Road Trip to Ipoh

Astro

The AES is at 376 km marker from south.

Saw it flashed a couple of times at other cars, usually at MY cars but It seemed they weren't bothered.

I had fun once with another car while driving towards Ipoh.

This other bmw started to pace me after S Buloh RnR. When nearing the AES cam, I filtered to leftmost lane to let the car overtake. Sure enough, it sprinted pass & next moment, the camera flashed. : ()

ahh thanks for the km marker.

yes I noticed some other msian cars simply bo chup this camera. Do they know something we don't?

I have not driven to Ipoh for some years now and wondering if the traffic within Ipoh itself is still relatively light and easy to get parking lots?

Penang has changed quite a bit and its very congested on the roads now. 

the typical tourist areas in the old town are jam packed with domestic tourists esp during lunch time and dinner time. Parking lot can be found if willing and able to walk 5-10min. Do put parking coupons as the parking wardens are quite on the ball.

other areas... not too bad.

the good thing abt Ipoh is, it's not flooded by SG cars [:p]

if you drive leisurely, it should not take more than 1.5 hrs from Ipoh.

Had quite a number of ex-classmates and ex-colleagues from there. Always poison me... and they always recommend these three. By the way, their Teochew sounds very much different from SG's Teochew.

Top 3 things to do probably will be:

1. visit Taiping Lake Garden (oldest garden in MY)

2. climb Maxwell Hill by foot (6 hours [laugh] ) or by Jeep (0.5 hr). Your expensive SG car cannot go up even if you wish.

3. jiak seafood at Port Weld if hungry and got time.

It rains every afternoon without fail, enjoy the negative ions generated by nature.

By default, most people who drive to Ipoh will go CH. However, since nobody will purposely just drive to Taiping and CH can be overly crowded especially during holidays, Taiping is a good alternative.

Google... there are some blogspots. one of these...

http://calvin-myjourney.blogspot.sg/2013/03/visiting-taipings-maxwell-hill.html

Lastly, they reminded me NOT TO USE HORN there. [laugh]

I stayed over 1 night in taiping once enroute to Penang

The hotel had an infinity pool overlooking taiping lake

But it is really a small town with nothing much to do

For activity 1and 2 and even the supposedly famous taiping zoo, gotta manage your expectations a lot

For speed offence, most MY will accumulate the summons up to a few thousands RM and finally paid up with 50% discount by law. This is the procedure most of the MY practice. 

In MY, if your speed above just 1km/hr ref to speed limit is considered offence by law i.e 111km/hr on NSH with speed limit 110km/hr.

Unlike SG, you may drive with speed above limit by 10km/hr is still acceptable by TP

Edited by Tcx607

I stayed over 1 night in taiping once enroute to Penang

The hotel had an infinity pool overlooking taiping lake

But it is really a small town with nothing much to do

For activity 1and 2 and even the supposedly famous taiping zoo, gotta manage your expectations a lot

For speed offence, most MY will accumulate the summons up to a few thousands RM and finally paid up with 50% discount by law. This is the procedure most of the MY practice.

In MY, if your speed above just 1km/hr ref to speed limit is considered offence by law i.e 111km/hr on NSH with speed limit 110km/hr.

Unlike SG, you may drive with speed above limit by 10km/hr is still acceptable by TP

I had total of 12 summons when I checked online last Nov. All priced at RM300 each.

Delayed payment until 50% discount given. Now all settled. Can go up this month with all the receipts as proof of payment & peace of mind.

I had total of 12 summons when I checked online last Nov. All priced at RM300 each.

Delayed payment until 50% discount given. Now all settled. Can go up this month with all the receipts as proof of payment & peace of mind.

i'm planning to accumulate them till it becomes cheaper (after 50% discount) to change number plate [laugh]

change number plate better. New number + ownself donate $$$ to own gahment.

i'm planning to accumulate them till it becomes cheaper (after 50% discount) to change number plate [laugh]

change number plate better. New number + ownself donate $$$ to own gahment.

Cannot change lah; love my number plates too much. Good luck numbers somemore.

KL-Ipoh: look out for AES at Slim river ... I got flashed twice on my last trip even tho I was going at 110km/h [shakehead]

ok. I admit. First time I was not going 110km/h but the 2nd time (5 or 6 days later) I was definitely going under 110 but also kena flashed.

After kena flashed, did you receive any summon when u checked Myeg?

I was flashed three or four years ago there and yet to receive any summons. My bro told me AES do not recognise SG carplate. So they unable to issue the summon.

After kena flashed, did you receive any summon when u checked Myeg?

I was flashed three or four years ago there and yet to receive any summons. My bro told me AES do not recognise SG carplate. So they unable to issue the summon.

didn't check [:p]

Can anyone share places with good food in Ipoh? Will be going during Jun Hols. 

Just booked a unit at Haven, looks like some condotel. Any feedback on this place?

Chicken rice and beans sprout - Jalan Yau Tet Shin, I prefer Lou Wong than Ong Kee. Same lorong got other stuff too like salt baked chicken, some hor fun restaurant and local produce shops. Basically come here and settle ur lunch and dinner.

Yong Tau Hu - Jalan King, try the red bean drink too.

Ming Court dim sum. Usually very packed, had to stand behind other customers' seat to 'chope' seats at tables. There's another dim sum restaurant opposite it but have never eaten there. Also have Coffeeshops in the near vicinity that sells the usual local food, like Ipoh curry mee, prawn mee, etc....

Below are 2 pics taken from google map:

post-109106-0-60971600-1459784226_thumb.png

post-109106-0-04961600-1459784255_thumb.jpeg

Convoy driving to Malaysia: Things to know

http://travel.asiaone.com/travel/inspirations/convoy-driving-malaysia-things-know

Appear to be promoting Passat!

they shld tell #8 to the bunch of Msian Passat drivers I met while they were en route to the tour de Langkawi on some Mktg or PR hoo-ha.

whole convoy of 20 or 30 Passats hogging the right lane of the two lane highway.... going at 90 or so.  Even when left lane was clear, they still kept on the right lane. :a-no:

after I (rather aggressively) overtook the whole bunch, the lead Passat floored throttle and caught up with me to beo me. Then dropped back to rejoin the convoy [rolleyes]

Ming Court dim sum. Usually very packed, had to stand behind other customers' seat to 'chope' seats at tables. There's another dim sum restaurant opposite it but have never eaten there. Also have Coffeeshops in the near vicinity that sells the usual local food, like Ipoh curry mee, prawn mee, etc....

Below are 2 pics taken from google map:

attachicon.gifimage.png

attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

I've been there but dun knw which dimsum shop I have forgotten. 

they shld tell #8 to the bunch of Msian Passat drivers I met while they were en route to the tour de Langkawi on some Mktg or PR hoo-ha.

whole convoy of 20 or 30 Passats hogging the right lane of the two lane highway.... going at 90 or so. Even when left lane was clear, they still kept on the right lane. :a-no:

after I (rather aggressively) overtook the whole bunch, the lead Passat floored throttle and caught up with me to beo me. Then dropped back to rejoin the convoy [rolleyes]

New cars; must run-in slowly.