Warning !!! Robber at Upper Thomson

Padre

This happened this afternoon during lunch time to one of my colleagues.

He was having lunch at a korean restaurant, Auntie Kim's.

This stretch of shophouses is normally very busy during lunch time, with the numerous eating outlets, e.g. Kampung Chicken Rice, Dino Cake House, Auntie Kim's

For those that are familiar with this place, they will know the parking is limited, right infront of the shops, in full view of the people eating lunch.

When he return to his car, he discovered his window smashed, i nvr checked with him, whether its windscreen or side windows.

His laptop bag, which included his laptop, passport, cheque book all gone.

This probably happened in full view of many pple, 1 witness has came forward to said that it's a chinese guy who did it.

Although, its his fault to leave his laptop bag exposed, but i dun believe, no one noticed a window being smashed and a bag taken away.

So much for civil mindedness.

The worst things is, when he when to repair his car at a workshop at amk, the workshop asked him whether did it happened at Upper Thomson, because many cars has came to him with the same problem !

So it's seasoned criminal at work !

So much for police work.

For all those frequent there, including me, pls beware or keep a lookout for suspicious looking pple!!!!

That place is along a busy road and I can't believe windscreen/window-smashing actually took place. [shocked]

very busy and lots of people around especially during lunch hour... can't believe so daring, to do such things in full view of so many people... scary.. [:(]

my colleague somemore is supposed to go for vacation this sunday.

now can forget about it already.

This stretch of shophouses is normally very busy during lunch time, with the numerous eating outlets, e.g. Kampung Chicken Rice, Dino Cake House, Auntie Kim's

For those that are familiar with this place, they will know the parking is limited, right infront of the shops, in full view of the people eating lunch.

When he return to his car, he discovered his window smashed, i nvr checked with him, whether its windscreen or side windows.

This probably happened in full view of many pple, 1 witness has came forward to said that it's a chinese guy who did it.

Although, its his fault to leave his laptop bag exposed, but i dun believe, no one noticed a window being smashed and a bag taken away.

The worst things is, when he when to repair his car at a workshop at amk, the workshop asked him whether did it happened at Upper Thomson, because many cars has came to him with the same problem !

So much for police work.

For all those frequent there, including me, pls beware or keep a lookout for suspicious looking pple!!!!

What you have described is nothing more than THEFT.

When you use the word robbery, there must be, at the very least, human-to-human contact, usually with some fear, violence or hurt involved.

There was none of these elements.

The burglar must be severely punished.

By doing such stuffs in broad daylight, it shows that he has no respect for the law at all.

1st of all, i hope his laptop doesn't contain confidential materials especially relating to govt projects. Otherwise, super hot soup.

This piece of info especially abt that area being robber-prone deserved a TOP spot in STOMP.

Though he can't help himself but he sure can do a good deed to warn those patronising that area. Who knows it might put pressure on our Home Affairs to plan their resources carefully instead of sending all the MIB to catch Mas.

Lastly, though it might seems late. It wld be good to let other Spore forums know to??

Since so many people around, why nobody came forward to catch or stop the thief??? So sad to see Spore lang have reached this stage.. selfish [shakehead]

It is unfortunate that the security in our country has slackened quite notably recently:

1. Escape of Mas Selemat, and without the re-capture after a few months.

2. Widespread of Loan shark harassments and vandalisms within busy HDB neighborhoods.

3. Break-ins and thefts in such broad daylight.

4. Prostitutions in shopping centers and HDB heartland. I am disgusted to see my area polluted by such activities in the form of foot reflexology and massage parlours.

Edited by Albeniz

So much for police work.

Look people. Such things do not only happen in JB.

Don't be complacent. Low crime doesn't mean no crime. [:|]

U shd hv seen how the Gong An deal with daylight robber in China.

Even I got a shock. Poor robber got to beg the Gong An protect him from being whacked by the passer-bys over an old model of Nokia hp shakehead.gif

Which brings me back to the point of ....Is our MIB projecting a wrong image??

And most important of all, there's no such thing as a safe place. Low crime in Spore translates into non-reported cases due to MIB's constraints.

Edited by Qpik

nothing confidential, unless the robber is from our business competitor,

and he's not edison either

PS...i posted in HWZ also

Edited by Padre

thanks. am really surprise to hear this cos I grew up in that neighbourhood.

somemore in broad day light .. geesh.thumbsdown.gif