Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Sorry for post in Chinese, will try to translate some of it: 小型车拥车证成价 最后一刻才突破一元 李静仪 (2008-05-08) 市场对新车需求疲弱,导致三大汽车组别的拥车证最低成功标价连续第二期全面下跌,跌幅比上一期还要激烈。 其中,中小型汽车组(A组)成价昨天更是 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 cause of the rebate they have to give back buyers if coe falls below a certain level? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 what is "artificially high"? the bids are the bids; accept the reality of the system. as long as dealers need COE to sell car, they will compete for COE and thus drive up COE prices. but they want it as low as possible but not lower then their rebate level. think about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 they can always lower their COE rebate what.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Generally in my opinion the report may not report the actual market sediments regarding "1) Why must they push the COE or maintain the COE premium at the high level?" The reason is for CAT A & B they need to bid on behalf of the car buyer (eg they need to use the car buyer's IC" Therefore they cannot bid under the company's name. The reason of the last 5 mins maybe because they have less booking therefore they need to make sure they secure a COE in order to deliver. So some dealers tends to place their bids near the last moment so that they would not have to adjust their bids just b4 the closing time. I remember when I spoke to a PI regarding the 5K+ COE, the salesman told me that for cat A & B they are unable to do much when the bid was 5K near closing time as they do not have enough orders. This is my view but of course as regarding to the report the dealers can choose to raise the bid to maintain the high COE premiums. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 forces... mysterious forces... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear May 9, 2008 Author Share May 9, 2008 The rebate, is either giving to LTA or giving back to customer, so no diff to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear May 9, 2008 Author Share May 9, 2008 I use the word "artificially high" bc the demand is not that high, if can not get this round, they can always bid next round, they have up to 6 bids to sercure the COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear May 9, 2008 Author Share May 9, 2008 maybe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qinglong 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 it is good for the dealers when the COE is high. this means the overall car price is higher, the loan amount is higher, and they get more commission from the finance company. after all, it is the customer's money --> let the customer pay more and i earn a bit more from him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear May 9, 2008 Author Share May 9, 2008 Wah lau, if can sell the price higher, maybe every $1k they only can get extra $30 assuming 3% from loan amount, but buyer need to pay $1000 more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 (edited) cause of the rebate they have to give back buyers if coe falls below a certain level? You got it all wrong. First off rebates are ok for car dealers Example Car only price 40K COE expected 15K (Max They bid 16K) Final car price to customer 56K Rebate Level set 13K If COE is 14K, they pocket 2K difference If COE 16K, they don't make from COE If COE 17K, u don't get car If COE 13K, they pocket 3K difference If COE 10K, They pay gahmen 10K for COE, rebate u 3K. They pocket 3K difference. If COE 5K, they pay gahmen 5K for COE, rebate u 8K, they pocket 3K difference. Why should they worry about COE crash? They are more piss when COE is near their reserve bid because they can't make more money from ur COE Edited May 9, 2008 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 It's peanuts they earn from loan amount They earn more from COE difference per transaction From loan, If they earn 3%, every 10K they earn $300 It will take about 30K raise in price to earn $1K more compare vs the previous bidding. Now for every COE bidding, please see my above post for how much they can earn. My ride, COE reserve was ~17K, COE was ~15K. Like that they earn 2K liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 Wah this chinese reporter really LTA spin doctor lah. Already start to scare people to buy before the september quota cut! Reduced deregistration = Reduced car buyers. Therefore reduce car quota will not cause COE price to suddenly shoot up high. This is more true especially in this poor economic climate, of potential recession. Those youngsters without cars, may not want to plonk down money to get their first car as yet. The only time COE will start to rise upwards, is when economy is getting better. Looking at the US trend, I think it may only happen in 2009. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 Actually when the car price is 'high', people will not look at the small 'money'. People will trade in their cars without due care. This allow the SE to earn more on taking in the 2nd car at a better profit. When car price is 'high', means demand is there. SE can play "buy it or else someone will buy, less you buyer I also no heart pain". Therefore people will not ask for kuching-kurat freebies form SE, so in turn SE can take home full commissions takings. When the car price is 'high', SE can earn more $$$ from dealing in more parf rebates paper, Open Cat COE sub-sales, Loans, insurances, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 the garment will clamp down such system....why not all the car dealer work together and have a internal bidding....for example this month 2000 COE....they will work together have only 2000 bid at $1...so sure can get 1 mah.... So now the organization have 2000 COE....then they do their internally bidding...whom ever bid highest get the COE....just like the COE system....then they have the COE bidding money kept and rebate to people just like how the garment do it when people scrap car...then the COE money they earn can support some charity or open a discounted petrol station or etc etc....then they money don't go to garment.... some naive ideas from me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 (edited) Most SEs can no longer deal in Parf paper, in fact some cant even deal with used cars, wad has Open CAT sub-sales got to do with me? Perhaps u could enlighten me? Pls get ur facts right b4 making comments like this. Alternatively, since u think being a salesman is such easy money, y dun u join us as one Edited May 9, 2008 by Iziz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 Many PI SE do play with open cat COE. Sorry if I have offended you personnally. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...