Private property prices... Up or Down?

Kelfinity

You are half right. If ones debt to equity is 70% and above, that is walk a tight rope. All one need to get in trouble is lose job, even though one buy and stay in. This is in fact no difference to those who buy and invest with the same gearing level. Both suffer the same.  

None
And are we surprised?

Buy to stay no problem
As investment? Really?
Gotta think harder, guys.
Theres still significant room downwards

These famous bought to invest. Not to stay in. Normally they have multiple or even countless of high end properties all the world. Most of the time those properties are bought by their immediacies.  

Fancy rubbing shoulders with Jackie Chan, Emil Chau and JJ Lin?   Only if you buy a unit at the Twin Peaks.  However, there is no guarantee that this will happen, as they might not be residing there but renting out their units instead. 

As this project is already completed, you get to view the actual unit that you are interested in  It is understood that the units come furnished, so the 'staging' of the units might entice you to part with your money.

For interested buyers, just take note that the historical low is $2,642 psf and the historical high is $3,169 psf (info from Edge Property website).  Past reports indicated that at least 69 units have been sold so far.

The question on everyone's mind: what does it mean when you buy a unit using the deferred payment scheme (DPS) for completed projects?  Please read the terms and conditions carefully, for any additional costs that you might have to cough up.  Often, it could mean you pay more later, for the benefit of paying less upfront initially.

https://get.com/sg/blog/afford-million-dollar-condo/

Can You Afford A $1.5 Million Condo In Singapore?

Property is likely to be your most important asset in your adult life. While most of us would choose to buy a government subsidized HDB flat, there are some who have the means and preference to buy condominium properties.

Is It The Right Time To Purchase A Condo?

Before we go into the details of buying a condo, prospective buyers should consider if this is the right time to purchase a condo.

You could consider if you are buying it for investment or residential purposes and check the foreseeable price trend for condos. Consider the fact that over 80% of Singaporeans stay in HDB estates.

HDB prices are generally more stable than condo prices as they are mainly purchased for residential purposes.

Condo prices are subjected to macroeconomic conditions. Condo demand would be higher when the economy is doing well, along with growing affluence of Singaporeans and with more foreign talents residing here.

Private residence prices started to decline in 2013, which raises the question: Will this be the true bottom for condo prices? That is hard to say.

Any way you slice it, you are not purchasing at the most expensive time.

At the end of the day, nobody can really call a bottom accurately, it is more important to purchase a condo within your means.

https://get.com/sg/blog/singapore-property-investing-101/

Singapore Property Investing 101 - How Can You Make Money?

Do you know that half of the top 10 richest people in Singapore gained their wealth from real estate investment?

While many of us may not be born with a silver spoon in our mouth or have a huge capital to invest in buying properties, there are many other ways in which we can gain exposure to this lucrative asset class with a reasonable amount of investment fund.

Investment Property

If you already own your own place and have extra cash to invest in a property purely for investment, great for you!

This is a great strategy if you are living in a cosmopolitan city like Singapore or Hong Kong, where property prices are more or less guaranteed to increase over the long term.

Besides capital appreciation, you can look forward to good rental income as well, especially if you are able to rent out the entire unit.

Do take note of the kind of costs that you can incur as well, especially the hidden ones, such as taxes on second property or incurring extra costs if you want to dispose of your property within a short period of time.

You are of course not limited to buying an investment property within Singapore.

There could be many opportunities in other cities, especially emerging countries but do your background check properly and engage a reputable agent. These could translate to good capital gains over time and you may even rent them out for long term or use them for vacation rentals.

There are many ways to make money investing in real estate but because of the capital intensive nature of this asset class, you may want to consider investing over a longer time horizon.

https://get.com/sg/blog/afford-million-dollar-condo/

Can You Afford A $1.5 Million Condo In Singapore?

Property is likely to be your most important asset in your adult life. While most of us would choose to buy a government subsidized HDB flat, there are some who have the means and preference to buy condominium properties.

Is It The Right Time To Purchase A Condo?

Before we go into the details of buying a condo, prospective buyers should consider if this is the right time to purchase a condo.

You could consider if you are buying it for investment or residential purposes and check the foreseeable price trend for condos. Consider the fact that over 80% of Singaporeans stay in HDB estates.

HDB prices are generally more stable than condo prices as they are mainly purchased for residential purposes.

Condo prices are subjected to macroeconomic conditions. Condo demand would be higher when the economy is doing well, along with growing affluence of Singaporeans and with more foreign talents residing here.

Private residence prices started to decline in 2013, which raises the question: Will this be the true bottom for condo prices? That is hard to say.

Any way you slice it, you are not purchasing at the most expensive time.

At the end of the day, nobody can really call a bottom accurately, it is more important to purchase a condo within your means.

Eh, Er, Ah.....in MCF got people talk about whether can afford a $1.5mil condo meh?

Please hor, the discussion is about how many $1.5mil condos an McFer can buy (full cash only plse)

MCF got many dragons, tigers, and phoenixes, ok !

Mickey Mouse?

http://bensonkoh.com/2010/the-problems-with-investing-in-mickey-mouse-units/

http://www.h88.com.sg/index.php?tag=MICKEY%20MOUSE&page=1

cannot bite the hand that feeds you ... lol

simi foreign speculation on the Pasir Ris, Punggol, Jurong West, CCK mickey mouse condo? muahahaha

did he read the MND report that > 70% buyers are singaporean and pr? lol

i think he worried about the $20M sentosa cove no people buy? [sly]

Edited by HP_Lee

https://get.com/sg/blog/singapore-property-investing-101/

Singapore Property Investing 101 - How Can You Make Money?

Do you know that half of the top 10 richest people in Singapore gained their wealth from real estate investment?

While many of us may not be born with a silver spoon in our mouth or have a huge capital to invest in buying properties, there are many other ways in which we can gain exposure to this lucrative asset class with a reasonable amount of investment fund.

Investment Property

If you already own your own place and have extra cash to invest in a property purely for investment, great for you!

This is a great strategy if you are living in a cosmopolitan city like Singapore or Hong Kong, where property prices are more or less guaranteed to increase over the long term.

Besides capital appreciation, you can look forward to good rental income as well, especially if you are able to rent out the entire unit.

Do take note of the kind of costs that you can incur as well, especially the hidden ones, such as taxes on second property or incurring extra costs if you want to dispose of your property within a short period of time.

You are of course not limited to buying an investment property within Singapore.

There could be many opportunities in other cities, especially emerging countries but do your background check properly and engage a reputable agent. These could translate to good capital gains over time and you may even rent them out for long term or use them for vacation rentals.

There are many ways to make money investing in real estate but because of the capital intensive nature of this asset class, you may want to consider investing over a longer time horizon.

This article sounds like a PAP speech.

In summary, buy condo (or condos for richs korkors here), if you have the money, don't buy if you have no money.

Rental is pretty bad now though.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2016/4/122477/sembawang-ecs-smart-homes-draws-crowds

Sembawang EC’s smart homes draws crowds

April 11, 2016

The Visionaire, the first executive condominium (EC) with smart homes, attracted keen interest on the first weekend of its opening.

More than 2,000 visitors turned up at the showflat in Wellington Circle over two days, and 400 e-applications were submitted for the 632 units, said developer Qingjian Realty.

The project comprises two- to four-bedroom units with sizes ranging from 721 sq ft to 1,582 sq ft. PropertyGuru understands that prices start from around $550,000 for a two-bedder.

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/property/interest-from-local-overseas-players-in-cuscaden-property

Interest from local, overseas players in Cuscaden property

APR 11, 2016

The late Mr Tan Hoon Siang bought the 25,741 sq ft freehold property in Cuscaden Road for $18,591 in May 1949 at an auction.

Now the house has been put up for sale by his three sons, acting as trustees for his estate, for $160 million to $170 million. Inquiries have been strong for the site since it was put on the market last Monday, said marketing agent JLL. The tender for the site closes on May 12.

"Interest is coming from both local and overseas developers and hotel investors," said JLL international director Karamjit Singh.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/too-early-to-declare-victory-and-unwind-property-cooling-measures-minister

Too early to declare victory and unwind property cooling measures: Minister

APR 11, 2016

A week ago, Member of Parliament Christopher de Souza (Holland-Bukit Timah) had reiterated his call for the government to take a gradual approach in easing the property cooling measures.

On Monday, MPs Alex Yam Ziming (Marsiling-Yew Tee) and Chong Kee Hiong (Bishan-Toa Payoh) made similar suggestions as well in the Committee of Supply debate.

Mr Wong replied that the underlying demand for property is still strong [grin]

and relaxing the measures too early may risk a premature market rebound.

"Nonetheless, we recognise that the housing market is affected by the broader economy and global events. We will keep a close watch, and will be prepared to respond where needed," he said.

Edited by Mercs
  • Praise 12

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/too-early-to-declare-victory-and-unwind-property-cooling-measures-minister

APR 11, 2016

A week ago, Member of Parliament Christopher de Souza (Holland-Bukit Timah) had reiterated his call for the government to take a gradual approach in easing the property cooling measures.

On Monday, MPs Alex Yam Ziming (Marsiling-Yew Tee) and Chong Kee Hiong (Bishan-Toa Payoh) made similar suggestions as well in the Committee of Supply debate.

"Nonetheless, we recognise that the housing market is affected by the broader economy and global events. We will keep a close watch, and will be prepared to respond where needed," he said.

Won't be so soon one lah ... maybe next year ba...

At current stage, there are lots of buyers with plentiful of cash on hand waiting at the sidelines just waiting for govt to announce abolishment of absd, etc ...

Govt isn't stupid ... why scrapped additional income of absd when they haven't milked enough? :D

For <$1m units, very hard to drop

For <$2 m units, 5% further drop possible

For <$2m to drop >10-20%, next 1-2 years, interest has to go further up and sentiments have to be very bad

bec there are tonnes of buyers for these 2 categories, so if ABSD removed, prices sure will chiong 

The big quantum units different kettle of fish altogether, need foreign buyers and some units already lelonging right now 

The way prices are moving right now, drop 1-2% one quarter up 0.5-1% another quarter, see sawing with downward bias,

very hard to justify to remove ABSD or relax TDSR

Won't be so soon one lah ... maybe next year ba...

At current stage, there are lots of buyers with plentiful of cash on hand waiting at the sidelines just waiting for govt to announce abolishment of absd, etc ...

Govt isn't stupid ... why scrapped additional income of absd when they haven't milked enough? :D

Its a Quantum game

Nowadays 3 room can be 700 sq feet or smaller [laugh]

HDB already >$1m

So 1-1.5m is the limit for mass market and that's where the money going to be made based on nos game.

For <$1m units, very hard to drop

For <$2 m units, 5% further drop possible

For <$2m to drop >10-20%, next 1-2 years, interest has to go further up and sentiments have to be very bad

bec there are tonnes of buyers for these 2 categories, so if ABSD removed, prices sure will chiong 

The big quantum units different kettle of fish altogether, need foreign buyers and some units already lelonging right now 

The way prices are moving right now, drop 1-2% one quarter up 0.5-1% another quarter, see sawing with downward bias,

very hard to justify to remove ABSD or relax TDSR

That is correct

APR 11, 2016

Its a Quantum game

Nowadays 3 room can be 700 sq feet or smaller [laugh]

HDB already >$1m

So 1-1.5m is the limit for mass market and that's where the money going to be made based on nos game.

This game has been ongoing since the days of Alexis and the cancer has since spread from mm to now 3/4/5 bedrooms

that is why i have been saying that price psf is not likely to drop significantly

cos the developers are still experimenting with smaller and smaller units and so far, buyers are still biting

and you are absolutely spot on that thanks to high HDB resale price, it has set a very comfortable floor of 1-1.5m for condo developers to play with. They have no fear that selling price will drop below 1,000 psf anytime soon for mass market