David Clutched May 26, 2008 Share May 26, 2008 Luckily the other time, they did not ask me go for a lie detector test. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 26, 2008 Share May 26, 2008 You are right, but sometimes they close one eye. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eatniddle Neutral Newbie May 27, 2008 Share May 27, 2008 ura operates like a machine. wants to implement the rule, the law with no sense of proportion of humanity towards fellow singaporeans. they can do that. we can catch them too. but sadly, like the maid story, our maids make a mistake, we pay. WKS and his team makes a mistake, none of them pays. also we singaporeans pay by compromising our safety, compromising our security. because of this incident, i hope i go usa no one stop or detain me in case they think singaporeans all in cahoots with MSK. so remember, the next time u see ura make a mistake, give them no chance. make them prove that they are right. if they are inflexible, so are we. I got a summon for $20 for less then half hour over due last month after I attanding a wedding dinner. sOO sad to see the ticket on the windscreen. Lucky the "officer" still pressing the machine for another car. Went to him and reason to him why $20 not $10 bcos i hve 2 coupon with same time at 8pm. the "officer" L L had admit his mistake bcos it tot my due time is 9pm. answer from him cannot change but can only put remarks and ask to appeal. wrote a simple letter and it took abt 5 wk to reply. bingo no need to pay. but on their closing of the reply - they stated something like dont take for granted to appeal for my mistake n future. cannot tahan. i will shut my mouth if i got $10 but they make mistake to overcharge mi and still soo lau lan. anyway i let it go aleast save the $$$ and keep quiet. if never notice their mistake haha add another $10 to their bonus........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear May 27, 2008 Share May 27, 2008 you got it right. they make mistake can. no need for fine or penalty. just say sorry. Yet say sorry also ya ya style. we make mistake, say sorry and apologise in appeal also cannot. Die die we must pay a penalty. confirm we 3rd world nation. lose lose proposition all the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear May 28, 2008 Share May 28, 2008 I think if you have the need to drop off wheelchairs very often, make yourself a card and display it on your dashboard whenever you are gg to leave for a while. That may just work. I think 30$ is still fine, it is the pain of writing and waiting... all the time wasted is just so pissing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powerhouse Clutched June 1, 2008 Share June 1, 2008 Me damn pissed off too. Kenna fine without displaying parking coupon BUT I am holding a season HDB parking!!! Waste my time to write in. Anyone else kenna this sxxt before too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samwng 1st Gear June 1, 2008 Share June 1, 2008 If you are first time write in, they maybe " high chance" withdraw your summon. Other wise, chances is very low ~ zero Better be sure rather then wasting such unnecessary $$ Hope you get a positive reply from them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evoluzio Neutral Newbie June 5, 2008 Author Share June 5, 2008 Following 2x appeals and 2x phone calls. My appeal was approved. One particular line was 2 We have reviewed and decided to cancel the notice this time. However, this should not be treated as a precedent for future similar parking offence. In any case, the wheelchair delivery was a one-off, although I help to deliver food for another charitable cause. Hopefully I will not run into such problems in future. The reason why I was so pissed was because I was being penalized when they did not even cater for a loading/unloading bay in the first place, and I was only there for all of 5 minutes. Lau sai also take longer lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Darned pissed. I got a summon for parking my car in the CP at Kallang McDonalds when I had to deliver a wheelchair to SDSC at their premises. I went into the building and came out within 5 minutes, and a summon was there on my windscreen. Sent an appeal and the reply that came last night was that it was rejected. My beef is that URA obviously do not encourage volunteering work by the general public, what with the recent blood donor case, and mine. Moreover I was only there to deliver a wheelchair, not as if I was going to be there for some time. So, why the summon and subsequent rejected appeal? Extracts of the reply given; "2 We wish to explain that under the Coupon Parking System, motorists need to display valid parking coupon(s) prominently for inspection once they decided to park their vehicles in the car park lots. 3 In this instance, the patrolling officer noted that there was no parking coupon displayed in the vehicle. Hence, the above notice was issued." IMHO, doing 'charity' work doesn't give you the excuse not to display any parking coupon. The Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) is Singapore's national land use planning authority. URA prepares long term strategic plans, as well as detailed local area plans, for physical development, and then co-ordinates and guides efforts to bring these plans to reality. Prudent land use planning has enabled Singapore to enjoy strong economic growth and social cohesion, and ensures that sufficient land is safeguarded to support continued economic progress and future development. If PA was the 'company' that issue you the summon, then you can complaint that they dun encourage volunteer work, but in this case, not relevant leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Following 2x appeals and 2x phone calls. My appeal was approved. One particular line was [reply] 2 We have reviewed and decided to cancel the notice this time. However, this should not be treated as a precedent for future similar parking offence. In any case, the wheelchair delivery was a one-off, although I help to deliver food for another charitable cause. Hopefully I will not run into such problems in future. The reason why I was so pissed was because I was being penalized when they did not even cater for a loading/unloading bay in the first place, and I was only there for all of 5 minutes. Lau sai also take longer lor. I ever kenna from URA before. But the summon was waive off right after the 1st letter was sent in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 kallang mac not free parking meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear June 11, 2008 Share June 11, 2008 Next time just spare them a 50 cent coupon lor... I've learnt my lesson of not displaying coupons liao... 50 cents is super cheap comparing to the trouble of writing to them and seeing your MP to get this solved... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 11, 2008 Share June 11, 2008 Wha seh. Looks like you kena a lot of times from URA? Seriously I agree with you that URA is super inflexible. This guy that answered the phone dare tell me he park 5 minutes he will also put coupon. I asked him to use his common sense. i'll tell u this, they have none! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched June 11, 2008 Share June 11, 2008 Within the Mac compound, free parking. Outside, need to display coupon hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear June 11, 2008 Share June 11, 2008 TS said he parked at Kallang McDonalds compound , so by right should not get summon ..anyway funny things happen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evoluzio Neutral Newbie June 13, 2008 Author Share June 13, 2008 Apologies if you guys were confused. I had parked the car in the public carpark at McDonalds, just in front of the SSC/SDSC premises. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...