want to go up to them and say "tui leh" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 Yes it is a culture issue. Old habits die hard, look at Spore. It takes us 2 decade to eradicate the spitting habit. We also rely on our govt to constantly re-enforce it down on us. Plus those who have this habit passed on. Empowerment, Spore still has a long way to go especially if you happened to come from svc industry. The staff must be educated not to abuse it and at the same time, employer must be prepared to back the staff up when customer crosses the line. We are just not there yet. Perhaps 2 decade?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 If you read that article carefully, that China man was "talking very loudly to his mother". Hmmm... that was rather disrespectful to a mother and hence he was taught a lesson. Maybe it's a psychological thing. He thinks his mother is very far away in China, so he's got to speak louder so as to be heard. Or maybe his aged mother is hard of hearing/partially deaf. Whatever the reason, it is simply uncouth and uncultured to speak loudly on the hp especially in a public place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 although what that guy did was wrong but it may bring some good if all these FT speak more softly from the fear of getting beaten up. I think it is basic courtesy to speak softly in public places and I find a lot of FT don't have such manners, not just china chinese. other "neighbouring" countries also very loud. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 i would say..it's about time.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...