Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 1. I'm seriously looking at moving to a HDB unit. But wonder which is a choice estate to live in? 2. I drove to Potong Pasir just now, I find it quite a pleasant estate though looks kinda old and in need of some facelift, otherwise should be quite liveable I thought. I find those units facing the Kallang river or should I say big drain seems not bad . Got park connector to Bishan Park also not bad . I like smaller and quiet estate so will not consider big HDB housing estates. Those that are far away from town area will also not be in my consideration too, preference would be those along NE line. 3. Coming back to Potong Pasir, those low rise units seems attractive. I found those living on the ground floor having a "private" garden amusing. They really planted fruit trees with plenty of assortments of floral. Is this a good or bad thing? Some even have garden furnitures ! One big issue is the rubbish chute that is built so near to the unit, I wonder smell and croaches will be an issue or not ?. All comments welcomed. Thank you very much! Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Potong Pasir is a good location whereby it's near town and price compared to the other nearby neighbourhood like Aljunied, Macpherson and bendemeer. Another location u may like to consider is Hougang, slightly further up, with ease of buying daily necessities. Ground floor units have the tendency of inviting stray cats visits. since you prefer quiet, i don't think ground is suitable for you. Passer-by dragging their slippers, children screaming, people talking, strangers looking into your house, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Potong Pasir? I hear opposition ward difficult to upgrade. But I think conservancy charges should be much lower than other area? Sorry cannot provide any good advise, I'm not familiar with that area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 AMK & Yishun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Quote Potong Pasir is a good location whereby it's near town and price compared to the other nearby neighbourhood like Aljunied, Macpherson and bendemeer. Another location u may like to consider is Hougang, slightly further up, with ease of buying daily necessities. Ground floor units have the tendency of inviting stray cats visits. since you prefer quiet, i don't think ground is suitable for you. Passer-by dragging their slippers, children screaming, people talking, strangers looking into your house, etc. 1. The block that is facing the river is populated with trees and traffic is near zero. I'm ok with animals, may be I should consider keeping a car for pet . 2. I've a property at Bendemeer area but I would not want to live there and be seen by my tenant and old neighbours . Nah, just kidding. Hougang..erm..don't think I like the CTE. By the way, to go to town from Potong Pasir, do I hit more than one ERP? Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Quote Potong Pasir? I hear opposition ward difficult to upgrade. But I think conservancy charges should be much lower than other area? Sorry cannot provide any good advise, I'm not familiar with that area. Good leh, give me a chance to vote for Chiam! Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Quote AMK & Yishun... No way, too big and confusing . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 careful hor....facing that longkang means facing west too. HDB rubbish chute definitely got smell & cockroaches one, just hope the cleaner dun always leave it open and the TC is supposed to regularly fumigate it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 There's a ERP Below PIE Flyover before entering Bendemeer from Machperson, there's one. the rest of the ERPs i think you should know, since u are familiar with bendemeer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Another you may like to consider is Geylang Bahru, facing the Whampoa River. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Hi Kelpie, For me, i will choose a location base on my travelling pattern to work place. As i need to travel to work daily, i need to make sure the route is 'on the way'. Example, i stay in CCK (yew tee area). So not near orchard or central, but i am happy because my wife work place in IMM office. I work in CBD area. So daily, i drop-off my wife and drive to my work place. After work, i pick up wife and go home. But if i stay near central, i need to drive to IMM then back to CBD. Not convienent. Weekends drive to suntec (example) takes a longer time but i just take it as enjoying my ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yogurt75 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Heard that Property Mkt for HDB is going down slightly in 2nd half of the year.. probably can wait for another 1 mth.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 i've been to potong pasir. my current location is not bad (amenities, MRT) but it's definitely less well-kept than PP. honestly, i like the older-style HDB feel i get there. the sprawling open air carpark (cheaper SP ) big angsana trees. but dun think i'll move there la.. not for the next 5 yrs at least conservancy lower meh? sure bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 for ground floor. prepare for ant and croaches and other tiny creature to visit your house Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Resales value aso low.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 well, buy low also wad, so sama sama ground floor macam like private house, can have ur own "garden" . but i dun like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Quote careful hor....facing that longkang means facing west too. HDB rubbish chute definitely got smell & cockroaches one, just hope the cleaner dun always leave it open and the TC is supposed to regularly fumigate it. I've been living in low rise or landed so I more or less know the associated problem with it. Just that living in your own house, you manage your own refuse whereas living in HDB, the Town council does it for you. Are rubbish chutes in HDB always well maintained, door left open for smell to go away? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Quote Resales value aso low.... The problem is Potong Pasir HDB prices also not low leh... Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...