What follow-up actions can I take?

Subaru003

Hi all,

Need some advice from the experienced drivers or knowledgeables guys/gals around.

Actually the incident goes like this, I have parked the car somewhere in the open air carpark. Some contractor accidentally caused spots of white paint onto my 4 month old black shiny car.

Hence I complained. Then the next day, the contractor got his blangah worker to wash my car. den his banglah tried his best to wash my car and could not get rid of the spots. he took out his phone card to scratch away the spots, together with the shiny layer(dunno what you call that).now my car have patches of matt and scratches all over. yes, its super ugly.

initially the contractor says he will compensate with no conditions attached. den his insurance company called the surveyor come down to check. indeed he agreed that my car should go for a repaint. thus i got a quotation from MI. but the surveyor say the price is too high. he said that he will submit a report and see how.

1. my question is that what can i do to make sure that i go back to MI for the repaint?

2. wat actions can i take if the surveyor say cannot go back to MI and offer an authorised workshop? must i just accept it with no alterntives?

kindly advise.

thanks in advance

Edited by Subaru003

if it's at HDB carpark where upgrading works are being carried out, can try complain to the HDB office in that area...

contractor would try to keep hush hush from HDb as it will affect their record for future jobs again...

Hope it helps.

OMG..U should have watch him for a while before leaving the whole car to him.

Happen to me once in my coy....... the contractor ask his worker to use kerosne to clear off the spot n wash up the car.

Well, if the contractor is link with the the HDB, you may press HDB so U may be allow to go back to MI.... well see if other bro got a better suggestion.

Just my 2 cents.

I had this issue a few years ago. I have my insurance company to deal with his insurance company. In the end, my insurance co advised me to go to the authorized workshop (STAR) to get it repaired which I have done.

Bangala [thumbsdown]

There is not such thing as no room for negotiation. I suggest you bring your car to a reputable car groommer 1st. See if the shine can be brought back...if the answer is 'yes'....just ask for cash and get the groomer to groom you car. Factory paint is almost always way better than re-spray...even done by AD.

If the above is not an option, try reasoning with the insurer as to why you have to have your paint work done by AD eg. bodywork warranty issue therefore it has to be done by AD, etc.... Make sure you do your homework...don't anyhow whack.

Edited by Silver_blade

OK. The thing already happened so now what is the best thing to do to resolve the problem

MI quote too high so the contractor/surveyor want u to go to another ws to paint.

Find out what kind of paint-shop they wil send u to. If the place looks professional, just accept to make things easier on everybody. If the paint-shop looks like some backyard cheap charlie operation, refuse on those grounds. Insist they send to a reputable paint-shop as your car is still new.

If they & u cannot come to a compromise, inform your ins company to look into it as alternatively, u can claim from your ins co & let them recover the cost from the contractor. Looks like it's no fault of yours so your NCD sud not b affected.

Once u involve your ins co, they know they cannot play play so easily. But I think it's best for everyone to get it settled between yourselves in a pleasant way.

Thanks all the bros for your advice!!!!

I am liasing with the surveyor right now...

Thanks again everyone!!

aiya... just compromise lah. u can ask them to do at a workshop u r comfortable with. or compensate you in $$ and ct.

this paint sh1t will not void warranty. no worries.

Whoa, reminds me of the time some contractor's workers cracked my windscreen. Somebody was doing renovation in my block, so they had a huge metal bin parked next to my car to throw all the used tiles & window frames etc into. They didn't bother to cover my car with a canvas sheet, so when I went out, I saw my entire car coated in sand & dust. Look further for scratches, found none, but saw a small spiderweb crack on my windscreen.

Called the nearest bangla over & demanded that he call his foreman. Took some pictures of the damage & emailed to the company. 2 days later the foreman came down personally & assured me that they'll pay for the damage. Called the glass repair company to come down, fill in the crack then sent the bill on to the contractor. Case closed. Guess I was really lucky.

Happen to my car sometime back, also affected a fleet of cars in my company, got caught by paint dust flying all over the place. Poor contractor have to come out pocket $$$ & hire a car polisher to do up all the cars, tell us not to report to his company or he will lose his job. I can say that the car polisher he hire is very skillful, did a good job.

Hi all,

Need some advice from the experienced drivers or knowledgeables guys/gals around.

Actually the incident goes like this, I have parked the car somewhere in the open air carpark. Some contractor accidentally caused spots of white paint onto my 4 month old black shiny car.

Hence I complained. Then the next day, the contractor got his blangah worker to wash my car. den his banglah tried his best to wash my car and could not get rid of the spots. he took out his phone card to scratch away the spots, together with the shiny layer(dunno what you call that).now my car have patches of matt and scratches all over. yes, its super ugly.

initially the contractor says he will compensate with no conditions attached. den his insurance company called the surveyor come down to check. indeed he agreed that my car should go for a repaint. thus i got a quotation from MI. but the surveyor say the price is too high. he said that he will submit a report and see how.

1. my question is that what can i do to make sure that i go back to MI for the repaint?

2. wat actions can i take if the surveyor say cannot go back to MI and offer an authorised workshop? must i just accept it with no alterntives?

kindly advise.

thanks in advance

where are the scratches?

If the scratches are only at a particular place like only one of the door...

Maybe u can ask the paintshop to do jus door repaint...or boot repaint...definately cheaper...

U are lucky that the contractor is willing to take responsibility....

Aiyoh...why the contractor so goon,shud just call mobile groomer to do the job.Want to save cost ended up loose out [hur][hur]

My previous car also got some white paint spot when I park in my office car park and contractor doing container painting nearby, maybe the wind blew so some paint speck fell onto my car.

Following day I complaint to the boss and he asked his foreman to come to try removing the white paint. They using car polishing products such as Autoglym resin polish and some other brand, and paint spots was removed nicely.

Do keep us updated on how your case being settled. Good luck. thumbsup.gif

bro.. in the first place u shouldn't have gone back to MI for the quote.. dealers normally quote so much higher than other authorised insurance workshop for such things..

u should have gone outside and get a better quote with better results too..

MI paint is really not that good.. and they dun bother with previous dings and dents one..

i've experienced it before therefore i can tell u..

Whoa, reminds me of the time some contractor's workers cracked my windscreen. Somebody was doing renovation in my block, so they had a huge metal bin parked next to my car to throw all the used tiles & window frames etc into. They didn't bother to cover my car with a canvas sheet, so when I went out, I saw my entire car coated in sand & dust. Look further for scratches, found none, but saw a small spiderweb crack on my windscreen.

Called the nearest bangla over & demanded that he call his foreman. Took some pictures of the damage & emailed to the company. 2 days later the foreman came down personally & assured me that they'll pay for the damage. Called the glass repair company to come down, fill in the crack then sent the bill on to the contractor. Case closed. Guess I was really lucky.

========================

Last time the same thing happened to my car.

Unfortunately I never thought of looking for the damm contractor responsible.

I just went tru my ins co. End up I had to pay $50 to re-instate my windscreen cover. The good part is I got a brand new shiny windscreen. [thumbsup]

Hi dude,

Its not just only one door. its all over the car... there are still some white spots on the car roof lor.. haiz.... actually the contractor did ask him friend, who claims to be a renowned car polisher to liase with us. however, as my car still quite new, i wanted some options and advices from MI, hence i went back. anyway, im new to all these things. the MI people told me even polish until super good, it will only minimise the whole damages that is already done to the car, hence i requested for a re-paint. wah, wat surprises me was the immediate change in attitude when i say i wanted a second opinion from MI after his, he like, 'why so troublesome attitude' lor... so not a good experience .... haiz...

still wating for the surveyor....