David Clutched May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 I came to know that in order to have the red bean split open, place a porcelain spoon inside while cooking. What is the reason? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceklsy Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 place porcelain spoon ? that means to COOK the spoon ? i donno i still dare to drink the soup or not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 heat transfer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 ya man..all the sai (or SH.IT) in the spoon all ooze out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Key_word07 Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 When u put the spoon inside..the boiling bubbles will push the spoon to move around inside the pot and hence the beans will be able to cook more throughly and even...if dun put spoon usually you can get uneven cook red bean soup..some are cooked..some chao tar..and some uncook! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AngelEye Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 that is correct. thats what my grandma says, same with cooking porriage, the spoon inside will stir for u, so nothing is stick to the bottem of the pan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 I came to know that in order to have the red bean split open, place a porcelain spoon inside while cooking. What is the reason? Can but Gor Li (AKA Marbles) the read bean soup will be mou tak teng... nice until dunno how nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 my family use pressure cooker ... so no need spoon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 pressure cooker? that's like a bomb... careful ah..later explode Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 I came to know that in order to have the red bean split open, place a porcelain spoon inside while cooking. What is the reason? that was the trick i knew from my sis too. however, i still hav a problem.... do u know how to make it like starchy? those sa type starchy???? lately i keep trying and trying but cannot make it... i used those thermal pot, cook for about 1/2 hr, then use thermal but b4 cooking soak the beans overnight, still can't make it open well and also not starchy... unless i keep it in the fridge overnight...next day shiok shiok.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 hey, buy the thermal pot... my porridge is better than tiong bahru sia. never bluff u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toy_car Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 my mum cook peanut with chicken leg soup also use thie method Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 sago. to make it invisible to the naked eyes, use the smallest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayzee Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 learn something new today. I will try this method when cook for my family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 (edited) do u happen to hv the receipe for making tou hua?? can share? tried doing an online search nothing seems to turn up on how to make it harden. i mean i need to know what to use to make it harden & where to get it. tks. Edited May 10, 2008 by Qpik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 When u put the spoon inside..the boiling bubbles will push the spoon to move around inside the pot and hence the beans will be able to cook more throughly and even...if dun put spoon usually you can get uneven cook red bean soup..some are cooked..some chao tar..and some uncook! alamak, is easier to push the bean or the spoon considering the spoon is bigger and heavier.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 is easier to buy outside and eat. no need to wash also... not that expnsive anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 considering opening a dessert stall lah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...