Road Trip to Ipoh

Astro

That's the start of the June sch holidays. Checkpoints clearance may take longer time & road traffic heavier.

I just got back last week from long road trip up north & S. Thailand.

Trips for Safer & Enjoyable Trip:

Personal Care:

-Enough sleep the nite before, no alcohol.

-Avoid heavy meals & sugar loaded drinks; make u less mentally alert, sleepy

-Keep well hydrated with plain water; most people tend to fall sick on long drives because of the

heat, air conditioning, stress (yes, taking a holiday puts stress on our health).

-bring along anti diarrhoea med, general painkillers, Vit C (daily), anti gas, antacids, anti constipation (can fall sick if retained too many days ). A few cans/bottles of electrolyte drinks (Pocari Sweat, 100 plus, etc.....non carbonated) to replace loss of fluid if diarrhoea too often. But if vomiting many times & unable to retain any drinks, must see DR.

-From here to Ipoh, minimum 2 rest stops or more. Walk around to promote blood circulation.

Personal Safety:

-dress down, be inconspicuous; avoid flashy dressing, jewellries, watches, handbags.

-divide & keep your $$$ separately. When making payments, be aware that crooks are alert to the

amount of cash displayed in your wallet/purse

-avoid quiet & isolated rest stops.

-always keep car doors locked, asap, even for short while, regardless of whether there's passenger

inside

-be alert & observant to surroundings when getting in & out of car.

Car matters:

Basic checks: coolant level, engine oil, washer tank, aircon gas ( and in good working condition....it's hell driving without aircon in the tropics) Tyre treads & pressure. Tyres > than 3 yrs old, even with prominent treads may be too hardened with minute cracks. Pump pressure according to passenger & luggage load. Don't over inflate to think u can go faster or save fuel; it's dangerous especially driving above 110kph with overinflated tyres.

Personally, my cars are on RunFlats tyres for safety reason but most people couldn't stand the hardness of the ride & it's noisier. Well, Safetly takes priority for me.

Anyway, the best pretrip checks still may not be able to prevent a car from malfunction or breakdown.

Have the contact number of your car dealer/workshop in case u need to consult them. Anyway, there're plenty of motor workshops all over MY. Can also call highway breakdown service.

Driving:

-Please check your rear view mirrors frequently; to look out for other fast oncoming vehicles or tailgaters & to Give Way Safely. And always SIGNAL your intentions when driving. Thk U !

- if needed to switch to a faster lane, make sure u can accelerate fast enough so as not to cause other faster oncoming vehicles to jam their brakes for u! Thk U!

-If u on fast lane, when approaching a row of slowing moving big trucks or buses, be wary of any hidden vehicle (both big & small) suddenly switching lane into yours.

-Be mindful of Cross Winds

-Be humble & considerate to other road users

-Don't rise to the challenge of other drivers to race u.

I'm sure there are plenty more helpful tips/advise regarding a road trip to MY, also from other members as well. What I've shared here are my own personal take & my practice whenever I go on a road trip up north & beyond. Hope u find them useful.

Have an enjoyable drive & safe road trip!

Bro,

Run-flat tires only "work" when your rims are specially designed for them, with EH2 hump.

If non-RFT rims fitted with RFT tires, the tires may be slip out during loss of air pressure.

My two cents.

Edited by Doppel

Bro,

Run-flat tires only "work" when your rims are specially designed for them, with EH2 hump.

If non-RFT rims fitted with RFT tires, the tires may be slip out during loss of air pressure.

My two cents.

Thank u for pointing out. I'm sure the readers here will benefit from this input.

My cars that I use for road trips up north are on stock RFTS.

So can a rim that accommodate a rft be able to use normal non rft tyre?

Yes of course: just that you won't reap the benefit of a RFT rim.

Just came back from my maiden Ipoh trip.. gotta say the entire trip was simply wonderful :)

For folks who are still considering to go.. i'd say JUST GO and june is the best time to go into Msia for non-muslims. Most food places will have relatively less traffic due to hari raya puasa. Also for folks who are thinking whether they can do 550 kms in a small car.. i say HELL YEAH! here's my trip:

Friday morning head out at 6am.. clear both checkpoints by 06.30am (best is to go by Tuas as its absolutely empty).

Drive all the way average around 110kp/h and stop at Ayer Keroh for breakfast.. The mee rebus there sibeh shiok one.. Ayer Keroh (The R&R Jejentas, not the first R&R) is right after Melaka so around 220 kms roughly 2+ hrs from checkpoint.

Drive all the way and take Exit 214, then quite simple just follow signs for IPOH. Then stop at Sungei Buloh R&R or any other R&R along the ELITE E6 highway for snacks and pee break.

Drive again straight and reach Ipoh around 1pm.

I drove casually and i must say the drive in the morning is really soothing and not at all strenuous. 6-7 hours to Ipoh with 2 breaks is doable and is also very smooth. 

One tip to avoid feeling sleep or anything.. buy chewing gum from msia R&R and chew 1 for every 50-100 kms hehe

Saturday drove to Taiping.. beautiful place with the lake gardens. (if you have time google for Maxwell Hill and visit the place. the hill top is 8ms from the entrance gate and public cars are not allowed. you will need to pay them and they will drive you up there using a 4x4 defender.. if interested can check it out cuz got very nice views of the region from there). The drive to Taiping from Ipoh is very nice as u see mountain tops n winding roads n tunnels.. very nice! but yea.. PLS stay left if you aren't overtaking. 

Sunday drive back to Seremban stay one night.. Monday drive back afternoon to SG.

you ask whats my ride.. a 9.5 year old hyundai getz 1.1m.. so if my car can do it.. any CAR CAN! haha n for the whole trip i needed only two full tanks.. actually not even full but yea close to 2 full tanks for a total distance of around 1300 kms!

so yea.. my next target is Terrenganu but if u are thinking of Ipoh.. pls go.. u wont regret it :)

• Praise 12

Just came back from my maiden Ipoh trip.. gotta say the entire trip was simply wonderful :)

For folks who are still considering to go.. i'd say JUST GO and june is the best time to go into Msia for non-muslims. Most food places will have relatively less traffic due to hari raya puasa. Also for folks who are thinking whether they can do 550 kms in a small car.. i say HELL YEAH! here's my trip:

Friday morning head out at 6am.. clear both checkpoints by 06.30am (best is to go by Tuas as its absolutely empty).

Drive all the way average around 110kp/h and stop at Ayer Keroh for breakfast.. The mee rebus there sibeh shiok one.. Ayer Keroh (The R&R Jejentas, not the first R&R) is right after Melaka so around 220 kms roughly 2+ hrs from checkpoint.

Drive all the way and take Exit 214, then quite simple just follow signs for IPOH. Then stop at Sungei Buloh R&R or any other R&R along the ELITE E6 highway for snacks and pee break.

Drive again straight and reach Ipoh around 1pm.

I drove casually and i must say the drive in the morning is really soothing and not at all strenuous. 6-7 hours to Ipoh with 2 breaks is doable and is also very smooth.

One tip to avoid feeling sleep or anything.. buy chewing gum from msia R&R and chew 1 for every 50-100 kms hehe

Saturday drove to Taiping.. beautiful place with the lake gardens. (if you have time google for Maxwell Hill and visit the place. the hill top is 8ms from the entrance gate and public cars are not allowed. you will need to pay them and they will drive you up there using a 4x4 defender.. if interested can check it out cuz got very nice views of the region from there). The drive to Taiping from Ipoh is very nice as u see mountain tops n winding roads n tunnels.. very nice! but yea.. PLS stay left if you aren't overtaking.

Sunday drive back to Seremban stay one night.. Monday drive back afternoon to SG.

you ask whats my ride.. a 9.5 year old hyundai getz 1.1m.. so if my car can do it.. any CAR CAN! haha n for the whole trip i needed only two full tanks.. actually not even full but yea close to 2 full tanks for a total distance of around 1300 kms!

so yea.. my next target is Terrenganu but if u are thinking of Ipoh.. pls go.. u wont regret it :)

Nice write up. You are quite adventurous & steady for a first timer.

Good read & encouragement to other drivers.

If you are planning to drive to the East Coast MY, avoid year end monsoon season(rain, floods) & the month after Hari Raya Puasa.

Btw, could you share your reviews of the 3 hotels (or more) that you stayed in?

Nice write up. You are quite adventurous & steady for a first timer.

Good read & encouragement to other drivers.

If you are planning to drive to the East Coast MY, avoid year end monsoon season(rain, floods) & the month after Hari Raya Puasa.

Btw, could you share your reviews of the 3 hotels (or more) that you stayed in?

Hehe thanks! 

Yea east coast wise gotta be careful about the monsoon season.. especially if travelling by the non-toll roads that pass through Kuantan, Chertating and towards Terrenganu.

Hotel we stayed at Ibis Styles at Ipoh for 2 nights.. I'd say its good value for money. we paid 140 sgd for 2 nights n the room was clean with all basic amenities. u get breakfast as well so i think its a good deal. For seremban we stayed at Palm Seremban (stayed there before so tried and tested). Palm seremban is also around 70 a night and its a bigger hotel so the breakfast spread is better :) both hotels very good value for money.. good location cuz nearby got a lot of food places.. got malls nearby and some tourist attractions. n most importantly rooms are clean with proper amenities that u get in top 4/5 star hotels.

To understand/clarify your report on this fruit:

Did your FIL passed black stools before or after consuming this fruit?

Was his illness cured after taking this fruit?

Or was it in conjunction with other treatments, eg., medicines and/or surgery ?

He passed a lot of black stools after taking the 'wen sian gou'.

He also take other herbs that we brought from No 10, Sungei Tengah.

Hehe thanks!

Yea east coast wise gotta be careful about the monsoon season.. especially if travelling by the non-toll roads that pass through Kuantan, Chertating and towards Terrenganu.

Hotel we stayed at Ibis Styles at Ipoh for 2 nights.. I'd say its good value for money. we paid 140 sgd for 2 nights n the room was clean with all basic amenities. u get breakfast as well so i think its a good deal. For seremban we stayed at Palm Seremban (stayed there before so tried and tested). Palm seremban is also around 70 a night and its a bigger hotel so the breakfast spread is better :) both hotels very good value for money.. good location cuz nearby got a lot of food places.. got malls nearby and some tourist attractions. n most importantly rooms are clean with proper amenities that u get in top 4/5 star hotels.

Ibis styles is clean & minimalist & value for money. I paid SGD 53.07 per night on a weekday.

Stayed there about 5 times but only taken their b/fast twice. There are 2 Kopi shops outside this hotel that sells nice local food.

I wasn't happy with them once....specified during booking that I need a 'Non Smoking Room'. Upon check-in, was informed that I was given an 'upgrade' to a room with courtyard.

I eagerly went thru the thick glass doors to be immediately assailed by strong cigarette smell!

Found out that it is a smoking floor with extra glass door at entrance of corridor to keep the odour in !!

I'm back from the wonderful roadtrip to Ipoh n Melaka... Thanks for the advise given. :)

Ibis styles is clean & minimalist & value for money. I paid SGD 53.07 per night on a weekday.

Stayed there about 5 times but only taken their b/fast twice. There are 2 Kopi shops outside this hotel that sells nice local food.

I wasn't happy with them once....specified during booking that I need a 'Non Smoking Room'. Upon check-in, was informed that I was given an 'upgrade' to a room with courtyard.

I eagerly went thru the thick glass doors to be immediately assailed by strong cigarette smell!

Found out that it is a smoking floor with extra glass door at entrance of corridor to keep the odour in !!

ouch! Did they change your room to a non-smoking one after you found out about the smoke?

Yes they did. Upgraded me probably to fill up the underused level.

Their mistake was in overlooking my request for 'Non Smoking'.

I thanked them for the upgrade but preferred a regular room. When they hesitated, I told them sweetly that I understand if they have full house, I don't mind bunking in their office.

Yes they did. Upgraded me probably to fill up the underused level.

Their mistake was in overlooking my request for 'Non Smoking'.

I thanked them for the upgrade but preferred a regular room. When they hesitated, I told them sweetly that I understand if they have full house, I don't mind bunking in their office.

http://www.j2kfm.com/ipoh-tong-sui-kai-desserts-street-duck-feet-wrap/

Popped by Big Tree Foot Hawker centre after 6 hrs drive from Tuas checkpoint, 3 pee stops + 1 time 3/4 tank refuel.

Original site closed for renovations
attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

New structured building directly next to old site. Opens 8-5pm daily.
attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

Pomelo tree outside resident's gate, opposite the hawker centre:
attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

Just got back from Ipoh and ate the Yong Tow Foo at the Big Tree Foot Hawker Centre while there.

The locals told me the stall front which has two motorcycles parked in front(in the photograph) is where the original and better stall is at.

While there I also had this delicious thick homogenized red bean drink which is a small meal in itself.

My local friends also brought me to eat the duck feet wrap here.

I was informed that the Duck Feet Wrap stall is the very last in existence in Ipoh, and when the old hawker finally stops, part of their food culture/heritage will disappear.

4th Gear

Any idea the opening hours

TIA

My local friends also brought me to eat the duck feet wrap here.

I was informed that the Duck Feet Wrap stall is the very last in existence in Ipoh, and when the old hawker finally stops, part of their food culture/heritage will disappear.

This is the stall I ate at.

http://kampungboycitygal.com/2015/07/ipoh-famous-big-tree-foot-dai-shu-geok-yong-tau-fu-new-location/

Most sites say 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. , but I went at around 1p.m. The sio bak also looked really good, I think the cuts were taken from whole roasted pigs, but I did not have any more space to even put away a small sampling.

Tong Shui Kai (糖水街), formally called Jalan Sultan Ekram, is only open in the evening. I ate at the roadside stalls and my friends shepherded me to the centre of the row where the crowds were congregated. There is an understanding among the drink/dessert stalls not to cross into each others 'territory', but there is no such restriction for the cooked food stalls which will deliver anywhere along the row.

Made another trip to Ipoh a couple of weeks back in Dec 2016

Turned out of NSH into Bidor where bro Raym ondism intro the famous duck drumstick noodle for lunch.

As i forgot the restaurant name i stopped by and asked the locals.

To choose btween the popular stall or what locals there patronise, we chose the

later and were directed to Restaurant Sin Thean Thean at Jalan Dewan Orang Ramai, opp a Caltex stn

IMG-20161217-WA0009_zps0umhm0va.jpg

Two doors to its right is a well renovated shop, clean and neat, where we ate the noodles.

IMG-20161217-WA0007_zpsqlfcphbn.jpg

We can't compare with the other stall's but it was good enough we emptied everything in

the bowl.

Sory forgot to take down the name of this coffee joint. The coffee has a similar style

as those in Ipoh town.

Enjoyable lunch break