Carbon82 Moderator June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Why you think the centre passenger at 2nd row for 8 seater will have problem? Anything I have missed out? Me too like the clear aisle in the 7 seater model, as not only accessing to all the 3 row are make easier (don't need to fold here and here whenever ferrying 7 pax), it should also improve the cooling efficiency of the aircon, which outlet is all the way in front (no 2nd / 3rd aircon vent). "But hor, June next year is a bit far for me " You sure?? You have already waiting more than 1.5 yrs for the RSZ price to drop!! ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Engine capacity only 1.5l. How to haul 7 pax? If a 800cc cheena car can move 5 person...y not a 1.5L jap car for 7 pax? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twinrongs Neutral Newbie June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 (edited) After looking at the pictures, I just wonder why the designers need to put such a big chunk of glove compartment infront of the front passenger . Is it part of the engine compartment? Looks like it is sloping down straight and there is no air-well that the passenger can slot his/her feet into like stream or normal any car. So tendency is for the person to push the seat very backward, thereby depriving those at the back some leg room. It is akin to sitting infront of a desk in office whereby alot of things clutter under the table and I could not put my legs under, very uncomfortable. Machiam no sense of security. Do you find it a problem while checking the car out? Other than that I am very impressed by the car. Would have waited for it if it was announced jan this year. Browsing thru the Honda website http://www.honda.co.jp/FREED/vs-interior/index.html, there is an interactive viewer for Exterior and Interior of FREED. The glove compartment doesn't slope straight down all the way for front passenger. There seems to be some space for the front passenger's feet. 2nd and 3rd row passengers also seems to be able to put their feet underneath the seats in front. But of course need to see the real car to be sure. Overall seems to be a very well packaged car . Very tempting for me to change. Edited June 5, 2008 by Twinrongs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear June 5, 2008 Author Share June 5, 2008 Yah, it has the same problem as my 1st generation Stream. Passenger in front will find the knee space a little lacking. Honda is very smart to have "hide" the issue with shooting angle to their advantage. Wah, like this, sian liao. I hope my wife will not complaint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear June 5, 2008 Author Share June 5, 2008 (edited) From this photo, the seat belt for the passenger is too near to the centre of 2nd row, which I think will make the centre passenger not comfortable. I think Stream also has the similar problem but not as serious. Anyway, if 7 seater, the 2 passengers at 2nd row will be very comfortable Why I said June next year is far for me as I still do not know what is the impact of further COE quota reduction coming next year. Also, my ride some very minor leakage at engine and gear box, not too sure is the mechanic try to smoke me or not. So I think if I continue driving this car, the maintenance wise is getting higher and higher. Edited June 5, 2008 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Photography trick. Notice that very wide angle len are used for the 360 degree interior video? Confirm there are space under the first and 2nd row for the feet, as unlike say City (also bulit on the same Global Small Platform), where the fuel tank are located under the 1st row, this Freed have the fuel tank "hidden" under the raised floor. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear June 5, 2008 Author Share June 5, 2008 BTW, me not so keen on Stream now, but I still possible to buy it. Now is quite cheap, I saw the below from another thread: Promotion (05/06/08): Stream 1.8 RSZ Silver @ $73,800 NETT no hidden cost no top up no gimmicks 5yrs/100,000km warranty interest @ 2.28% Terms and conditions applies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 (edited) I hope my wife will not complaint If you do not show her other car (say Stream) without the glove box directly under the dash, chances is she will not noticed it. BTW, with reference to this picture, the knee space should be reasonable for the average Singaporean, or is your wife >1.8m tall? This one show the knee space of my Stream. And this is for the 2006 2nd generation Stream. Edited June 5, 2008 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 OK, I get your point. Yah, what a unthoughtful design... Actually the 2nd row of Stream is not that perfect too, with the 2 hard plastic support at the centre (for the armrest), passenger will feel uncomfortable if going over long stretch of uneven road (I experienced before on my colleague Stream). I don't believe COE premium will move up a lot with the reduction in quota / vehicle growth rate. I have many reasons to back my "prediction"... If you are serious in changing your ride, just do the min. to upkeep it. Unless a major fault, else maintenance cost should still be managerable. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Promotion (05/06/08): Stream 1.8 RSZ Silver @ $73,800 NETT no hidden cost no top up no gimmicks 5yrs/100,000km warranty interest @ 2.28% Terms and conditions applies Is the price after cash rebate for high interest package (say 3.5% instead of 2.28% as stated)? Actually with my recent visit to PIs, there is another way they are doing to "keep the price down". Interest rate still at 2.5% (on financial record), but they will rebate the diff (from 2.5% to 2.28%) in cash, thus cash back up to $1K+. If not cash rebated price, should be clearing stock, since colour is also specified. Either YOM 2007 or that they (PI) already got the news of facelift model coming (BTW, f/l model expected to be out in Japan from Jul, latest by Nov). 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 BTW, with these 2 photos, seems that head room is equally good. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemonteh Clutched June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Thanks, fr photos, it looks like the floor is flat for 3rd row too .Looks like this car has potential to sell like Wish.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Author Share June 6, 2008 What is the typical knee space for normal sedan? Another solution is let my daughter sit in front as she like it . I hope Freed do not have the similar problem as the Stream whereby the auto-gearbox is too big and limit the movement of the knee for driver . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Author Share June 6, 2008 (edited) Not too sure how true is it, just did a 10k servicing and the WS told me that the engine has some minor leak, so may need to replace something which cost a few hundred. I have spend more than $2k this year alone on maintenance due to quite many parts start failing. But now the car has so many items which are brand new, hope the leak is not a big issue so that I can wait much longer. COE is a mind game, demand is not strong and yet it is at around $15k. Edited June 6, 2008 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Author Share June 6, 2008 Should be clearing stock. So fast facelift liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball2k Neutral Newbie June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Looking at the boot ..... wondering where & how to access spare tyre??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 The front dash board design looks like office table to me. The LCD display resemble that of office laptop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 If they price the 7/8 seater model over 70k range, i think most people will still choose Stream. Comparing the pic with stream, i still prefer stream overall look and design. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...