Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 (edited) Hi all, need some advice here: 1. Was travelling along Upper Hokkien Street. It has parallel parking lots on the left and right. Two Mercz each inconsiderably parked along both side of the street. Car A on hazard light and Car C not on hazard light. I am the car B. 2. I took the judgment to grazed my Civic through the centre and I on my left right signal light. When at in between the two, my side mirror somehow hit the right side mirror of car B and I gone a feeling that Car A was actually wanted to move on at the sametime too. 3. Upon impact, I stopped my car further up and walked back to the Mercz. The driver is actually a chauffeur and the boss just sat inside. The drive talked to me nicely that my side mirror hit his and has a hairline crack at the edge of the side mirror lamp. Then he followed me to look at my Civic and there was no bruise, no dent and no damage at all. By this time, Car C already drove off. 4. We both exchanged our particulars and I told him that I will file a report with my insurance company then moved on. I then went to the insurance company and reported the case. 5. Subsequently the chauffeur and his boss secretary called me one after another asking me to pay them a sum of about $170 for the damage over this weekend. I consulted the insurance company and they told me that if I don't think I'm entirely at fault, then should let both sides' insurance company settled among themselves. 6. Right now, I'm not sure whether I should just pay up or not since it is a small amount. I have a clean and max NCB so would a claim of $170 damage my record? On the other hand, I'm feel rather upset to see two mercz parking like that and obstructing traffic there and I ended up as a victim. Please advise me. Thank you very much. Regards, Edited May 23, 2008 by Kelpie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken_leong 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 Just pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 (edited) Quote Just pay Edited May 23, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 Just pay him $170 lor if you are more worry about your NCB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 Just Pay and have a good night sleep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 Quote Just pay him $170 lor if you are more worry about your NCB. Not about the $170 or NCB, just that I feel unjust that I condone people for illegal parking. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 Quote Just Pay and have a good night sleep. I think I pay already also don't have good night sleep because of the humble pie . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 I feel you should just pay the $170 and move on. It's consider cheap. It could have been a bigger bill. Whether or not they were parking illegally is immaterial. You made a judgment and decided to drive between the 2 cars and had an accident as a result. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 Quote I feel you should just pay the $170 and move on. It's consider cheap. It could have been a bigger bill. Whether or not they were parking illegally is immaterial. You made a judgment and decided to drive between the 2 cars and had an accident as a result. You are probably right, not my day and by paying $170 will make me admit that i'm the trouble maker and make life easier for these inconsiderate people. I suppose I will have a few sleepless night for loss of pride . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 (edited) Sh*ts happen. I also kenna once, over 12yrs ago, when I made a wrong judgment (I was 80% sure I wouldn't make it, but somehow I foolishly went ahead) and kenna another car...but I was lucky the other party wasn't really interested in making good the damage...just got a good scolding from him. In end didn't need to pay a single cent. Edited May 23, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 Bro, I also think it's probably wise to settle privately. Perhaps ask if you can meet him halfway. ie. both side share the cost? $85 each car? Probably can say he was blocking the road and you were slowly trying to get pass. If the case comes under insurance, if they say you are 25% at fault. Ok. Say your insurance company pays 25% for this fee, but you lose all your NCB leh. You can also advise him against reporting insurance by telling him the same story of 25% at fault. Then he'll also lose his NCB. Try to settle amicably -> best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 Quote ****s happen. I also kenna once, over 12yrs ago, when I made a wrong judgment (I was 80% sure I wouldn't make it, but somehow I foolishly went ahead) and kenna another car...but I was lucky the other party wasn't really interested in making good the damage...just got a good scolding from him. In end didn't need to pay a single cent. 1. Frankly, I didn't doubt my judgment at that time. I'm quite sure my small car can pass through the 2 cars unless the Mercz started to turn, the side mirrors of both may then hit each other. 2. When I was at the insurance company, the enquiry officer told me that I'm actually lucky as people are known to quarrel or fight over very minor accidents. If the Mercz driver quarrels with me, I will be very sure that I'll fight the case. After second thought, that guy is also making a living as a chauffeur and he has been very polite throught the whole process. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 He parked illegally. he's at fault? yes - but only for parking illegally. Your side mirror scratched his mirror when you drove pass. Who's fault? I believe insurance company will probably say you are 75% at fault if not 100%. Bro, just take it as paying $170 for a pie. And you can eat it! Be positive bro. Hope you can hear / understand our advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 Quote Bro, I also think it's probably wise to settle privately. Perhaps ask if you can meet him halfway. ie. both side share the cost? $85 each car? Probably can say he was blocking the road and you were slowly trying to get pass. If the case comes under insurance, if they say you are 25% at fault. Ok. Say your insurance company pays 25% for this fee, but you lose all your NCB leh. You can also advise him against reporting insurance by telling him the same story of 25% at fault. Then he'll also lose his NCB. Try to settle amicably -> best. 1. Actually, I don't really care who is sitting inside the Mercz. If I pay is probably to give face to the chauffeur. I suppose he will lose his NCB not the one sitting inside the Mercz . 2. Sian, it seems like I've to swallow the humble pie and yet don't know how to Ah Q myself on this matter . 3. Erm, Mercz quality seems not that good, can't even withstand a grazed through by my weaker car? At lst, I thought my side mirror gone case liao. The chauffeur also commented "how come no damage" and I told him I'm just being lucky. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 To pay up or not decision still have to make. Happy or not, Can sleep or not or angry or not life still have to move on. Maybe should chop chop finish it and forget about the pass and move on lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 (edited) Yo Bro, I'm not encouraging the double parkers (especially the scenrio you painted which basically bottle necks the road) but the fact is they were stationary and your moving vehicle was the one that caused the damage. So no matter how wrong they were to be there, they did not cause the damage directly. Whereas your decision to move your car between theirs, did. Given you have already have full NCD, the repair cost at $170 and the very likely possibility that you will be somewhat accountable for the damages, just pay and move on lah ....We know it was just an honest mistake and that it was something that shouldn't have happened, but did. Edited May 23, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 23, 2008 Author Share May 23, 2008 Quote He parked illegally. he's at fault? yes - but only for parking illegally. Your side mirror scratched his mirror when you drove pass. Who's fault? I believe insurance company will probably say you are 75% at fault if not 100%. Bro, just take it as paying $170 for a pie. And you can eat it! Be positive bro. Hope you can hear / understand our advice. 1. If only they also feel the same way, that it will make me a happier person . That fellow also damn big shot like that, got secretary to call me to courier invoice. 2. Ok lor, tomorrow go and di di di at ATM . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched May 23, 2008 Share May 23, 2008 If still want to go through maybe should auto or manual fold up the side mirror first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...