Small Rims can't go fast???

Panalogic

Isn't a fr car more forgiving than a rwd?

In a way such that i can push it harder during corners as compared to rwd??

FR --> Front engine, rear wheel drive :)

FF --> Front engine, front wheel drive

MR --> Mid engine, rear wheel drive (ie. Toyota MR2, MR-S, Lotus Elise, Exige, Europa..Honda NSX, F1...so on.)

RR --> Rear engined, rear wheel drive (ie. porsche 911, the OLD VW beetle)

AWD --> aiya you knwo lah..haha

By default, RR and MR cars are difficult to manage on the limit for the inexperienced driver, because there is more weight at the back and subsequently, it is harder to control a spin once you oversteer (ie. loose traction with the rear wheels), assuming all other things are equal, ie. alignment, suspension, weight distribution, tyres, etc.

In an FF car, you CAN push harder more confidently on public roads (i'm not condoning this ah..) because the worst that usually happens is understeer, but this happens only when you are very gradual with your control inputs. If you stamp on the brakes in ANY type of car while in a corner, chances are the car WILL oversteer, and you will have to countersteer, AND THEN steer back straight IN TIME. Most crashes i've seen resulting from oversteer, ironically, happen because they counter, and then after that forget to turn the steering the other way back, and then hit something in some other direction.

Ok i'm just ranting..haha...

185 was nt recommended by few tyre shop on a 5j width rim. Since i have nt install this size on my 5j rim, i can only get feedback from 'many ppl'. Hv u gt a 185/55/14 tyre on ur 5j rim before, any feedback like very sluggish and 'oversize' issue?

Edited by Okrr2883

Well, going by several tire lists from the tire manufacturersthemselves (which you can get fairly easily online), a 185mm width tire is perfectly fine with a 5" width rim. It might be on the thicker limit of what a 5" rim will accept, but it is fine. What you have to understand is the reason why I suggested a 185" tyre is purely because it's probably not easy to get 175/55 R14 that you want.

I have a 6" rim and I have a 195mm tire mounted on it - the previous tire I used was a 185mm and I could tell no difference at all in my quality of ride due to this increased width. I think you to understand that sluggishness is mainly caused by the weight of your tyre and the overall diameter of tyre. In fact, having the extra width is theoretically good for more lateral grip, although I do not claim to drive that fast to actually enjoy the benefits of this added grip.

If you care to look at all the posts in this thread, I have not even started recommending you the size of tire - If I was, I would be recommending you a 185/50 R14 tyre, which will be about 1%less in circumference of your 175/55 R14 tyre. But till now you have not given me your stock tire size, which is the size we SHOULD try to keep close to. I am also hesitant to recommend you the 185/50R14 size because even THAT size is probably not easy to get. I try to give sound advice, but it must be based on established standards - for all we know the 175/55 R14 is the WRONG size of tyre; I wouldnt want to recommend something based on the wrong starting point.

Oversizing is only an issue if you, for whatever reasons, plan to go beyond the tyre sizes of what the tyre manufacturer recommends.

Oh ya, my recommended tyre size is 165/65/14. Wan to try out 175 tyre. If 175/55/14 nt quite possible here, maybe i can try find 175/60 or even 175/65, any tyre to recommend for this 2 tyre size? I hv seem several tire list, 185 recommended rim is 5.5j, although 5j can also fit in. May consider 185/55/14 if realli cannot find 175 tyre.

Edited by Okrr2883

I got several but it boils down to whether the tyre shops have the sizes that you need. Dunlop SP Sport 01 has a size in 185/55, and ADrive Yokohama is available in 175/65. I think it's better if you ask your tyre shops for availability and not limit yourself to any particular brand of tyres....if they dont then probably you have to indent. Hope you still have tread left in your tyres for safety reasons!

A good tyre in this tyre size I have personally seen - Advan Neova AD07 175/60R14 (if I remember correctly), seen on a Hyundai Getz!

Edited by Nauticar

Never heard of such a thing b4. Can Url the article u talking about?

Yup, try a 500 or a Panda... 14 inch, can take corners and 140kmh like nobody's biz! Hhehehe...

A friend did this. He bought a vios which came with stock 14". So, he upsized to 15" with similar width (I think). And, he deliberately chose heavier 15" sport rims, so as to add on to the vehicle weight cos' the vios weighs about 900kg. Thus, the additional weight of the sport rims help to keep the vehicle down at high speed.

I'm not sure what toyota sedan u r driving. Its best that u r more specific cos' even an altezza is a toyota sedan. [sweatdrop] Generally, if ur rims are heavier, it does have an effect at upgrading vehicle stability at high speed.

the heavier rims/tyre's weight are just going into the unsprung weight....does nothing to the stability of a car but does everything to retard the reponsiveness of the suspension to uneven road surfaces...

[:|]

if going by your friend's logic...lotus elise will need huge heavy tractor rims/tyres to improve stability liao... [sweatdrop]

My friend tried it. I not trying to promote hearsay. Its just what a friend told me. He tried it himself. Fc went up. He went up kl with 14" before. Then he went for 15".

But, some people dun think so. I also found it surprising. Since it came from a friend who used to cheong car, I suppose he didn't just any smoke.

Ehh.... it all depends on ur setup. btw, FR is rwd. Unless u talking about MR vs FR or FR vs RR. Generally, fr cars suppose to fishtail a lot (aka drift). Whether can cheong corner good or not, still depends on driver.

I'm sorry if my reply came across as sarcastic but the truth to the matter is..if you want to use weight to increase ur high speed stability, you should be loading your boot, cabin rather than the suspension/wheels...of cos at the expense of Fc and power drain...

Hi bros,

I was reading an article on sgcarmart which mentioned tht 14" rims are unsafe to travel above 120.

This is worrying me as i do travel above 120 on a pretty regular basis and I'm on 14".

Please advise. Cheers!

Your tyre should have a rating on the max speed that the wheel can take, like what it is shown here. So if your tyre rating is "Q", then the max speed would be 160km/h or there about. I'm not sure if the size of the rim is a reliable gauge, but as for me, I refer to the tyre rating instead.

Q = up to 100 mph or 160 km/h

T = up to 118 mph or 190 km/h

H = up to 131 mph or 210 km/h

V = up to 150 mph or 240 km/h

W = up to 167 mph or 270 km/h

Y = up to 186 mph or 300 km/h

My car (Honda Civic ESI) tyres has a rating 175/70R13 82S... what does that mean? Yeah my rims are small... and when doing corners, I tend to drive slowly as I feel like flying to the side when do it fast (ard 60km/h)

As such, I tend to drool when I see old Civics with nice 15" sporty rims...

i don't think its just rim size. its suspension and chassis setup and balance. F1 cars use 13 rims only