Private property prices... Up or Down?

Kelfinity

Nothing in particular, just that u had bingo all my consideration factors  :D

Guess u must be one of the last night 7m Toto winner also  [laugh]

No lah. Just put myself in your shoes.  

I wish I was but then it won't happen. Never bought Toto/ 4D/ SG Sweep in my life.

Agree with you completely but it comes with a price. My our personal experience, I did exactly what you did that it because it was for my own stay I prioritized all the convenience from child-care, school and work. Little that I know, I forgot to factor in capital appreciation. The property I am staying in, in today's dollar term has just broke even with the buying price. If I had bought another property where I thought was too inconvenient, literally appreciated 2 1/2 times the buying price. On the hindsight, it is easy to rationalised. But the point is, don't just look into the immediate but also plan for possible future. Hope it is useful information so that you will gain from my mistake.

It's ok. Mine is BTO. Minimal missed opportunity. 

Saving up to buy something that i can really enjoy. 

http://business.asiaone.com/news/fcl-launches-new-executive-condo-sembawang

FCL launches new executive condo in Sembawang

Apr 14, 2016

DESPITE upcoming supply, Frasers Centrepoint Limited (FCL) is not concerned about the executive condominium (EC) market, proceeding with the launch of its latest project, Parc Life, at an average price of S$770 to S$800 per square foot (psf).

"We believe there is healthy demand from HDB homeowners who have achieved the minimum occupation period (MOP) and are looking to re-invest or upgrade," said Cheang Kok Kheong, chief executive officer of development and property at FCL.

Mr Cheang added ECs are also appealing to the first-time buyers, especially young couples who are setting up their first home, because of their potential for capital appreciation after the five-year MOP.

Woodlands very congested liao ... so, looks like Sembawang is the next place to stay for those want to stay in the north ...

And the upcoming MRT station will serve the area well ...

That's what a typical agent will tell you " never consider when is the good or bad time ".

Heard this pitch until sian liao. Agents will only tell you the good things so the unwritten rule is trust your own judgements more than what agents say.

Nothing in particular, just that u had bingo all my consideration factors  :D

Guess u must be one of the last night 7m Toto winner also  [laugh]

future neighbour!  i stay in imh nearby your condo 

need to get used to flying air force jets, fire engines and ambulances

quite a noisy location

Edited by Enye

99% sold for city Gate for the 311 residential units

This is really excellent sales as it was launched with all the cooling measures in place.

Mixed devept in a decent location with small quantum for the small units

Many can shout and scream but with this kind of sales, how to expect govt to remove cooling measures??

The Mickey mouse units (MM) still selling decently everywhere bec of quantum

People used to criticise these inhuman MMs for their inhumane space, though rentals have fallen, occupancy rates still decent 

in central locations or near MRT. Holding costs also low. 

The big challenge will come when all the OCR MMs are at full capacity, competition for tenants will be very intense and these will have to compete with surrounding bigger HDB flats

I will not be surprised prices start creeping up without withdrawal of any of the cooling measures. Cooling measures may become permanent and for all you may know additional cooling measures may need to be introduced later. There is a lot of wealth in Singapore and with new supply being reduced, the market can  become buoyant again, just based on the accumulating wealth of new entrants in the market, not affected too much by the cooling measures.

Edited by Nav14

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2016/4/122800/new-condo-to-launch-in-toa-payoh-after-seven-years

New condo to launch in Toa Payoh after seven years

April 15, 2016

Gem Residences, the first private condominium to launch in Toa Payoh since 2009, will hit the market at the end of May 2016.

Jointly developed by Evia Real Estate, Gamuda Berhad and Maxdin, the project sits on 130,832 sq ft of land and contains 578 apartments across two towers. Unit sizes range from 452 sq ft for a one-bedroom unit to 2,045 sq ft for a six-bedroom penthouse.

The consortium was the highest bidder among 13 others for the hotly contested site back in June 2015, with an offer of $345.86 million ($755 psf).

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/cheung-kong-property-eyeing-gls-sites

Cheung Kong Property eyeing GLS sites

APR 15, 2016

Its 8th Singapore project, Stars of Kovan, is set to begin sales in May at an average price of S$1,550-1,600 psf

CHEUNG Kong Property Holdings Limited, which is slated to commence sales for its eighth residential project in Singapore next month, is keen to clinch more sites under the Government Land Sales (GLS) programme - be it commercial, residential, or mixed-use sites.

On the group's bidding patterns in Singapore, Mr Chiu said Cheung Kong Property does not seek to time the market. Instead, it takes on a long-term view and "look at each piece of land on its own merit".

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/successful-launches-lead-to-jump-in-developer-sales-in-march

Successful launches lead to jump in developer sales in March

APR 15, 2016

SUCCESSFUL launches of several condominium projects in March lent boost to new home sales done by developers in Singapore.

In all, developers sold 843 private homes in March, more than double the 303 units sold in the traditionally lull month of February.

Some 682 units were launched, more than three times the number of units launched in February.

These figures exclude executive condominiums (ECs), which are a public-private housing hybrid.

Inclusive of ECs, developers sold 1,328 units in March, more than thrice what was sold in February. Some 1,216 units including ECs were launched, compared to just 209 in the preceding month.

Sold double the previous month becos launch more than three times the previous month.

Er.....ok

Dong dong qiang!

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2016/4/122831/new-private-home-sales-highest-in-8-months

New private home sales highest in 8 months

April 15, 2016

Property developers sold 843 private housing units, excluding executive condominiums (ECs), in March 2016, according to new data released by the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

This represents a 178 percent jump from the 303 units sold in the previous month. Year-on-year, sales increased by 37.5 percent.

OrangeTee said this is the highest tally of monthly developer sales since July last year, when 1,655 units were moved.

"Notwitstanding, consistent with what we see on the ground, there are more buyers returning to the market. Most of these buyers look for developments at choice locations at relatively lower quantums,” noted the consultancy.

OrangeTee explained that there has been an accumulation of pent-up demand from buyers who have adopted a wait-and-see attitude due to the property cooling measures.

Looking ahead, OrangeTee said three new projects will be launched in April and May, namely Sturdee Residences (305 units), Stars of Kovan (395 units) and Gem Residences (578 units).

With housing market uncertainty, inevitable rising interest rate, economy slowing down, increasing number of people out of jobs, unless buyers are for own stay, who are these people who are buying.

I am really very curious.

I suspect many in this group had not had the pleasure of seeing their property going for less than 1/2 price.

Could it be that they are getting the wrong signals from news media that paints a stable situation or because we see so many upmarket venues and still people buying / spending on big ticket items that we feel nothing will be as bad as the previous financial crisis.

I suspect some at least who took the plunge and commit to buying a property now may not know what "dying" feels like.

Edited by Still2016

Every man dies. Not every man really lives. Braveheart.

There are strong defensive reasons for their choices. How else can it sustain after so many rounds of direct or indirect CMs.

With housing market uncertainty, inevitable rising interest rate, economy slowing down, increasing number of people out of jobs, unless buyers are for own stay, who are these people who are buying.

I suspect many in this group had not had the pleasure of seeing their property going for less than 1/2 price.

Could it be that they are getting the wrong signals from news media that paints a stable situation or because we see so many upmarket venues and still people buying / spending on big ticket items that we feel nothing will be as bad as the previous financial crisis.

I suspect some at least who took the plunge and commit to buying a property now may not know what "dying" feels like.

Edited by Showster

People buy for various reasons whether own stay or for investment or simply parking their cash

The smart investors are already out of the market since 2011 and doing other forms of investments

As mentioned previously, the cooling measures actually help to stabilise the market with fewer weak investors and those who

overleverage, essentially the speculative fever we saw in the run up of prices in 2006 has been taken out.

In the current market, even with uncertain conditions and higher risk of downward drift of prices, many are still buying for their own stay, though much less than a few years ago. In some sectors, there are already sporadic increased foreign interests.

Some dramatic things need to happen to scare people totally off the market

In Spore, property is still the most alluring investment in the long term as long as you do your calculation right and are able to finance the loans and hold.

As most of the short term speculators are currently out, market is likely to remain stable if current conditions don't fluctuate too much. 

Heard launching <1500pfs in early May and people anticipate a good response

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2016/4/122800/new-condo-to-launch-in-toa-payoh-after-seven-years
New condo to launch in Toa Payoh after seven years
April 15, 2016

Gem Residences, the first private condominium to launch in Toa Payoh since 2009, will hit the market at the end of May 2016.

Jointly developed by Evia Real Estate, Gamuda Berhad and Maxdin, the project sits on 130,832 sq ft of land and contains 578 apartments across two towers. Unit sizes range from 452 sq ft for a one-bedroom unit to 2,045 sq ft for a six-bedroom penthouse.

The consortium was the highest bidder among 13 others for the hotly contested site back in June 2015, with an offer of $345.86 million ($755 psf).

• Praise 10

If property falls below half price .... many will go bankrupt keke. Dont worry. It will also affect the gov , they wont let it happen. Unless .. unless there is earthquake in sg kekeke

• Praise 10

govt wont let it happen?

wah sg govt really can move mountain? hehe

but i somewhat agree with you that sg govt invisible hand is sibei tok kong

absd, ltv, tdsr, land sale, release and hold back project, etc

they got plenty of bug guns to play

Many have been screaming for prices to fall, but how come the falling process is also so painful, so slow, so torturing?!

Like the durian getting suspended in mid air and we still cannot reach and grab

The reason is that this relative fall is an artificially created one, bec of all the measures that have been introduced

If not for our govt kind intervention, ppty prices would have shot thru the roof

Looking at it the other way, the liquidity, the holding power, the yearning, the demand for properties are very strong such that despite all the intervention and economic slowdown

the fall does not look like a fall at all.

If there are no such measures in place at present and the market is slow as what it is now, then a certain fear of raising interest rate and economic slowdown would have created a greater fall.

govt wont let it happen?
wah sg govt really can move mountain? hehe
but i somewhat agree with you that sg govt invisible hand is sibei tok kong
absd, ltv, tdsr, land sale, release and hold back project, etc
they got plenty of bug guns to play