Road Trip to Ipoh

Astro

don't miss the shredded chicken hor fun, satay and egg caramel custard @ Thean Chun.

as for dim sum @ Leong Sin Nam aka Dim Sum Street, my preference is in the following order:

1. Ming Court

2. Yoke Fook Moon

3. Foh San

with numerous hipster cafes sprouting up over the past three years, the cafe scene over there is rather happening. i would recommend cafe lovers to check out Burps and Giggles, Plan B and Patisserie Boutique.

Some of the newish cafes and restaurants are good but found the street food to be poor.

French Hotel is a great place to stay.

bean sprout chicken aka 芽菜鸡 is over-rated.  :D don't really appreciate the way they chop the chickens. but the bean sprout is pretty decent.

how's the interior decor of French Hotel?

Very tidy.  And good value.

The receptionist if she still works there is very friendly and helpful about where to go in Ipoh and Portugal funnily enough.  We were in Portugal the same time as her and about 30 Km apart but didn't know.

The car park next to the hotel although open has a guard at night.

It's a 10 minute walk from the hotel to Old Town and really every where is walkable from the hotel.

The wall art in Ipoh is as good as we've seen anywhere and there's a lot of it, although we haven't seen the stuff in Penang which we will do in a couple of weeks.

Edited by Neutrino

don't miss the shredded chicken hor fun, satay and egg caramel custard @ Thean Chun.

as for dim sum @ Leong Sin Nam aka Dim Sum Street, my preference is in the following order:

1. Ming Court

2. Yoke Fook Moon

3. Foh San

with numerous hipster cafes sprouting up over the past three years, the cafe scene over there is rather happening. i would recommend cafe lovers to check out Burps and Giggles, Plan B and Patisserie Boutique.

I like the dry curry noodle at yee fatt

and O.C.K. curry puff, chicken wing, egg tart

not impressed by Ipoh chicken rice but I like the bean sprouts

I've been meaning to try Michelangelo's pizza (even tho it's weird to hv pizza in Ipoh) but always long queue

Some of the newish cafes and restaurants are good but found the street food to be poor.

where did u try street food? tong shui gai (dessert street)?

those who go ipoh ... can check out this resort

MYR1,200 per night ... there is no typo error

children below 12 cannot check in ... this resort is meant for couple retreat and piak piak ... kid is not welcome ... lol

http://www.thebanjaran.com/

post-7984-0-97532600-1454337851_thumb.png

I like the kampung chicken texture and flavor, but no need to go all the way to Ipoh to get it. The cooking style is nothing special. The bean sprouts are fatter than the ones you find in SG or southern peninsula.

Apparently the bean spouts in Ipoh are fatter than normal ones is because of the alkali water in Ipoh. There are many limestones cave in Ipoh and probably form part of river bed too. These cause the water to be more alkali and hence the fatter tau gehs.

Many of the older generation may also recall that in the past, Ipoh was also renowned for its "Sar Hor Fun". silky smoooth hor fun.

Reason behind this is due to the fact that they used alkali water from Sar Hor (cantonese for River Sar or equivalent) to make the Sar Hor Fun. Hence the name and smooth texture.

Heard this from a nice elderly Ipohan gent I met whilst whacking some Sar Hor Fun with Ngar Choy Kai in Ipoh some years ago [:p]

Edited by Cosmicclaw

I always try to head for this place, Big Tree Foot, whenever in Ipoh. I liked the ambience, reminiscence of the old days of roadside food stalls. This one is located right under a huge ancient tree, sheltered by some form of roofing. The stalls sell char Kway Teow, rojak, chicken rice & fat bean sprouts, Ipoh curry Mee, Assam curry (Penang style), Yong tau foo, etc....

Ample free parking

This map show more accurate location.

post-109106-0-69028100-1457071891_thumb.jpeg

Edited by TameDriver

I always try to head for this place, Big Tree Foot, whenever in Ipoh. I liked the ambience, reminiscence of the old days of roadside food stalls. This one is located right under a huge ancient tree, sheltered by some form of roofing. The stalls sell char Kway Teow, rojak, chicken rice & fat bean sprouts, Ipoh curry Mee, Assam curry (Penang style), Yong tau foo, etc....

Ample free parking

attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

You forgot to add, ice red bean drink to the list of must try. Always have two when I am there. [:p]

Funny Mountain tau fu fah (Jalan Theatre) is highly recommended by the locals. the texture of the bean curd is indeed smooth and soft.  [thumbsup]  :wub:

Edited by Spinelli_ck

Wah bro,

Sitiawan is really boring leh...your wife's hometown?

Sitiawan can go try the dark sauce noodle and the Sitiawan Pia. The must try is James Cendol which in my opinion is even better than Penang or Meleka cendol.

Ample free parking

attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

I have a friend who lives in Ipoh that also recommended this place to me. It's only open for breakfast and lunch, if I am thinking of the correct place.