Cheepo 3rd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 3 different people I know who drive either SUV or MPV type of vehicles are changing to sedan cars. Reason: Petrol bills skyrocketing. Agree or not ? Apparently some used car dealers in the USA are turning away customers who want to sell their oil-guzzling SUVs... the market is now for zippy little cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 i feel like getting a honda jazz/suzuki swift/kia rio such cars compact, nippy and frugal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Those people who can afford big capacity cars don't give a hoot about petrol price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 nippy? like your avatar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marquee Clutched May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 nippy and BIG....why not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Its not only fuel guzzler, tall vehicle tends to drive like a boat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 (edited) 3 different people I know who drive either SUV or MPV type of vehicles are changing to sedan cars. Reason: Petrol bills skyrocketing. Agree or not ? Apparently some used car dealers in the USA are turning away customers who want to sell their oil-guzzling SUVs... the market is now for zippy little cars. 1. I read from somewhere too about car dealers in USA not wanting to accept SUVs for trade-in. It will also be lucky for current SUV driver to be even able to sell their SUVs. In USA, some states do not allow or restrict SUVs to come into city areas. 2. However, in local context, it is a different picture. Asian like that "high up there" feeling and a false sense of security that come with big and tall car. Of course, there are some that felt driving in a full-size SUV equal to comfort and stability too. So, if driving a SUV is a "face" thingy, I doubt people would dump their SUVs here. 3. There are fuel effcient SUVs too, for example Honda CRV. It just won the Car of the year award in Taiwan, a title that it won in year 2005/2006 too. It is also the best selling SUV in Taiwan too. Regards, Edited May 8, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Wrong concept. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 i have a colleague who drives the 4.8L BMW X5. He stays at stevens rd bungalow(those dirt rich one)..even he cannot tahan the FC liao..switching to a (comparatively lower cc) 335i.. but another colleague drives a Fortuner..says that he loves high ground clearance..esp when driving in rough roads up north.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cymagnus Clutched May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Dun think they will give up. It just shows they rich and can afford it better than anybody else. It's the snob appeal. Just like there's the mindset dun get Merc but prefer BMW bcos there's Merc taxis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 but another colleague drives a Fortuner..says that he loves high ground clearance..esp when driving in rough roads up north.. Is it those 2WD 2.7L non V6 model? Pot holes you mean not off-road condition right? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 at this rate, those who drive a big c.c vehicle will feel the pinch too not just restricted to SUV/MPV unless petrol on coy acct or those who have the foresight to convert to CNG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eatniddle Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 big is good if not bcos of the fuel, we will c all the big big suv. mayb it not soo common to hve a suv in sg. that y ppl will like to dream to this ride. back in the state suv and 4wheel truck are soo common that they prefer saloon. n in sg no off road yet we see ppl are riding it. heheehe under utilise the ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paladin Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 I think they will eventually... at least start growl about it when a litre of RON98 hit $4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 how can dirt rich not tahan ?? a petrol bill of even 1000 a day is nothing to them ??? maybe just not that dirt rich... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 I forsee many CNG version of SUVs on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 i'm looking forward to more diesel or biodiesel vehicles hitting our shores too. then i forsee more pple switching to it. frankly, having tried suv during younger days on a terrain course, i always yearn for the day when i can do that again. it is a instant love it or hate it activity where really get yr adrenlin pumping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 11, 2008 Share May 11, 2008 i'm looking forward to more diesel or biodiesel vehicles hitting our shores too. then i forsee more pple switching to it. frankly, having tried suv during younger days on a terrain course, i always yearn for the day when i can do that again. it is a instant love it or hate it activity where really get yr adrenlin pumping. I think if you have sit inside or drive a land rover for Army exercises in foreign land, it will be a different story. Frankly, how many SUVs here are meant for off-roads? Some even come with extra seats these days to challenge the MPVs. IMHO, SUV is only good for space and the "high up there" feel. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...