Diamond2006 1st Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 Hi, Recently, I notice I have this problem. Initially thought the sound is caused by tires in MCP, or from other vehicles... Everytime I started up my car from cold engine and starts to move off, I noticed there is sound : eeee sound when I apply or release brake pedal. But the funny part is that this happens when engine cold(morning) in the first two minutes after moving off...after which no sound liao Does anyone have any similar encounter b4? Any advise...should i bring to TCm for a check? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 my car also got this problem ... mech say 'normal' for my ride wor ...... so LL live with it lor until time to change brake pads then see whether true or not lah ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 16, 2008 Author Share May 16, 2008 To you :is it the first few minutes after starting off?? Abit concern for me, as i intended to go north in a month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 If you are darn sure that the pads are not worn out, it could be caused by the brake dust... Try using a high pressure air blower to blow off the brake dust. It works for me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 BLOW at the correct spot..yah... Else, it will start ejeculating on you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 16, 2008 Author Share May 16, 2008 can damm sure the pad are ok...<9 months... if it is really due to dust...then I feel safe liao.. Because the sound comein after I went for 10k servicing... Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 seems so. cold start only. Once run in & warmed up, didn't notice it anymore. again, could be brake dust. As long as you can see that your pads are not worn out and there's no visible circular scratch marks on your rotor, there's no need to worry too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valtino Neutral Newbie May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 i dont think its the brakes pedal since its in the morning when the car is cold. It might be a loose fan belt or timing belt which is giving the sound even my car sounds the same till 2 - 3 mins later while driving off and it goes silent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 its not a matter of age of the pads. If you use your brakes a lot, it could grind down rather quickly. Best is take a look at the pads themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 TS mentioned "....eeee sound when I apply or release brake pedal...". How is fan belt related to braking ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 16, 2008 Author Share May 16, 2008 Confirmed is the braking....the sound is constant with my leg action Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 16, 2008 Author Share May 16, 2008 Yes...no circular scratch mark on the disc...maybe I bring to TCM for the dust blowing session. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 Try checking the rear pads, ie the pad behind the disc rotor. Visual inspection of the brake pads with the wheels on cannot reveal the condition of the pads behind the rotors as it's blocked from view. Remove the wheels & take a look. Some cars are known to have higher wear rate for the rear pads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 my mech said common for contis...dunnoe whether urs conti as well or not though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 could even be the discs themselves. look at your discs. are they worn down till there is a deep depression? the edges of the disc could be scratching against your pads or callipers as the angle of grip has been slightly altered as a result of the worn out discs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 (edited) I also have that sound.. but all the while i though its the aircon... If i move off after i start my engine, with my aircon on, the sound will appear when i depress my brake. If I move off without my aircon on, there's no sound.. hmm. Edited May 16, 2008 by Nazaki Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 (edited) If you need to use high pressure airgun and you stay ard Simei, you can come my factory use. I always use it to clean the engine bay, brakes, mats and inflate my tyres. Edited May 16, 2008 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 17, 2008 Author Share May 17, 2008 thanks for the offer. Will let you know if I drop by Simei ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...