Shibadog Turbocharged April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 The distance between SG to Ipoh could be the reason why we seldom can see sg cars in Ipoh. I'm guessing most SG pple prefer to drive to Cameron highlands than to Ipoh, if they had to choose one or the other. Ipoh honestly not that much to do, except eat. But there's a limit to how much one can eat, and how much time one can spend eating. I see more SG cars in Cameron highlands than in Ipoh. Thanks for the recommendation Spinelli_ck, This will be my 4th time driving up to Ipoh. The last few time I was there I can hardly see any SG cars around on the road except at a few hotels car park. This time round I will be staying at the Heritage Hotel, although it's near the city but not so heavy traffic. I will be the only driver and Come to think of the distant from SG to Ipoh already making me tired. hv a safe trip n don't rush btw I'm typing this fm a hotel in Ipoh LOL. And no, I have not seen any SG cars here in Ipoh. Saw a few on NSHW and many in KL. 400km, the distance between Singapore and Genting is the final frontier for most Singapore drivers ? I was on karak highway late on Tue night. After a while, I realised something was not normal... the highway was not lit up.. total blackout from Gombak toll to the turn-off to Genting highlands LOL ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 btw I'm typing this fm a hotel in Ipoh LOL. And no, I have not seen any SG cars here in Ipoh. Saw a few on NSHW and many in KL. Have you checked out the 'wall art' in Ipoh.We thought it was fablus and comical. It's a highlight of any trip to Ipoh, imo. Much better than the stuff in Penang and higher quality. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinelli_ck 6th Gear April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 Thanks for the recommendation Spinelli_ck, This will be my 4th time driving up to Ipoh. The last few time I was there I can hardly see any SG cars around on the road except at a few hotels car park. This time round I will be staying at the Heritage Hotel, although it's near the city but not so heavy traffic. I will be the only driver and Come to think of the distant from SG to Ipoh already making me tired. i drove up to and down from Ipoh by myself as well as my friend has "lost touch" with manual gearbox. do check out the cafes over there. very happening. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Have you checked out the 'wall art' in Ipoh.We thought it was fablus and comical. It's a highlight of any trip to Ipoh, imo. Much better than the stuff in Penang and higher quality. I hv seen a few in the old town area. Yes, quite interesting, but not something I would specifically go out of the way to look for. pity some of the newer buildings partially obscure the wall art, or detract from it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 400km, the distance between Singapore and Genting is the final frontier for most Singapore drivers ? I believe most sg drivers maximum distance that they drive is to Genting. Many would not drive beyond that. Most might just fly up to Ipoh or penang and then rent a car and drive to those places. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 i drove up to and down from Ipoh by myself as well as my friend has "lost touch" with manual gearbox. do check out the cafes over there. very happening. Yes, going to check the one recommended by JohnSHL. The pics of cakes looked so good, even to one who isn't into sweet desserts & coffee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endurance201 2nd Gear April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 The distance between SG to Ipoh could be the reason why we seldom can see sg cars in Ipoh. Last Aug I drove to Ipoh, met 2 sg car there. Next day I drove to Penang, also met 2 sg cars there. Stay for a night, drove to Genting and stay for 2 nights then back to sg. This is the first time I drove such a long distance...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Last Aug I drove to Ipoh, met 2 sg car there. Next day I drove to Penang, also met 2 sg cars there. Stay for a night, drove to Genting and stay for 2 nights then back to sg. This is the first time I drove such a long distance...... Is that why your nick is 'Endurance' ? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Yes, going to check the one recommended by JohnSHL. The pics of cakes looked so good, even to one who isn't into sweet desserts & coffee. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 The distance between SG to Ipoh could be the reason why we seldom can see sg cars in Ipoh. I saw a SG-plated vehicle on NSHW heading south today, inbetween Ipoh and Bidor. But it wasn't a typical SG car... it was a private ambulance (SKH plate) with blinkers flashing, no siren. I wonder if it was doing a medivac by road to/from SG. I would hv expected local ambulances to be utilised, rather than bringing one all the way from SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 my main two "go-to" places for kopi in Ipoh are kopitiams 1) Yee Fatt (better known for their dry curry noodles) 2) Restoran Impressive, a corner-lot kopitiam across from Hotel Ibis Styles. Their kopi is power. Foodwise.. the curry yong tau foo, western food and egg tarts are worth a try. Sometimes I go there for kopi ping after lunch. It's at No. 2 Jalan Ali Pitchay you know these places must be good when the local grandparents bring their grandkids there Restoran Impressive....lol...ok, ok, noted. Thks. Passed by it in the evening on 2 previous trips but only a couple of stalls were opened. Guess it caters to daytime crowds. Shall skip across there for breakfast instead of driving out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 15, 2016 Share April 15, 2016 Aiyo! All your posts made me wanting to go Ipoh! I read that Ipoh are divided into 3 parts - old town, new town and dun knw what town. I think I better google first and see all the attractions, makan and map for my trip planning. I went for one nite few years ago didn't managed to visit most places, only eat the chicken taugeh chicken, dimsum and also visited one cave. It's a stopover for my penang trip. BTW, you can refer to this link on Volkswagen the Holidays on Wheels itinerary. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SruPS0rzyb8 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged April 15, 2016 Share April 15, 2016 (edited) Aiyo! All your posts made me wanting to go Ipoh! I read that Ipoh are divided into 3 parts - old town, new town and dun knw what town. I think I better google first and see all the attractions, makan and map for my trip planning. I went for one nite few years ago didn't managed to visit most places, only eat the chicken taugeh chicken, dimsum and also visited one cave. It's a stopover for my penang trip. BTW, you can refer to this link on Volkswagen the Holidays on Wheels. Thanks for sharing. The video is quite entertaining. Now I know there's an island off Penang that serves super fresh seafood. A pity we aren't allowed to bring back the Ipoh Salt Baked Chicken into SG. Another eye opener was the cooler cum glove compartment, definitely an essential feature for cars in the tropics. Wish there's this feature in my car; I wouldn't have to lug cooler box in & out of cars. Edited April 15, 2016 by TameDriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Thanks for sharing. The video is quite entertaining. Now I know there's an island off Penang that serves super fresh seafood. A pity we aren't allowed to bring back the Ipoh Salt Baked Chicken into SG. Another eye opener was the cooler cum glove compartment, definitely an essential feature for cars in the tropics. Wish there's this feature in my car; I wouldn't have to lug cooler box in & out of cars. Can bring right? I saw someone brought KFC back from Malaysia last Saturday via public transport . I think as long is cooked and not too much is ok? I have so far brought back Secret recipe curry puff many times. Many people also buy otah back from Muar and kukup. I think if kena caught, they will just ask you to destroy it and throw into the bins infront of them and record your details down. I kena once for bringing in one chewing gum wahhahaahhaah. But I was taking public transport that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Can bring right? I saw someone brought KFC back from Malaysia last Saturday via public transport . I think as long is cooked and not too much is ok? I have so far brought back Secret recipe curry puff many times. Many people also buy otah back from Muar and kukup. I think if kena caught, they will just ask you to destroy it and throw into the bins infront of them and record your details down. I kena once for bringing in one chewing gum wahhahaahhaah. But I was taking public transport that time. strictly speaking, cooked meat products cannot be brought back, unless already in your stomach. Fish products are allowed. I think up to 5kg or so per pax. for example, bak kwa (popular during pre-CNY) is not allowed. but I sometimes bring back food products containing meat. Usually they are more concerned abt dutiable goods and other contraband. I also kena caught once for having chewing gum but I told the checker that I use it to keep me awake on long drives. Since there were only a few pieces left in the bottle, he let me go but told me actually cannot bring in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 strictly speaking, cooked meat products cannot be brought back, unless already in your stomach. Fish products are allowed. I think up to 5kg or so per pax. for example, bak kwa (popular during pre-CNY) is not allowed. but I sometimes bring back food products containing meat. Usually they are more concerned abt dutiable goods and other contraband. I also kena caught once for having chewing gum but I told the checker that I use it to keep me awake on long drives. Since there were only a few pieces left in the bottle, he let me go but told me actually cannot bring in. Ya bak kwa cannot. You are so lucky! I was brought to their office and recorded down my details. They asked me to destroy the chewing gum infront of them and throw into the dustibin. When I opened the dustbin, inside got many destroyed food wahhaahahahah even eggs also have..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Can bring satay back ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinelli_ck 6th Gear April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 i thought the ban on pork-related products has already been lifted? we can bring seafood in for personal consumption. chicken and eggs are still prohibited though. but i still buy herbal chicken from Teck Sing and salt-baked chicken from Ipoh. yummy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...