New SUV gets impounded for smuggling ciggies

Apollo

Small fish let the authorities catch while the big fish swim pass.

This could be a scape goat case....or whatever, i wont know.

Ur right bro behind him was a real want ..got info from some one he got caught in between then the big fish pass juz right behind him freely....Poor little chap..

hope this idiot is not using his own SUV.... Nowadays, the custom is so strict that even 6 stick of cigarette is chargeble, my friend was fine for $200 for bringing in 6 stick of Malaysian cigarette (bought liao cannot finish).... he was told that there was a big sign board stated clearly no duty free cig and alcohol alrd.... [dead][dead][dead]

I thou the customs would just ask the person to pay tax, something like S$7 to S$8 per pack of 20 sticks?

under the sound board is hardly a secret enclosure. i kena checked spare tyre area two to three times so far. [;)]

could be a tipoff nonetheless.. but the kastams folks already know most of the tricks of the trade la. [sly]

You kena normal checking lah.... I get pulled into their checking bay..... asked officer and he said its a routine random checking. Two of them went through everything from engine compartment to boot, feel under gloove compartment, under steering, peep under wheel arch, etc....

Then asked me if got ciggies, I said yes and pulled out the opened pack from my pocket. Then ask got anymore, I said yes and showed them my Sgp pack in my bag. Then he said that I am allowed only one opened pack which has less than 20 sticks inside.....

After that, signed into their log book that my car was checked and off I go..... [rolleyes]

hope this idiot is not using his own SUV.... Nowadays, the custom is so strict that even 6 stick of cigarette is chargeble, my friend was fine for $200 for bringing in 6 stick of Malaysian cigarette (bought liao cannot finish).... he was told that there was a big sign board stated clearly no duty free cig and alcohol alrd.... [dead][dead][dead]

I thou the customs would just ask the person to pay tax, something like S$7 to S$8 per pack of 20 sticks?

Yes, so far, whenever i bring in 1 open pkt, no problem also, but there was 1 time i was warn and my name and particular was recorded as warning record. The officer tell me that not even 1 stick is allowed...

as for fine rates, my friend also challenge that he should be charged for 6 stick only....he challenged the officer to put the amount of cigaratte on the receipt but the officer simoly put 1 pkt of cigarette.... haiz.... what to do??

you need to declare, consumed or new cig at custom office before you enter the green lane..

if it's consumed, they'll tell you they wouldn't tax you as it's consumed.

but if it's new pack, they'll tax you if not mistaken should be $7.50 /w gst..

if you caught not declared for it, $200 fine.

1 stick also $200, 19 stick also $200

but even if you declared and caught outside that buildig, $500 fine!!!

declare need to get taxed? i always 19 stick style leh.

he sopig....suit will get attention lah...silly custom are trained to spot unusual behavior! [lipsrsealed] Suit in hot sillypore road driving SUV [thumbsdown][hur] , no brain..

unless arrival from airport ..........which is more common [rifle]

Smugglers also getting smarter these days ...

Thought they wear swee swee won't kena ...

[rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

you need to declare, consumed or new cig at custom office before you enter the green lane..

Heng I dun smoke.

declare need to get taxed? i always 19 stick style leh.

Make sure you got your lighter as well.

They will sometime ask to see your lighter [;)]