Zakuii 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 See how arrogant LTA is in not responding properly to customers' complaints. More motorists plagued by errors at ERP gantries FAULTY CashCards or faulty in-vehicle units (IUs) which fail to register at the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries are continuing to bother motorists. Since The Straits Times reported two weeks ago that 300 motorists a month either paid the $10 fine or jumped through the requisite hoops with the authorities to get these fines waived, more have come forward to say that they too are being plagued by the problem. The Straits Times spoke to 17 of them. They said that although the fines are dropped when they go to the Land Transport Authority (LTA) to explain why they did not pay the ERP charges, they are frustrated at the time and effort it takes to get the fine waived. When contacted, the LTA and the Network for Electronic Transfers (Nets), which issues the CashCards, would say only that they are working on a logistical solution. They gave no details. It is still unclear where the problem lies - with the CashCards or the IUs - and motorists are getting frustrated. Mr Francis Chua, 51, for example, said that he paid the fine the first time it happened, but has since made seven trips to the LTA office to get fine waivers. He said that each of the seven times, the LTA sent him to a licensed vehicle inspection centre, such as Vicom, to get his CashCard and IU checked to confirm that it was a technical problem and not because his CashCard had insufficient funds. Only then would the fine be waived. 'Each time, I waste 1-1/2 hours or more at the LTA office and Vicom to tell them about my problem and to get it verified - not to mention the 30 minutes' car ride in between.' The chief executive officer of a semi-conductor company with 30 years' driving experience said his problems began in the last two months. During this time, he has changed his CashCard six times - to no avail. Among the 17 drivers interviewed, two said they had been fined seven times, one had been fined five times and the rest, once to thrice in the past year. Drivers are hit with a fine whenever the ERP gantry does not detect the CashCard or the IU. Some drivers say they face the same problem entering carparks that use similar systems. Contacted two weeks ago, Nets said the problem is due to compatibility issues with some IUs. It added that tests on its own IUs show that its CashCards are working fine. But the LTA said the problem lies with a particular batch of CashCards issued in 2006 without the 'Gemplus' logo on the card's chip. Another hapless motorist, Ms Stephanie Ong, tried to get the IU in her year-old car changed after being hit with fines five times and changing her CashCard four times. Vicom, saying her IU was fine, refused to change it. The marketing manager in her 30s said: 'In that case, I really don't know what the problem is. It leaves me wondering if it is going to be like this for the rest of my driving experience.' A frustrated Mr Chua suggested that until Nets and LTA fixed the problem, fines should be automatically waived to save drivers the repeated hassle of seeking a waiver. He also called for owed ERP charges to be payable through ATM machines, instead of only through Internet banking or at the LTA office. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrfastcar Neutral Newbie May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Yeah, so annoying I got caught in March for not having a cashcard inserted properly. Now im 8.50 poorer. They need to listen to us and stop giving us red tape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valx 2nd Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 I also suffer the same problem. I kana fined for 9 times in 1 year where i only waived off 3 summon because i made the trip down to LTA and tell them about the problem. Each time i drive pass the gantry i will make sure the light is green before entering. I leave my cashcard on my vehicle every single day and yet i got summon 9 times. I have went to Vicom for 2 times and both time they check and told me IU is not faulty the problem lies with my cashcard. I have change about 5 cashcard and still suffering same problems. Now i take my own precaution already before i enter the Gantries i make sure got light if not i reslot the card to make sure the IU is green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caparo Neutral Newbie May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 If they have implemented the system, they should sort it out. If IUs and cash cards have been changed, then it must be the million dollar gantry that is having problem - logic? Maybe it is a plot to earn more so to recover the cost for more gantries but I don't think they would do something so silly, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Yesterday I pass by the kramat road gantry into orchard at 6.35pm. Heard a beep sound but realise no cash deducted..I know its siao liao.. I think its high time LTA change the system or be prepared to waive fine off..they cannot continue to keep letting their blunders be at the expense of drivers.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 i got guarnateed to work cash cards, anyone want? can save many troublesome trips to lta Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valx 2nd Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Bro next time see the green light on the IU i used to be like u i kana till scared liao. Got cashcard inside also useless no light = beep beep beep Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 How to? if at the time abt to pass through the gantry and realise no green light, cannot possibly jam brake at that instant right? will cause potential accident to myself and other road users. we are always at the mercy of govt..they do not empathise our problems and seems to think that if we encounter such problems, its just our bad luck..sickening.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 I am using the old cashcard, it has no problem. We do not have any problem and we pay ERP everyday. Maybe it is the new cards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Im wondering will such thing happen when Credit Card come out for cashcard... When will it launch.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 (edited) Instead of looking for a long term solution between ERP gantry / IU Units / Cashcard. Our top scholars come out with this Solving the effects by not looking at the root cause !! By Creating one problem, that leads by creating another process... {Cannot look into a monthly credited bills like our utlities / phone bill to replace cash card meh (For actual billing, not for violation use)} http://home.singtel.com/easi-erp_promo/about.html Edited May 21, 2008 by Lv3338 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 today's ST paper say that the newer brown color cashcards are better in terms of useability when compare to the older blue color cashcards. any MCFers using the newer brown color cashcards can comment ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hazmano Neutral Newbie May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 I'm now on my 3rd "new' type cashcard and it fails after the third week of usage. This still happens even when I don't leave it in all the time in the UI. Went to V.com and they say its due to faulty cashcard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 I'm using the brown one. Initially I didn't know about the flaw. I thought the super strong sun caused it to warp and there was no contact with the chip whenever I insert it into the IU. Now what I did was I stretch the card by bending it, even bend the area of the chip cos sebei tulan every time insert I dun see the longer beep with the value showing. PS: I dun recommend it though. For those who tried and break your cashcard, pls dun put the blame on me. The stupid thing is after I gave it a few 90degree stretches and insert into the IU the damn card could be read. I would suggest the cashcard be made thicker or the IU slot made thinner so that the cashcard would not flex, and so that the chip can make contact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 (edited) It is a honest mistake. Want to blame, must blame the production operator for the card or IU unit for negligence. Must hold them accountable, cannot blame LTA or transport ministar hor. So have to move on and cannot keep bringing this matter up. KPKB also cannot solve the problem, Driver must be responsible, go buy 30 cash card (One for each day) and stock up. Edited May 21, 2008 by Pentium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Cool, new way to get more $$$ from us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 very frustrating. everytime i slot the cashcard in, 90% is "ERR" [furious] the IU like also get loosen over time. the bracket like not as tight and good fit as before. anyone experience this ? all these design flaws. for sure each cashcard wont last till 5 years before they are all wrapped and useless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 that is the main purpose lor... because now cashcard is $5 each... bloody greedy companies... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...