Scenic98 Clutched May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 I'm using Maxonline for the last 3 years. Recently got a lot of problem dropping signal problem. Restart cable modem & router may work for a while but problem will come back again. Router signal showed Excellent and connected but just cannot connect to Internet. But if you try to connect 'others router' then it works. Try to reconnect the whole setup using the other room SCV 2nd Master connection but same problem. Cable Modem (Samsung) highly suspected and indeed checkout onsite at Tampines Starhub confirmed faulty. Replaced with a Motorola one. At the same time upgraded old Netgear 'G' router to Buffalo 'G' advanced Mimo router. Works much better now. good to know i am not the only one having same problem. About 2 weeks ago, my SH black Moto modem started giving me problem. This modem is sharing the same point as the other white modem for digital voice. The splitter is from SH. Been having this setup for the last 3 years. Called the customer service, and was told to relocate one of the router to another point. It worked, but wonder why suddenly there's a drop in signal strength. Overloading on SH side? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 turn off one modem and if u see an increase of signal strength, then u got your answer. thats presuming you are talking about cable modem signal (SnR..etc) and not wireless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 yes...cable modem signal. how to check for signal strength? Sorry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 TQ...will try anything to get it back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 Pls don't tell my boss.... u know ok liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 Other thing can joke...but if cannot come into MCF at home...sthing is really missing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 TQ... will also try this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 Have delete all and try but still.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 Will try everything all the Good soul advised....but still have not decide what to do if cannot but will let you know later on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 XP home Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 For some, the infection is too deep, delete also no use. I Googled and came up with the below URL which might be worth a try. http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 I have the same prob as u before. I m also using singnet. If the pc can connect to router and access to the router settings via 192.168.1.254, then its not router or pc problem, likelyhood it's line problem... Singnet helpdesk not bad lah~ but they will give u the standard replies 1)Try remove noise filters 2)Try another phone line socket 3)Try reset modem If you have tried all the above and still dun work, they will lastly tell u that they will reset on their side. If all failed, time to call up singtel to check on ur phone line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 I remember donkey years ago i was using the slowie phone line internet connection. Sure can resolve problem also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 Yes, like you said they have tried all the basic test with me but still failed to connect...anyway will go back tonight again and try some of the method from this forum then see how. TQ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...