Warning !!! Robber at Upper Thomson

Padre

that depends on whether the notebook has power-on password or hdd password. Most company laptops should have such security measures in place. unsure.gif

OIC. That's next to the big drain that runs along Upp Thomson Rd. The thief could have smashed the window (driver side?), ran across the small foot bridge across the drain, and hopped onto/ito an accomplice bike/car. Ask yr friend to browse the Sungei Rd market. Saw notebooks on sale when I was there couple weeks ago.

Singaporean is getting Smart liao, Help later kana punch by the thief then Police cannot invole cos is a Civil Casesly.gif Win Liao Law

What model is the laptop? We could see it posted on HWZ very soon [sly]

[reply]nothing confidential, unless the robber is from our business competitor,

and he's not edison either

PS...i posted in HWZ also

[/reply

Its a DELL 420

That place is along a busy road and I can't believe windscreen/window-smashing actually took place. [shocked]

When one is desperate for $$, you can expect him to do anything to get $$

Nabeh lah! That's why I keep harping on people not to treat SG like it is the safest place on earth. Want safe? Go Changi Prison. Super safe in there.

And I still remember someone who would prefer to leave his handphone in the car so that he can watch Spiderman 3. laugh.gif

Don't let crime find you.

Macbook can activate iView camera and take picture of the unauthorized person using it if you activate the "Find my Macbook" service from the web. smile.gif

Damn powderful. The software is being sold and just last month some Macbook owner caught the thief on camera. It was her friend!

Anyway, the Macbooks are coded. If you try to sell it away to a Apple retailer, alarm bells will sound. Even if you bring it in for servicing, alarm bells will sound. Usually owners who sell their Macbooks to other people will help the buyer register it so that alarms won't sound.

Its not easy easy as you think.

If you think u can do a better job at providing security for the nation, you can do something about it by either joining the force, and with your "super" ablity, i'm sure you can climb up to the rank of commissioner within 3 years of service, by being able to crack the 4 major type of cases that you mention.

There's always limited manpower..

PS: I'm neither an officer nor related to SPF.

Pengz. But have you proactively done anything since you claimed its your country, rather than leave it to the SPF to do "their" duty.

Do you actually know what the SPF are doing to address the law and security concerns. You dun see but does not mean nothing has been done.

And pls, do your own calculation on the proportion of SPF presonnel to the country's population. Precisely why the SPF has been aggressively educating the public on crime prevention and community watch.

It is unfortunate that the security in our country has slackened quite notably recently:

1. Escape of Mas Selemat, and without the re-capture after a few months.

2. Widespread of Loan shark harassments and vandalisms within busy HDB neighborhoods.

3. Break-ins and thefts in such broad daylight.

4. Prostitutions in shopping centers and HDB heartland. I am disgusted to see my area polluted by such activities in the form of foot reflexology and massage parlours.