Pool100 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 If geylang can survive so long with so many illegal working girls on the streets for so many years, I don't see what's so difficult for them to stop the malaysian policemen from killing their businesses... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 Lame ju lame rah, who cares. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 more juicy info ?? share lar...this is an forum....aka "ONLINE KOPITIAM W/O the freshly brew KOPI O" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tmfwy Neutral Newbie May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 Err You guys never do Sai Kang duty in NS izzit? 20L Jerry Can is freakin heavy!! :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 not a bad idea....at least he know the ground well...the buy XXX bank....XXX telecom kind of investment thing can leave to those upper middle income origin MP...in fact we no need MP to do these...we can just pay some investment guru to do it....the chicken rice man can make sure chicken rice won't cost $5 a plate in time to come....and probably he know the real poor uncle in the neighbour and know better how to help him and not like now only talk on TV then sometime bring a big gang of people and reporter go see uncle... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear May 28, 2008 Author Share May 28, 2008 Not that I do not want to share info. I have shared many and I don't put out info which I think is not credible or my reput goes downhill. But as you can see for yourself, some people instead of analysing the situation or providing additional info, just gives sweeping 'lame' comments. Just time will tell whether they will implement this. If it does go thru, my reputation is shot. Otherwise some people kanna eat their words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 the best is they can kill 1 and silence 100... slapped one offender real hard.. RM$100,000 petrol kisok RM$250,000 followed by employee 3 yrs jail.. see from then onwards who dares.. Before you get slapped with a penalty over there...there is always an option to first convert it into 'cofee money' and have it settled! Malaysia boleh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theobserver 2nd Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 I think they should at least give concessions to those genuine holiday makers who travel to and from Melaka onwards lah. Maybe allow us to show passports to prove we have spent 3 days or something like that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 They nvr stop holiday makers from pumping petrol..you can still pump cheap petrol anywhere as long as its outside the 50km radius.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 20 liter jerrycan is 20kg nia leh that's for water. for petrol maybe 18 kilos. my wife 55 kilo, i carry her cross overhead bridge, and i am not particularly strong . the thais are pretty sinewy and fit, unlike us sinkies . dun worry for them. for us, not an issue, since cannot bring back jerrycan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 ya lor. maybe Jb side can impose minimum time of 2 hours for foreign cars. for those who visit for less than tt, then kena RM20 levy, or something like that la. nowadays, MY kastam very high tech also, they scan the passport. this will target those who go in pump but never spend to support JB economy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 their garment gives them 1%... 1% of RM$100,000 is RM$1,000 1% of RM$250,000 is RM$2,500 in total, they get RM$3,500 just for tipping off... your kopi money very big ah? maybe RM$5,000 they will still consider u boleh lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 Not that I do not want to share info. I have shared many and I don't put out info which I think is not credible or my reput goes downhill. But as you can see for yourself, some people instead of analysing the situation or providing additional info, just gives sweeping 'lame' comments. Just time will tell whether they will implement this. If it does go thru, my reputation is shot. Otherwise some people kanna eat their words. its ok bro, u try to share info, pple pass lame comments. they may not be powerful people over the counter but the intel is raw and 1st hand. Not forgetting the people behind the counter are the ones who decide at that point of time whether to on the pump for u or not. during the MSK era, the customs was jammed badly. my friends and i didnt go in for a few weeks, when we return, the merchants at our favourite haunts eg food, petrol, car wash were more than relive to see us. the car wash guy in taman sentosa was the most relieve, he says since MSK escape, his business fell as much as 80% which is true, most of the time i am there the ratio is 2: 8, his small business is mainly supported by sgporeans. my gut feeling is the ban will continue, but pple wont give a damn, if they give a damn abt the enforcement, jb will be as safe as singapore. if one petrol kiosk dare to enforce, the other two beside it will be christmas. if they decide to enforce, that is if they do, then high chance underground pumps will pop up. wong ah fook shell petrol kiosk will be close. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 They tipped off and they 'drink coffee'.......receiving both ends! Boleh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 well...1 of those petrol kiosk belong to the sultan or prince of johore There is only one petrol station along the custom belonging to TMJ. And the fact of the matter is, TMJ would not want to bother about this petrol ksiok in the first place when he has hundreds of other golden goose. Only 16000 singapore cars enter malaysian daily. how much can these singaporeans spend?? Every one car spend RM 100 and its only slightly more than S$500,000 contribution to their economy. The REAL contribution to JB economy are the Malaysians working in Singapore and spending money in Malaysia. They have to buy a RM 150,000 house, a few cars for their family use, petrol, makan , shopping etc. And we are talking about 300,000 of them. Many of them ride bikes.. Many simply take bus to and fro or walk thru the customs. What difference does 16000 singapore cars make to JB economy? Nothing big. JB will be more lively and peaceful without the jams. In the first place, if the Singapore government dont want to help Singaporeans for fuel subsidies even though it always claim to the "rich" here and there, please do not expect the foreign governments to help. Malaysian government has all the right to help its fellow people like how Singapore government has all the right to help Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divespyder Clutched May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 Don't worry lah.. even if they can enforce the ruling, bet you there will be secret pumps set up in plantations within 50kms radius from border. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burgerdog Neutral Newbie May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 (edited) Based on your calculations, that's 500000 x 365 days = 182.5 million SGD per year. If comparing with the whole of Malaysia's revenue, of cos not a lot. But we're talking about just JB. A state losing 182 mil a year is substantial. I for one understand where this is coming from. But rather than banning us from pumping, why not just let us pump at unsubsidised rates. Wasn't this the root of the problem in the 1st place? The subsidy? Edited May 28, 2008 by Burgerdog Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear May 28, 2008 Author Share May 28, 2008 Maybe needs correction: Malaysian government has all the right to help its fellow people like how Singapore government has all the right not to help Singaporeans. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...