Showster Twincharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 JLD has lost steam liao, Lake Grande still got plenty of units unsold and those who bought J Gateway stuck with only rental market to look at. I think those buying 99yr condos near HDB for "investment" better be careful. I would rather look at the underpriced HDB flats near HDB condos than focus on HDB condos itself if buying for own stay cum investment.Quite a good place to be stuck at the moment. One BR rented from 2500 to 2900, probably bought for 700 to 800k. Two BR at 3200. January caveats. Need to monitor Feb onwards. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LPPL 6th Gear March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Quite a good place to be stuck at the moment. One BR rented from 2500 to 2900, probably bought for 700 to 800k. Two BR at 3200. January caveats. Need to monitor Feb onwards. Seriously for 700k, I can buy 5 freehold condos in thailand and rent for SGD1k plus a month each if you really want to talk about rental investment. In Singapore, the way to make money is about cap gain, coz yield is considered quite pathetic compared to neighboring countries. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 (edited) If you have thick wad of cash to pay all 700K (ask the 700K man in MCF), it may make slightly more sense to buy FH condos (all 5 of them) in Thailand if you can find good locations. But do note if you are planning to take loan, the normal interest rate over there is 6.5 to 7%, allowing you to borrow till 60 years old. If you are 35 years old obtaining a 25-year mortgage for 80% loan for all 5 condos based on 6.5% interest rate, the amount to service is $3781 per month, as compared to a single condo purchase in SG with loan of 80% at current 2% interest rate, at $2374 per month. Rent-wise, you need to ensure that you collect more than $3,000 per month to cover only interests for the first few months. Not including the pain of distance managing of 5 separate groups of tenants (definitely a full time job already). And then there are other political risks as well as real risk of flooding inundating your properties, at least a few out of your 5. Seriously for 700k, I can buy 5 freehold condos in thailand and rent for SGD1k plus a month each if you really want to talk about rental investment. In Singapore, the way to make money is about cap gain, coz yield is considered quite pathetic compared to neighboring countries. Edited March 7, 2017 by Showster 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Seriously for 700k, I can buy 5 freehold condos in thailand and rent for SGD1k plus a month each if you really want to talk about rental investment. In Singapore, the way to make money is about cap gain, coz yield is considered quite pathetic compared to neighboring countries.Just to add, u cannot use CPF to pay for the freehold condos in Thailand. Not saying everyone is using CPF in sg but I reckon a good number would be using that to finance their houses. Pay house using CPF and get cashback from rental in real cash. Not a bad deal? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Just to add, u cannot use CPF to pay for the freehold condos in Thailand. Not saying everyone is using CPF in sg but I reckon a good number would be using that to finance their houses. Pay house using CPF and get cashback from rental in real cash. Not a bad deal? Exactly! Use the cash back to invest for higher than 3% gains or to get that Rolex you have been waiting for. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LPPL 6th Gear March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 (edited) If you have thick wad of cash to pay all 700K (ask the 700K man in MCF), it may make slightly more sense to buy FH condos (all 5 of them) in Thailand if you can find good locations. But do note if you are planning to take loan, the normal interest rate over there is 6.5 to 7%, allowing you to borrow till 60 years old. If you are 35 years old obtaining a 25-year mortgage for 80% loan for all 5 condos based on 6.5% interest rate, the amount to service is $3781 per month, as compared to a single condo purchase in SG with loan of 80% at current 2% interest rate, at $2374 per month. Rent-wise, you need to ensure that you collect more than $3,000 per month to cover only interests for the first few months. Not including the pain of distance managing of 5 separate groups of tenants (definitely a full time job already). And then there are other political risks as well as real risk of flooding inundating your properties, at least a few out of your 5. Overseas property is not for the faint hearted and a lot of homework needs to be done, including going down to the physical site to see. It is true that CPF can't be utilised for overseas purchases and interest tends to be higher, but for investors thinking of parking cash somewhere, the overseas market is a more viable option in the long run. For the Singapore market, I would only encourage anyone to buy if they are certain of achieving a decent cap gain, otherwise don't just look at rental alone. Edited March 7, 2017 by LPPL 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Overseas property is not for the faint hearted and a lot of homework needs to be done, including going down to the physical site to see. It is true that CPF can't be utilised for overseas purchases and interest tends to be higher, but for investors thinking of parking cash somewhere, the overseas market is a more viable option in the long run. For the Singapore market, I would only encourage anyone to buy if they are certain of achieving a decent cap gain, otherwise don't just look at rental alone.Blue chip versus red chip analogy. If can avoid ABSD the choice is very obvious. If have to pay 10% then consider foreign properties. I would give a buffer of 70% capital protection as the maximum risk to be taken. Anything that has a chance to lose 30% is not my cup of tea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Fed is likely to raise interest rate in march. Can't wait for that to happen. I am Glad I did not buy early this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Mark this page 500. We will come back at the end of 2017 to conclude. Good luck bro. Fed is likely to raise interest rate in march. Can't wait for that to happen. I am Glad I did not buy early this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 I think this project will not just be hot, may be smoking hot! But yeah, current market ... reasonable psf, the key to success. After all the JLD hype, this could be the next up and coming? https://www.ura.gov.sg/skyline/skyline08/skyline08-03/text/08.htm Paya Lebar Central: Bustling Commercial Hub Brimming With Activity And Culture We'll see ... stay tuned! I believe the next in-thing will be the eastern side liao ... Paya Lebar, Siglap :) This year will have 3 good ones, Grandeur, Seaside and this .... And with the paya Lebar airbase going off soon, there is much potential in the low-rise condo in Telok Kurau and Siglap areas to enbloc and build higher condos .... much potential awaiting ... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LPPL 6th Gear March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 I believe the next in-thing will be the eastern side liao ... Paya Lebar, Siglap :) This year will have 3 good ones, Grandeur, Seaside and this .... And with the paya Lebar airbase going off soon, there is much potential in the low-rise condo in Telok Kurau and Siglap areas to enbloc and build higher condos .... much potential awaiting ... I personally like telok kurau but for some reason, the prices there quite stagnant, perhaps due to low transaction volumes. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tenyawph Turbocharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 I believe the next in-thing will be the eastern side liao ... Paya Lebar, Siglap :) This year will have 3 good ones, Grandeur, Seaside and this .... And with the paya Lebar airbase going off soon, there is much potential in the low-rise condo in Telok Kurau and Siglap areas to enbloc and build higher condos .... much potential awaiting ... The time frame for this relocation of the airbase is is too far off, currently the government's plan is to do it from 2030 onwards, provided there are no delays to the URA master plans. The area around Keppel will be developed first (port lease ends 2027 and Keppel ports relocate to Tuas area), followed by Paya Lebar airbase later. The best recovery in the private properties will be in the central core region first, having fallen very much compared to the rest of Singapore. I believe the government have no choice but to release the floodgates for foreigners to come in again in large numbers, its hand being forced by the fact that our population is aging fast (labour shortage). But if nothing is done to arrest this, we are going to suffer the same fate like Japan, decades of stagnant growth. There is nothing as straight foward as growing the economy through population growth. I mean, how long can you extend the retirement age? Iskandar will probably be our next choice of a home, in 40 years' time, when we run out of liveable space, unless we look into building an underground 'city'. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 JLD has lost steam liao, Lake Grande still got plenty of units unsold and those who bought J Gateway stuck with only rental market to look at. I think those buying 99yr condos near HDB for "investment" better be careful. I would rather look at the underpriced HDB flats near HDB condos than focus on HDB condos itself if buying for own stay cum investment.Yeah, last time Jurong just few hundred psf, with the JLD news out, prices skyrocket to around 2k psf high, crazy price imho.Last check Lake Grande total 710 units, already 559 sold, balance 151, still doing alright? With CMs still in effect, no surprise that those who bought J Gateway stuck with only rental for now. But what we are seeing now is still early talk, when HSR ready and the whole area up and running to it's full potential, may well paint a very different picture. HDB for own stay definitely, but as investment? Once sold stay where, still need to buy again. For investment, look for resale underpriced private, load and park. Those who've bought million dollar HDB units, I'll be waiting to see what's gonna be the upside in future 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 (edited) I believe the next in-thing will be the eastern side liao ... Paya Lebar, Siglap :) This year will have 3 good ones, Grandeur, Seaside and this .... And with the paya Lebar airbase going off soon, there is much potential in the low-rise condo in Telok Kurau and Siglap areas to enbloc and build higher condos .... much potential awaiting ... Compared to JLD, Paya Lebar nearer to CBD, Marina Bay, East Coast Park, Airport, many nice eatries along Katong, Siglap, Joo Chiat etc ... the list goes on.And not to forget colourful Geylang, can go there ................ jiak durian lah! And yes, once airbase out, enbloc potential for low-rise around the area, For SG, we all know the only way is ... up up and away! Much potential, definitely. But still too early to call, need to adopt a LONG TERM view for this. As always, huge profits only favour those who know to think a few steps ahead Edited March 7, 2017 by Mercs 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 The time frame for this relocation of the airbase is is too far off, currently the government's plan is to do it from 2030 onwards, provided there are no delays to the URA master plans. The area around Keppel will be developed first (port lease ends 2027 and Keppel ports relocate to Tuas area), followed by Paya Lebar airbase later. The best recovery in the private properties will be in the central core region first, having fallen very much compared to the rest of Singapore. I believe the government have no choice but to release the floodgates for foreigners to come in again in large numbers, its hand being forced by the fact that our population is aging fast (labour shortage). But if nothing is done to arrest this, we are going to suffer the same fate like Japan, decades of stagnant growth. There is nothing as straight foward as growing the economy through population growth. I mean, how long can you extend the retirement age? Iskandar will probably be our next choice of a home, in 40 years' time, when we run out of liveable space, unless we look into building an underground 'city'. Agree that our population is aging fast. The opening of floodgates to meet labour demand was meant as a stopgap measure and is not sustainable to long term growth. Much is currently underway to strengthen the Singapore core. Look at just the measure today, to allow young couples to get their flats early and also more subsidies for their first resale flat. Plus unpaid childcare leave of a month for civil servants. These are just about the few measures being rolled our by mnd and govt and I believe there will be more in the coming days to push up the birth rate. I digress but just to add on that we are trying to avoid being in Japan's shoes. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 http://news.asiaone.com/news/business/singapore-millennials-favour-investing-property Singapore millennials favour investing in property Mar 4, 2017 SINGAPORE'S millennials, defined as those who are currently between the ages of 25 and 34 years, favour investing in property as a means to achieve financial security. But their satisfaction with rental yield is the lowest in Asia. The latest Manulife Investor Sentiment Index (Manulife ISI) survey has found that more than two-thirds (68 per cent) of Singapore millennials aim to purchase local property, with two out of five intending to do so for investment purposes to generate rental income. But only 58 per cent are satisfied with the rental yields compared to an average of 78 per cent in Asia. Respondents were middle-class to affluent investors aged 25 and above, who are the primary decision makers of financial matters in the household and currently have investment products. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 With the move to drive out FT, you won't find the kind of rental yields of yore.. And with home prices still high, it's not surprising that there's a mismatch in expectations 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Mark this page 500. We will come back at the end of 2017 to conclude. Good luck bro. :) yup. Mine is for investment so can always don't buy. Let's see in a weeks time if fed does raise the interest rate and then what happens rest of the year ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...