Watwheels Supersonic May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 I cannot believe still got ppl like your friend who like to leave laptop in the car after so many donkey reported cases of break-ins to steal laptops. If ppl continue to think bullsh*t like these won't happen to them in broad daylight on a busy street, all the more we'll hear or see about them. I think SPF put up banners to warn drivers not to leave valuables in their cars unattended is a big failure cos obviously some ppl dun give a damn. But when break-ins happen they comprain police do nothing much to help. WTF! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Testa_ross4 Clutched May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 I beg to differ, the security of SG is super tight, take the recent case of the undergrad who sell porn DVD online, our wonderful SPF can catch him even while mailing the item. Wah lao, you know how much police intelligence network and resources spent to find and stake out the guy just to nab him? I feel soooooooo safe that there are no porn DVD sellers in my neighbourhood, SG is very safe only for an escaped terrorist, loan sharks, break in theft and brazen daylight robbers, prostitutes.....all small issues lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 It is unfortunate that the security in our country has slackened quite notably recently: 1. Escape of Mas Selemat, and without the re-capture after a few months. 2. Widespread of Loan shark harassments and vandalisms within busy HDB neighborhoods. 3. Break-ins and thefts in such broad daylight. 4. Prostitutions in shopping centers and HDB heartland. I am disgusted to see my area polluted by such activities in the form of foot reflexology and massage parlours. do u feel safe walking in singapore streets in the middle of the night. if u do, that's it, no need for me to mentioned whether singapore security level good or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Padre Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Author Share May 29, 2008 sollie, my england no gd...change mod change it to theft Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Testa_ross4 Clutched May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 Not really, every night still must drive out to pick up my wife. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 Tourism Sector Performance for March 2008 In March 2008, Singapore welcomed 908,000 visitors, representing a growth of 5.7% compared to the same month a year ago. This sets a new record for visitor arrivals for the month of March. Visitor days were estimated to reach 3.4 million days, an increase of 14.1% in comparison to March 2007. Indonesia (155,000), P R China (98,000), Australia (62,000), UK (61,000) and India (58,000) were Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 I was at this open carpark opposite Shaw Tower along Beach rd last Friday afternoon around 1pm.A Toyota SUV window was smashed.Saw 2 police officers taking photo.One of them told me " look at these cars...most of them have cashcard or valuable stuff in their car! When will they learn ?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 (edited) Did I read it that this story you post here is from your friend, you were not there physically after it happened? Getting a parking lot there during lunchtime is like striking the lottery. Most of the time I find myself having to park along the small road and the road where the private housing are. So where did your colleague parked the car? I think we have to write off that these days we expect them(the thieves) would smash with a *bang" on the windscreen/glass thereby attracting attention. And also they maybe working in groups too. So we have to be very warry of our priced possesion. Yeah! sometimes its just our 4getfulness. Just the other day, when I returned to my car, to my horror! I did not locked the car and I 4gotten I have a notebook on the backseat. Luckily nothing happened. Then again, even if the acts were to be seen, there would be a remote chance that the general public would intervene. Mind you, we are talking about something serious as a theft with dangerous weapon. It should not surprise you cos for something not dangerous but still the same, some people have a indifferent attitude - I am talking about people who would be affected or feel affected by traffic/parking violation. You ask them to report, they say why must I? Edited May 29, 2008 by David Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zedzee 1st Gear May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 Wah lau, serious boh??? Why the place so busy yet nobody shouted at the guy or call the police?? But then your friend is too careless liao, COMPLACENCY is the word to use here... low crime doesn't mean NO crime... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 Where was yr friend's car? If it was near the bank, the CCTV might have captured the incident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conservative Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 Low crime doesnt mean No crime Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Padre Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Author Share May 29, 2008 He said he parked along the stretch, where u parallel park. i do not know exactly where. My other colleag who parked in front of him, did not kenna. My colleague did not expose all hsi stuff. His laptop and other stuff were in his laptop bag and on his seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 my gf's place behind nia.. now i gotta be real careful with my ride and her..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 theft from motor vehicle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 What model is the laptop? We could see it posted on HWZ very soon nothing confidential, unless the robber is from our business competitor, and he's not edison either PS...i posted in HWZ also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 1st of all, i hope his laptop doesn't contain confidential materials especially relating to govt projects. Otherwise, super hot soup. This piece of info especially abt that area being robber-prone deserved a TOP spot in STOMP. Though he can't help himself but he sure can do a good deed to warn those patronising that area. Who knows it might put pressure on our Home Affairs to plan their resources carefully instead of sending all the MIB to catch Mas. Lastly, though it might seems late. It wld be good to let other Spore forums know to?? buy a laptop with fingerprint sensors manufactured by my company....keke your data is safe. robbers or thieves will find it useless taking away ur laptop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 I was thinking if I want to see what is inside the hdd, can I dismantle it(hdd) and read it as a slave? Then again can I have a new hdd installed in the stolen notebook and install the OS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 depends on the configuration. understand from my colleague from technical dept it can be configured to secured at different level, the most basic of which would render the entire lappy useless if stolen. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...