Karebu 1st Gear May 14, 2008 Share May 14, 2008 only good from 3am to 3pm for me.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 it depends on the numbers using during the time i would say. less people use, then faster lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 LoL..wait for next PC show then i'm switching over to Singtel.. i've been on SH for the past 5-6yrs..last time use SH because of the high dl bandwidth(that time singtel offer 256kbps, SH offer 1mbps).. But now, SIngtel 10mbps is offering abt the same price as SH 8mbps..time to jump lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 What would be good is the authority makes the service provider reports on the mean speed at peak and non-peak hours. These type of data is more meaningful than "up to XXXGbps" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_pee Neutral Newbie May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 (edited) My internet conn sux... (stayin in Jurong West) Esp around 8.30 till 2am.... dun noe how cum.. Im using stukhup... cannot load yuutubbeee video oso... Edited May 15, 2008 by Mr_pee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 (edited) Notice the words "Up To XXGbps"? Did they promise u constant speed? What is a point of putting "up to XX Gbps" if most of the time it is not? Isn't it a form of mis-representation under the consumer Act ? you work for starhub, don't u ? Edited May 15, 2008 by Lv3338 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krazykar Neutral Newbie May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 But Starhub doesnt use ADSL rite? Cable Modem is not plugged through the phone line so cant be ADSL i think. I may be wrong tho, obviously not as tech savvy as u guys! Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krazykar Neutral Newbie May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 I did the opposite tho! From Singtel to Starhub. And eventhough starhub has its downsides, i feel it's still better than Singtel in terms of reliability and service. The only reason i got Singtel in the first place was because they were giving away free ipods! Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 today i received my Singnet modem and activation, speed for 3Mbps is faster than my MOL 8Mbps...much much faster once your contract ends, switch !!! Quote Only last nite i log in to internet using my MOL. Speed is really slow. I thot is my pc prob........ Damn it. MOL service really getting from bad to worst. Too bad still tied down by them, cant change yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 Those are standard protocal for troubleshooting mah... walao ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 My starhub contract ended for quite some time. I am trying to make a decision whether to recontract and get 25% discount (Maxonline Express - now i pay $59), or explore something else. I have used the service for the last 5 or 6 years - generally ok, there was a period of time when it was very slow in the peak hours during weekend. Anyone re-contract recently? Any recommendation of a good wireless N router? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 1:44 PM, Kawan said: My starhub contract ended for quite some time. I am trying to make a decision whether to recontract and get 25% discount (Maxonline Express - now i pay $59), or explore something else. I have used the service for the last 5 or 6 years - generally ok, there was a period of time when it was very slow in the peak hours during weekend. Anyone re-contract recently? Any recommendation of a good wireless N router? Starhub is cable modem, the more people surfing, you'll have to "share" the same pipe (bandwidth) with them. Even if you sign up SingTel cable modem, it's back to square one as they are reselling Starhub cable connection. Unless you get Singtel ADSL, then is it dedicated line. For my case, I prefer Starhub as I work from home most of the time (only go back office for meeting or to submit claims), so during office hours (non peak), I got almost the maximum speed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 (edited) On 5/13/2008 at 11:29 PM, Xtraun said: i left one more month with them going change to singtel. speed is so slow till my singtel 512kps seems to be faster then my 10mbps starhub btw what's the definition of 10mbps? upload speed...do we really able hit that speed? For Starhub, according to lotsa ppl in HWZ forums, 10mbps doesn't really mean 10mbps... It is usually - according to them - more like 500kbps... As for my Singnet BB 8mbps. I've tested it and it really can reach up to 9mbps. And youtube videos (at HQ or HD quality) load instantly without having to wait. Absolutely no lags. Such is the magic of ADSL. No sharing of bandwidth with neighbours! I can host an 8 person online game without anyone lagging. I'm very very impressed with SNBB. Been with them for 3 months after i relieved myself from the shackles of Shithub. Edited May 16, 2009 by Nutsack Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 1:44 PM, Kawan said: My starhub contract ended for quite some time. I am trying to make a decision whether to recontract and get 25% discount (Maxonline Express - now i pay $59), or explore something else. I have used the service for the last 5 or 6 years - generally ok, there was a period of time when it was very slow in the peak hours during weekend. Anyone re-contract recently? Any recommendation of a good wireless N router? PMed u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megatop 3rd Gear May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 Been on Singnet since the dial up times. Very satisfied, no major problems at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceyeo Neutral Newbie May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 On 5/14/2008 at 3:18 AM, Chisiang said: I would also suggest checking if your PC kena infected and is sending out spam without you knowing The last time I called up Singtel to KPKB, then their engineer came down, did a check using his notebook no problem. Then when my PC connects niah never even open outlook or explorer there's already tons of network activities going on. So engineer recommend me to scan my PC. True enough kena infected. My office using Qa*a worst... paid business price but crawl like 28.8 modem. but the help desk lady was really patient and helpful That is odd I use Qa*a at home family 512k ADSL plan and its been smooth for years. Only had to reconnect my router once every 1-2 years (its on 24/7). I do not believe in mainstream broadband service providers really haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 4:40 PM, Vinceyeo said: That is odd I use Qa*a at home family 512k ADSL plan and its been smooth for years. Only had to reconnect my router once every 1-2 years (its on 24/7). I do not believe in mainstream broadband service providers really haha... goooood idea. any promos to recomend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceyeo Neutral Newbie May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 4:52 PM, Amortifiedpenguin said: goooood idea. any promos to recomend? Sorry bro they are more expensive than mainstream providers thats why they are not popular. 512k unlimited (upload cap 256k) is SGD 45 already. Very uncompetitive vs the rest but I like being different as it comes with passive advantages haha... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...