Showster Twincharged May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 Good analysis of the trend of demand. Generally it's true that for most developments the 1BR will get sold out first. There are several reasons for this. Another thing to consider is the date of TOP. The number of sales can be projected to see if the developer can confidently sell all before CSC. This mode of selling is more rational. Is the preliminary success of Sturdee Residences over? This morning, we examine closely the sales of Sturdee Residences. http://www.theedgeproperty.com.sg/content/sturdee-residences-officially-launch-slightly-higher-prices On 29 Apr, an article on the Edge property website reported a 40% uptake during a VIP preview launch of Sturdee residences. This represents 122 units sold out of a total of 305 units. Looking through the information available on Edge property website and the official Sturdee Residences website, the sales statistics (as at 12 May) now stands at 54.4% sold. Another 14.4% uptake within 2 weeks. All seems well. But is it? Sturdee Statistics as at 12 May.jpg Here is a look at the breakdown of sales in terms of unit size: Sturdee Residences - breakdown in sales in unit size.jpg Close to half of the sales (47.5%) are generated through the sales of 1-bedders, followed by 2-bedders (34.5%), making up 82% of total sales so far. Here's the problem. Much of Sturdee Residences sales are generated through the sales of 1- and 2-bedders. With the smaller units almost fully sold (i.e. 9 1-bedders unsold, representing 3% of total no. of units, and 49 2-bedders unsold, representing 16% of total no. of units), the developer has to start moving the less popular bigger-sized units (108 3-bedders and above unsold - representing 35.4% of total no. of units) to continue its sales momentum, else its success simply comes to a halt, like many other developments (Case in point: Alex residences, as illustrated in my earlier post in the thread "New Bargains to be had"). Over the course of this weekend, more sales can be expected, thus I might be proven wrong, but history has a strong tendency to repeat itself. Watch this space, for another update on Sturdee Residences from yours truly in the near future. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tenyawph Turbocharged May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 Good analysis of the trend of demand. Generally it's true that for most developments the 1BR will get sold out first. There are several reasons for this. Another thing to consider is the date of TOP. The number of sales can be projected to see if the developer can confidently sell all before CSC. This mode of selling is more rational. Hi. Can you project the number of sales for Alex residences for the next 2 years? Thank you. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 (edited) Hi. Can you project the number of sales for Alex residences for the next 2 years? Thank you.If based on current trend it should sell another 5%. When TOP or near maybe another 10-15%. Left 25% will be either slowly sell mode, or dependent on the mega environment. The whole sales that Alex achieved in 2.5years is equivalent to that achieved by Sturdee in a matter of weeks. Nonetheless, it is very unlikely to sell out the huge quantum large units as you described. The reason for what we are observing now is not lack of willingness to buy, but lack of ability to buy. Taken together, ability plus willingness equates demand. Edited May 14, 2016 by Showster 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 You can see that bigger units buyers tend to be for self stay, esp more than 3 bedrooms cos in the market, very difficult to rent 4 bedders out as the pool of tenants are limited. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie26 Hypersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 While it is generally true that 1 Br units tend to get sold out first, way before penthouses (always the last to go) times have changed, The property investment climate and strategies have changed based on all the reasons that have been discussed previously in this thread. In good times, all the 1 Br/studios will be sold out before or on launch day. Usually no chance if you do not prebook or go for ballot. But now, a no of new developments which are near MRT still have 1 Br units left (Poiz, Sturdee etc) eventhough quantum is still very small, 600k The reason is that the appetite for this has dropped and competition for 1 Br is and will be very stiff for rentals compared to a decent size 2 Br. The big quantum units outside CCR always hard and the last to clear whether in good or bad times Good analysis of the trend of demand. Generally it's true that for most developments the 1BR will get sold out first. There are several reasons for this.Another thing to consider is the date of TOP. The number of sales can be projected to see if the developer can confidently sell all before CSC.This mode of selling is more rational. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 While it is generally true that 1 Br units tend to get sold out first, way before penthouses (always the last to go) times have changed, The property investment climate and strategies have changed based on all the reasons that have been discussed previously in this thread. In good times, all the 1 Br/studios will be sold out before or on launch day. Usually no chance if you do not prebook or go for ballot. But now, a no of new developments which are near MRT still have 1 Br units left (Poiz, Sturdee etc) eventhough quantum is still very small, 600k The reason is that the appetite for this has dropped and competition for 1 Br is and will be very stiff for rentals compared to a decent size 2 Br. The big quantum units outside CCR always hard and the last to clear whether in good or bad times Primarily is the impact of ABSD. 1st property 0%, 2nd 7%, 3rd onwards 10%. Therefore for 1st and 2nd property buyers may tend to buy the biggest they can afford before considering 1BR from the 3rd. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 *yawn* Any news, folks? Just back from a spin on my motorbike... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 *yawn* Any news, folks? Just back from a spin on my motorbike... Looks like we are far richer than Hong Kong and not as affected by Chinese slowdown. Hong Kong Property Market in 'Free Fall': Hayman's Bass http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-05-11/hayman-s-bass-says-hong-kong-property-market-is-in-free-fall 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 SG already fell quite some distance from 2013. If the Govt garang followed HK from 2013-2016, we will definitely have a pronounced fall now. Looks like we are far richer than Hong Kong and not as affected by Chinese slowdown.Hong Kong Property Market in 'Free Fall': Hayman's Basshttp://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-05-11/hayman-s-bass-says-hong-kong-property-market-is-in-free-fall 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 Looks like we are far richer than Hong Kong and not as affected by Chinese slowdown. Hong Kong Property Market in 'Free Fall': Hayman's Bass http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-05-11/hayman-s-bass-says-hong-kong-property-market-is-in-free-fall HongKong is a country with higher market volatility compared to Singapore. Hongkongers are higher risk takers So can lose more But can also make more. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 (edited) bro, be careful not to over train until like this hor No worries this will never happen to @Porker. He is more a one hand man. Edited May 14, 2016 by Jamesc 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 No worries this will never happen to @Porker. He is more a one hand man. I'm ambidextrous 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 We are well aware of your flexibility and duality. :) I'm ambidextrous 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 (edited) I'm ambidextrous Is that why @Turboflat4 always has a smile when he's with you? Edited May 15, 2016 by Sabian 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Things maybe turning around soon... Nowadays , my generation and younger ones are internet savvy. Agents may have to get prepare for lower earnings. https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/3-solid-reasons-why-may-010438299.html i go view 700sqft 2br mickey mouse condo, no dignity to talk to property agent Top property agents earn 66% more than average Singaporean 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 We are listed as one of the highest public debt country in the world. There is a danger of trigger down effects on our currency in longer term. Hence, this may affect property value and increase of repayment of interest. So far rating agencies still put us with high hopes. To me, it is something to concern about for longer term. Public debt as percentage of GDP: 97.77% http://www.msn.com/en-sg/money/finance/the-20-countries-with-the-most-public-debt/ss-BBsYuLl?ocid=mailsignoutmd#image=2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 (edited) 10,000,000 .... huat ah! highlighted town for T2 ... CCK ... no $1M no sell ... Edited May 16, 2016 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Wah, CCK ho say liao! I am going to be a millionaire! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...