Pioneer 4th Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Why Wait when you can take action? Letter from ANGELINE LEE I refer to the Competition Commission of Singapore's (CCS) reply "Market competition deters overpricing" (May 7), to my commentary "$5 charge should be justified" (April 30). . CCS' duty, as the competition regulator, is to investigate and regulate if it detects evidence of any possible abuse of dominance in Singapore at any point in time. . As a regulator, its duty is to act independently to enforce the Competition Act; and this duty should not be delegated or devolved, under law or in spirit, to any government entity. . I suggested that CCS should consider investigating Nets' $5 charge if "excessive pricing" is covered under the Act as there is currently no competition in the Electronic Road Pricing CashCard market. . CCS has replied that "competition among different suppliers in a free market environment, instead of regulation, is the best form of protection against any excessive pricing", and that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) is working on the next generation of e-payment systems that will allow multiple payment service suppliers. . CCS' response suggests that it prefers to wait until LTA introduces competition in the market to protect consumers against any excessive pricing. . This more benign approach of waiting for the LTA to create competition rather than taking independent pre-emptive action may be instructive of its policy approach as competition regulator in Singapore. It is noted by the writer, and should be taken note of by competition and administrative law lawyers in Singapore. . I thank CCS for its clarification on the law in Singapore and its approach. CCS' approach may be instructive of its policy approach as a regulator in S'pore Source: http://www.todayonline.com/articles/252592.asp Haha.. CCS kena suan..... laywer 1 Gahman 0 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 just a wayang platform to pacify u peasants. in SG, gahmen say can means can. gahmen say sun rise fr the west, the sun will not rise fr the east. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Yes totally agree. When the man say yes, who dare to say not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Not exactly TOTALLY wayang....wayang 5% of the time ...COMPLACENT 95% the rest of the time!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Please lah.... It's a fact that the sun rise from the east so that cannot be changed one lah. If the gahmen say that it rises from the west, they will tell us that as of some date ago, east is west and west is east .... we shouldn't have been complacent and taken the definations for granted and should have visited their website regularly to check up on ammendments to definitions.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 where got fact... gahmen will tell u man when sun rise fr the west... pasir ris west... sun set in the east... jurong east... u know or dunno one... come bluff me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Win liow loh ...! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Apollo is "Anti-competition" u dun noe meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Dun believe u just wait...I'm sure a rebuttal is on the way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Huh?... you replying to yourself? He should be quite happy with the CCS's reply... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Sshh...I'm luring him in Apollo engry with me lah...dun reply Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 They'll say whatever is beneficial to them lah... Sian liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 (edited) CCS has replied that "competition among different suppliers in a free market environment, instead of regulation, is the best form of protection against any excessive pricing". CCS' response suggests that it prefers to wait until LTA introduces competition in the market to protect consumers against any excessive pricing. Haha.. CCS kena suan..... laywer 1 Gahman 0 Of course! Basically they are saying: When there's no competition, so not in their area. When there's competition, the competition is the nest form of protection. Err... so what are they there for?..... Edited May 8, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Competition Commission??? Ha Ha....Today then I know my country got such thing....Political Competition is under them bo ??? ha ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Ha Ha....fren don't break their ""rice bowl"" leh....else many ""rice bowl"" should go also.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 knn, nowadays more and more wayang show liao... voting coming soon le?? hope someone up there in the higher above got surf mcf frequently and hope more and more ppl come into tis forum so tat boycotts will soon be seen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Not exactly TOTALLY wayang....wayang 5% of the time ...COMPLACENT 95% the rest of the time!!!! dun confuse anyhow say hor...wayang is only for gahmen just like peasants is only capable of complacency. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...